Ratings based on 3,241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Great location for shopping, walks in Central Park, bus available across the street, walking distance to Time Square and Theatre. Room was plenty large for three adults. Staff friendly and eager to help. We were very pleased with the choice of Park Lane!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Wonderful view of Central Park

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The location, the room with the park view, the staff.
Cons: Rooms could be redecorated - need a little facelifting.
Location: You walk out the door an your are looking at Central Park right across the street, Bergdorf's is right down the street. Close to all the fine shops
The Hotel staff was great and we loved our large room with a gorgeous view of Central Park. Very comfortable. We stayed in room 1100 - the wallpaper could be replaced, and there needs to be a little updating in decor. Old bathroom fixtures (not in use) should be removed, and closets need lights. But our experience was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uninterrupted views of Central Park

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The Park Lane Park View Rooms delivered exactly what they promised, a great uninterrupted view of Central Park and were nice large rooms.
Cons: Bath rooms looking a little tired
Location: Explore Central Park
Hotel guaranteed great views of Central Park and delivered. I spent 6 weeks touring the USA and payed for a view at every hotel I stayed at. The Park Lane Park View Rooms delivered exactly what they promised, a great uninterrupted view of Central Park and were nice large rooms. I felt many other locations did not provide the view they promised or their room descriptions should have read 'partial' or 'obscured' views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Lobby was nice . Room was not very nice and beds were very uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Try to avoid this Hotel if you can!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Only the location of the Hotel was good, in front of the Park, between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Cons: Hotel renovation is urgently needed and Minibars in the rooms.
Location: Very privileged location with many shops, landmarks, restaurants and Bars nearby.
Upon arrival to the Hotel I noticed that the toilet basin was dirty! I informed the cleaning lady on duty on the 36th floor who tried her best, mentioning that they do not provide enough bleach to clean properly! The towel hook behind the door was broken, reported and fixed next day. There was no minibar and nobody thought to offer a complimentary bottle of water to customers paying a lot of money! Expedia advertised free internet for this Hotel but I had to "fight" for a password, presented to me as a special gesture! Before check-out a $30/day fee was initially charged for the wi-fi service, finally withdrawn after complaining to the manager. The card key never worked properly, I had to complain 4 times, with the staff arguing that it was de-magnitized but it was obvious that the key mechanism was not working properly. The breakfast was overcharged at $43, charged $12 extra when I ordered cappuccino instead of normal coffee! This extra charge was also deducted from my bill after complaining to the manager on duty! The Hotel itself seemed not to have been renovated for decades, with the lift getting stuck on at least two occasions on the 19th floor, with a Hotel staff present saying: "not again!", meaning that similar incidents are not rare! Obviously the location of the Hotel is excellent but one wonders how many repeat clients there are! It was my worst experience in 40 years of travel worldwide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redondo beach

Great location Property needs a face lift

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Comfortable rooms in a great location. You can walk everywhere but no shared restaurants or space in lobby to relax. Rooms need an update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Great views and very large rooms.
Cons: Checking in took a long time. Front desk was understaffed.
Location: Great location for shopping and directly an Central Park.
I have stayed in this hotel often in the past years and it represents a good price value relationship.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all the amenities

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Nice bed, lovely views.
Cons: Bathroom needs updating, fewer pieces of furniture - too crammed
Location: Central- close to lovely shops, museums, opposite the park, close to upper east and west sides, walking distance to midtown. Next to subways, buses
For a more modern hotel on Central Park South (most are much older), I thought the rooms would have more up to date bathrooms. Ours had cracked tiles, wallpaper peeling from the walls and stained floor tiles. The bedroom was a good size and we were upgraded to a room with a partial view of the park for free, I think?(which was appreciated) But it was crammed with too much furniture, making it hard for two people to move around. We also didn't have tea/coffee facilities, a fridge, a safe or any writing materials (the last one not a priority). We did ask at the main desk and they said that they would send up a fridge. They also told us that there was a safe in our closet - there wasn't. Apparently they had stopped putting kettles with tea and coffee in the rooms - but with no explanation as to why? We had the usual noise issues, traffic (we were on the 39th floor), doors slamming day and night and other guests having loud conversations in the hallway at 11.30pm. But I guess that is to be expected in a hotel. All in all it was comfortable room, if a little shabby - which was a shame considering the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel, close to everything

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and very quiet. And we were surprised how spacious it was. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Will stay here again.
Cons: I like coffee as soon as I wake up and I missed not having a coffee maker in the room...but there was a little fridge and that helped.
We had a very good experience here...just across Central Park and 10 minutes away from TimeSquare. And also steps away from a station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Nice hotel close to Central Park

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: We were upgraded to the 45th floor so the view was awesome.
Cons: We couldn't get the room to cool down enough for us. Stayed around 70 degrees most of the time and we like it colder when we sleep.
Location: Museums, Central Park, shopping, close to the hop on hop off busses, close enough to walk to Times Square and the theatre district.
We had a wonderful experience in New York City for our first time. We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and the hotel was located roughly in the middle of all the things we wanted to see.