Ratings based on 4,462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, rates.
Location: Central Park, subways, museums, shopping. Theater district is a 15 min walk.
Across the street from Central Park and a couple doors down from the Plaza Hotel (which was 2-3x more expensive), this hotel is tough to beat for the price. Absolutely loved the location. Only downside in my opinion was not having a pool/hot tub to soak in after a lot of walking in the cold. Also note that there is an added charge of $30 daily which is for WiFi and a daily reception consisting of beer/wine/snacks/appetizers etc. Overall, would stay here anytime i'm in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Yinchuan, China

Old style hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The staff were attentive, personable without being intrusive, and very good at their jobs.
Cons: I'm happy with the feel of the place but a fridge and in-room coffee are fairly standard in most hotels I've stayed at.
Location: Can't beat the location, ground-zero midtown Manhattan. The area has restaurants, shopping, museums, and Central Park.
Park Lane is a good place if you only need a place to rest. The bed was quite comfortable and the flat screen TV looked fine (I didn't watch anything), but there was no refrigerator, minibar, in-room coffee, and my favorite beef: no slippers and no vanity kit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Safe Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms are too old, as is hotel. Time yor a RENO / facelift!
Location: South end of Central Park across street. Museum mile 15 min walk, MOMA 5 min walk. 5th avenue, Madison Avenue around corner. very central.
Location, location, Location! Convenient location . Secret Service moved in for a few days for weekend protecting special out of town guest. 100's of agents, metal detectors and dogs providing a special touch. Staff and Secret Service Wonderful to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buckingham, UK

Great hotel in superb location

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Superb location with great views. Rooms well equipped. Very professional staff.
Cons: Room really needed double glazing as street noise was unfortunately noticeable and windows steamed up, spoiling fab view. Heater a bit noisy.
Location: Superb location by Central Park with easy access to Metro and walking distance to major attractions such as Time Square, Broadway and Top of the Rock.
Family trip for a long weekend packing in as much as possible in the time... Hotel has superb location across the road to Central Park, Metro station and easy walk to attractions. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, provided valuable local information and printed outputs for directions etc. An extra nice touch was the complimentary items for our special occasion - thanks :-) Room on level 22 was very clean and presentable - definitely worth the extra for a park view room. The room had all the usual items plus a fridge which was a bonus for drinks and milk for the kids. The only negative was the lack of double glazing which made the room slightly noisy due to traffic and caused the windows to steam up with condensation which was a shame as the view was fab but kept needing to be wiped to see out. Heater was also a bit noisy when in started up during the night, but as we were so tired it wasn't so bad but light sleepers may find the noise distracting. We used the hotel car transfer to the airport which was very professional and a reasonable rate. All in all, this is a great hotel and yes, we would definitely stay again the next time we visit New York...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Nice hotel. near to everything.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Very good my experience. The staff very nice. We received good treat from them. Time squares. Near to the hotel. Museums the empire state building , the wax museum. I'm from the Bronx and never had any experience like that. I'm very happy. I will do it again.:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

warm inviting hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: room size
Cons: updated
Location: it was right on Central Park South, location could not have been better you are really right at centre of midtown
room was large clean and comfortable. Hotel was close to everything we wanted to be close to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Amazing view of the city

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The views! The walking distance to everything.
Cons: don't forget to clean under the bed.
Location: walking distance to broadway shows .
They made up for the long wait and the views totally made everything worth it. There was an empty water bottle under the bed where the housekeepers forgot to clean, but again, the comfort level of the room and the extra large window with amazing views made up for everything. Hotel is so convenient to everything in the city. Friendly staff. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom North Texas

Great hotel SE corner of Central Park

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Good location - Evening social time very nice - looking Central Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey England

Hotel with a view and good service

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: I liked the rooms which were spacious, its ideal location and of course the view overlooking Central Park
Cons: The 5-7pm reception was rather chaotic with insufficient seating and similar canap├ęs all 3 nights we were there.
Location: The location is ideal for shopping, visiting various landmarks. Seems quiet as away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square etc.
Had two rooms booked at Park Lane 10-13th January for myself, my son and daughter in law and granddaughter aged 9 months. Had requested two adjoining rooms but this was not available which was slightly disappointing. Upon complaining, they agreed to switch one room the following night. Also Bellman under tremendous pressure when collecting bags to go to airport - insufficient staff but we made it to JFK in time All in all a pleasing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Room was cold. They charged an additional 30.00 facilities fee which I was not aware of. I used none of facilities.