Ratings based on 3,199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Good option in NYC

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Clever design, functional room, very hip public spaces.
Cons: The overhead light and one bedside reading lamp did not work. It would be nice to provide washcloths.
Very small, but well-designed room was great for our late arrival, one-night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but good quality rooms

Posted Nov 21, 2014
I got the single pod room, it's small but it's setup in a way that it isn't that cramped inside, also kickass rooftop bar :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right I the heart of things

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Great value.
Cons: Better insulated windows.
Great place for a few hours between flight and train trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Manhattan

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The location is great, the price is fair and it is a clean, friendly and warm place. Feels like you're amongst friends.
Cons: The rooms are clean and simple, containing everything I need but they are a touch on the small side.
Location: Close to Grand Central, Bryant Park, Times Square, Empire State Building, United Nations, Rockerfeller Centre and close to various subway stations.
I have stayed at Pod 39 a few times and keep coming back for the same reasons, the staff are friendly and helpful, check-in is quick and simple and the rooms have all that you need without the price tag. It's located close to Grand Central and has easy access to other landmarks and transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds

Excellent hotel, great staff, good position

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We stayed at Pod39 after reading the good reviews and we weren't disappointed! The hotel is well positioned for all sightseeing activities and public transport. The rooms are small (as suggested in many reviews) but we found it perfect for our mother and daughter trip just recently. One small thing, if I could change anything it would be the towel sizes - they are a bit on the small size ! Friendly staff, great amenities and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Quaint modern hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The pod we had was perfect for me and my girlfriend, it had amazing bathroom amenities and all the necessary features needed for a good night. The room was small but with just two of us it was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Right price & location, inconsiderate neighbors

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: Make patently clear in the hotel that smoking isn't permitted. I didn't see a sign anywhere, so maybe that's why my neighbor smoked so much.
Location: Grand Central Station, East River Promenade, Park Avenue Restaurants, Empire State Building
Pod 39 was perfectly located for my work trip and priced well. The staff was kind and accommodating. I can't say the same for the clientele. Among other inconsiderate behaviors by fellow guests: In the middle of the night on my second night someone above, below, or on either side of my room began chain smoking to the point the stench was so bad in my room I woke up and couldn't go back to sleep. I was told the following day when I checked out that the entire hotel is non-smoking. Apparently this wasn't clear to my neighbor. In any case, while I liked the Pod, I don't think I'll be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide, Australia

Excellent location, upmarket and trendy. Great bar

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Modern, Bars
Cons: Bunk rooms could have been larger!
Location: So much as indicated. Bars, cafes, subway etc.
Fanastic. We had the bunk room - tiny. (you had to go out to change your mind!) but, it was lovely. Clean, modern, 2 small plasma tv's. - we only slept there - the rooftop bar and lobby area/cafe/bar more than made up for it. Great location. We walked to Times Square and Grand Central aa very short walk away to use the subway. Hop on and Hop off nearby too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location in murray hill

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: good location, clean, functional
Cons: adjustable lamp over the beds, instead of stiff mounted lamps would be better
I've stayed twice at Pod39. It is a terrific location, just south of Grand Central and easy access to mid-town, Village, Upper East Side. The staff are efficient. Generally, the clientele seem to be 20 somethings, so it is a bit loud and suitable for hipsters. The lobby restaurant and rooftop bar are both jumping. If you end up right next to a party room, it could be annoying. The rooms are really tiny, but comfortable all the same.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

In decline?

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Have had good stays over the past few years, but not as tidy or comfortable on last visit (11/14). Rooms not as clean (lots of hair in bathroom) and "double room" seems too crowded with a larger bed. (I usually stay in the single - just fine; much like a dorm room but very functional.) Will stay again and see if just a bad visit of if the place is in decline. Good location (near Grand Central and $8-10 cab ride to Penn Station and still reasonably priced though rates have been increasing steadily it seems. Small rooms not for everyone, but my trips are for business - I am usually there for one night and am typically in the room for about 6-7 hours (head home on early AM AMTRAK). Worth a try - decide for yourself...