Ratings based on 3,186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Right price & location, inconsiderate neighbors

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: Make patently clear in the hotel that smoking isn't permitted. I didn't see a sign anywhere, so maybe that's why my neighbor smoked so much.
Location: Grand Central Station, East River Promenade, Park Avenue Restaurants, Empire State Building
Pod 39 was perfectly located for my work trip and priced well. The staff was kind and accommodating. I can't say the same for the clientele. Among other inconsiderate behaviors by fellow guests: In the middle of the night on my second night someone above, below, or on either side of my room began chain smoking to the point the stench was so bad in my room I woke up and couldn't go back to sleep. I was told the following day when I checked out that the entire hotel is non-smoking. Apparently this wasn't clear to my neighbor. In any case, while I liked the Pod, I don't think I'll be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Very Good!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Great little hotel for the NYC price, nice staff, comfortable, modern, well located, cool people walking in and out all day... Was quite a positive surprise! Would and will definitely go back. My only complaint would be the bathroom. Although very clean, there is no reason why the guest should have to mop it up after showering. It's handicap equipped, I get it, but something has to divide the shower from the rest. The flimsy curtain is useless, and the ledge between is nonexistent. Other than that, had a great stay! Don't expect the Waldorf, ok? This is a clean, affordable, unstuffy place to stay. All in all, would give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Location, and friendly service.
A lively hotel attached to a fantastic restaurant/bar, where you will still sleep soundly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Wonderful will go again clean convenient to places with extras like cafe and roof top seating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southend-on-Sea

Great except for cold shower

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Great location, modern facilities. I knew the room was going to be compact though found it fine for my needs especially as it it had ensuite bathroom for reasonable price by NY standards. Was perfectly happy with it until I discovered there's only cold water for basin (no hot tap). Same for shower...water was cooler than luke warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Europe

Central Hotel, all you need, staff let it down

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: It had everything that was needed and was in a central location, the cleaning and maid staff were friendly and polite and couldn't do more to help.
Cons: The staff in both bars and the reception staff aren't the friendliest, they always seemed like they had more important things to do.
Location: Most of the attraction and is in the middle of Manhattan so you can travel easily, its also near central station so you can go out of NYC
This hotel has everything you need and the rooms although compact are perfectly comfortable, although be warned you need to know the guest you are sharing with well as there is only glass separating the toilet and room, only the middle bit is frosted. the roof bar is nice and the bar down stairs has great cocktails. The staff in both bars and the reception staff aren't the friendliest, they always seemed like they had more important things to do and the job was a stop gap. The bar and reception area also gets noisy with a lot of young self important preppy types drinking and using the lifts to access the roof top bar. The maid and cleaning staff are very friendly, polite and helpful, its a shame they aren't on reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

efficiently smart

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The space is well thought out
Location: Lot's of places to eat and see !
great, modern, clean and efficiently laid out room !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nice Clean hotel, good location

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Roof top patio was cool
Cons: The room was just too tiny. I don't think a heavy person would fit in that room, it was so narrow
Location: Location good. Restaurant Zengo around the corner was excellent. Walking distance from Grand Central.
3 nights in NY with my daughter. This was a good option as we stayed in bunk beds. Was a little surprised at how small the room was (mini bunks). We did really like the cleanliness and set up / decore. Location of POD 39 is good as midtown made going in either direction easy. We did a lot of walking, especially back to the hotel from theatre, Soho etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value stay in Manhattan

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location, Value for money, free internet, food in restaurant was good
Cons: shower curtain causes water to dribble onto the floor of the bathroom making a huge puddle by the time you finish your shower.
If you are in Manhattan you probably wont be in your hotel room for more than sleep so this was perfect for us. Free Wi Fi too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent location

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The location provides a great base , excellent links and serves a short stay in manhatan perfectly
Location: Empire State and Grand Central Station are on the doorstep . Great value accomdation for this convient location
Pod 39 is the perfect base for a stay in NYC The staff are helpful and happy to help . I had a great 5 days