Ratings based on 3,130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Nice, clean hotel, close to Grand Central Station

Posted Oct 23, 2014
I was traveling with my wife. Hotel staff was very kind. Our room was ready when we got there. They even upgraded our room since we were going to stay for 5 nights. The rooftop bar is really nice. I didn't stay for drinks, though, so I can't make a comment about the service. The hotel has an excellent location. 5-minute walk to Grand Central, and from there you can practically go anywhere. Plenty of places nearby to eat and have drinks. It's a good option if you're looking for a decent fare in Manhattan and a clean place with a private bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All that you need in a hotel right in Manhattan

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pod 39 is a cute and pleasant surprise. The units are new, fresh, modern, and clean. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the spacious bathroom and rain shower head!!! The location is perfect and is steps to major tourist attractions and Grand Central Station. The only thing I would hope they invest in are better towels. The towels were small and thin. I would need 4 of them to dry me off after the shower. But this was a small thing compared to the friendly staff, clean amenities, and modern suites that Pod 39 offers. I would definitely stay here again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Oct 17, 2014
The hotel was great with a nice view on the rooftop. The bunk bed was clean. We felt we were living on a dorm. We fell in love with the hotel. It was near every sightseeing we went to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Shaving with Cold Water

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: as above
Location: very central to everything. Great.
There was no hot water faucet at the bathroom sink. Shaving with cold water is not a fun thing to do. There was also a bug in the bathroom that crawled up my leg. I understand that this is an economy hotel, but the price was not that economical to expect that these things would occur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Larger Rooms Make it Much Better

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: price, price and price -- also location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: towels! and please put in more pegs or shelf near bathroom?
Location: close to GCT, subway, good restaurants -- everything
If you can wangle your way into a room in the 18 line (218, 318 etc) you will have a far better time. Perhaps because we were return customers, or just by dumb luck, we got a room that was 100% nicer than the previous time. There was actually space to walk around, hang up clothes and generally feel comfortable. Otherwise, the typical room is matchbook small. The bathroom shelf even in our "mega" room was a bit of a joke -- too small to hold typical toiletry bag. also, they could be a bit more generous with towels. Really -- the bath towels are miniature. This would not be a big deal for the hotel, but would make guests much more happy. The hotel is one of the most reasonable in midtown, clean and nicely designed, well located with a good mix of guests and very competent staff. Be sure to park your car in the nearby garage where they have a deal -- it makes an enormous difference in price and puts a smile on your face.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Small rooms, but everything you need.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The concept of a hotel/mexican restaurant/roof-top lounge.
Cons: Cost, cleanliness, better towels....they were small, cheap, and rough.
Aesthetically pleasing hotel interior and rooms. Rooms were definitely small, but had everything I needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Great hotel and great rooftop bar!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Nice hotel, with really friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful. Highly recommend it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
a quiet hotel for a change and with a great shower! amc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room noise due to loud air con

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Informal and not too big
Cons: New air con
I had to ask to change rooms. The replacement room was not much better. Even with air con off there is lots of background air con noise and vibration...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gisborne NZ

WOW and WOW! - Awesome Hotel experience

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Rooftop bar was the icing on the cake...sunset, champagne and lights of the city. Perfect end to a busy day in NYC.
Cons: This is such a relaxed, social Hotel there is nothing I would change. Keep up the good work.
Location: Two blocks (easy walk) to Grand Central station, a few more blocks to Garment district. A few subway stops to any of the major attractions. Perfect.
What a friendly, professional experience. The description of this Hotel matched all my expectations. Reception staff and rooftop bar staff were great. The noise level was minimal, given its New York! The location was excellent two blocks from Grand Central. The compact style of my pod with private bathroom suited every aspect of my trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone travelling light who wants to spend every moment exploring NYC. The early check in on my first stay set the tone for an excellent time. No complaints I will definitely recommend and stay again.