Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Only thing worth staying here for is the LOCATION

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!
Location: The location of the hotel was just about the only thing positive about our stay, as it is a few blocks away from times square and also, central park.
Booking the hotel was the easiest part of our stay. We flew in from Los Angeles to visit NYC with some friends. Upon arrival, we realized our hotel room was not as the one pictured on their website. We had requested a double-bed room, however, we came to find a room with two beds (which was fine), and a closet which separated the beds (almost like two separate rooms with an awkward wall in between).Hotel staff was nice in the lobby, however, when trying to reach housekeeping, or concierge, 9 out of 10 times, nobody picked up and the phone kept ringing. The shower curtains smelled horribly, especially after/during showers (should probably clean more efficiently). Housekeeping constantly knocked on our door, even when requested not to, at 8:00am every day. This hotel has NO ROOM SERVICE.. That’s a first. The elevators are extremely inefficient; we waited about 5 minutes each time we wanted to go up or downstairs. The ice machines on the floors DO NOT work. We had to scramble on different floors of the hotel in order to retrieve ice each day. Store’s shop, which included water, snacks, etc., closes way earlier than stated. Carpets did not seem clean, lots of dust everywhere. The room temperature remained at 68 degrees our ENTIRE 6 days there, HEATER DID NOT WORK!! This is NEW YORK!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Bulls eye

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Great location. Staff ok, but could be better. Pricing policy left a bitter taste as items such as wifi described as free were bundled into a mandatory "facilities charge". Door staff not particular helpful to those with accessibility issues - ambulant, wheelchair bound or those with strollers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

To Be Avoided

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Obviously, very little.
Cons: Staff attidude
Don't be fooled by the advertised rate. There are add on costs. They charge $40 a night "facilities fee." This is for thinks like the internet even if you don't use it. The lobby is like a stock yard. Registration lines are long and slow. Staff is detached and disinterested. It's and old hotel that they have tried to up date. Looks like lipstick on a pig. Bell hops stand around and make not attempt to help with luggage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel shame about the attitude

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, but the customer service has ensured we wouldn't stay again. We travel regularly overseas and love New York. We decided to try a new hotel nearer to Central Park this time. We arrived at 2pm and our baggage had been lost by the airline, so we were quite frazzled. The cold lady at the counter informed us we could not check in until 4pm. When we said we had lost our luggage the response was fill in these forms. When our bags did get delivered from the airline we had to follow up with front office twice as the lady responded they arent here despite a message on our phone from the airline saying otherwise. The housekeeping staff constantly made us feel like we were an imposition as we were late starters in the morning 930/10. On one occasion opening our door without knocking whilst we were still in there. The front office vibe is cold and condescendingly judgmental, and very unhelpful. If you don't mind the front office haughty attitude the rooms are big and the bed is very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. Please accept my sincerest apology for the level of service you received during your stay. I am so sorry that you did not receive warm and friendly service from our Front Office Team, and were put in an uncomfortable situation by our Housekeeping Team. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca.

Beautiful renovation and Great Location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Cons: Shower floor.
Location: Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Time Warner Building (Jazz at Lincoln Center), Museum of Art and Design are all with in Walking distance.
We have stayed at the Park Central many times over the years. (4-5times). It was always very comfortable and you can not beat the location for many cultural events. Now it is really beautiful and very clean. Our only complaint is the new shower floor that is uneven. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is nice.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: needs to speed up its internet.
Location: close to central park and everywhere
I made the reservation 2 months before my holiday for 2 rooms. 1 king bed each. instead of 1 king bed they gave 2 queen beds for 2 rooms. They told the king bed rooms are not available. I had sleep in different beds with my wife. It was ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I would like to extend my sincerest apology for the challenges you encountered with our internet and the room type accommodate. Please be assured that both of the issues will be addressed with our Management Team. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trujillo Alto, PR

Excellent Choice

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Rooms and staff.
Location: Great location for restaurants, shopping, bus tours, and Broadway theatres.
We visit Manhattan twice or once a year. Used to stay at Double Tree in Time Square and at Lexington Ave. Nor any more. Now we will stay at the Park Central. 3 or 4 blocks from Central Park, and few blocks more to Time Square for Broadway shows and shopping. Lots of restaurants, Japanese, Steak House, Greek, Italian and all within walking distance. Angela at the check-in desk is the best. Spacious clean rooms. Fair price. Will definitely stay from now on at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice location. Terrible condition of some ol room

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking. Cleaning. Renovating room. Service. All needs improvements.
Location: Eat from carts! Amazing Time square. Central Park and various things in it. 5th Ave. Met museum. Just plain walking around.
I paid nice amount but average range for New York and was expecting average but the room came below average! Power went out 3 times because of a bad wall power outlet. Found it out of power as walked in late night so maids left it that way, then later used iron and saw a spark and went out again. Called front desk and nothing for half an hour, went down and shame them in front of other guests and they scrambled and someone came over in a minute and flipped the breaker. Bathtub was clogged so was disgusting, room was worn out and super noisy even on 8th floor. Location is excellent though and terrific city and very nice places to visit at walking distance and amazing cart food all over. I would say if you want a luxury room and smooth vacation then stay out of city and commute in. The money you would save can be used for crazy parking if you want or use taxi or metro or whatever but will be much better than crummy expensive rooms and a smooth vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so sorry to read of your disappointing stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you experienced with the electricity and the condition of your room. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Sep 20, 2014
What a great hotel! Clean, Good service from staff, Great location, near bus stop and the subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Great value for money !
Excellent pricing for central location; rooms are clean and spacious for downtown Manhattan and hotel overhaul gives it a great feel.