Ratings based on 4,846 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Value
Cons: Nothing
Good location and amazing price for NYC. Great for overnight business stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wien

Gutes Preis Leistungs Verhältnis

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Preis-Leistung und die Lage
Cons: Mehr Frühstücksangebot im Hotel wäre super
Location: Midtown East und unternehmen kann man alles - zu Fuss oder mit Bus oder mit Subway
Das Hotel hat eine sehr gute Lage. Durch die Nähe zur Grand Central Station ist die An- und Abreise zu den New Yorker Flughäfen super einfach (Airport Express Bus zu 14$ bzw 16$) Auch bezüglich Subway und Manhattan Bus Service ist man in praktischer Lage. Unser Zimmer hatte ein Stockbett und das war sehr angenehm, nicht zu hoch, nichts hat gequietscht oder geknarrt, beide Betten recht breit. Unser Blick aus dem Fenster war zwar nicht gut, aber der Vorteil war, dass kaum Verkehrslärm zu hören war. Auch das Frühstücksspecial im Hotel ist günstig und der Kaffee für amerikanische Verhältnisse gut (und im Keramikhäferl und nicht im Pappbecher). Alles sehr zufriedenstellend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Perfect for a busy stay in NYC

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: price, clean and comfortable
Cons: all good!
Location: was close to subway, shopping and other NYC sights!
Loved this hotel, it was clean and comfortable, just what my daughter and I needed for a girls weekend in NYC, would stay here again and again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Space efficient & comfortable room

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Modern and affordable
Cons: Hotel Staff Friendliness
Simple one night stay. Very pleasing hotel and not at all discontent with my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lansdale, Pa.

Nearly perfect, except for one problem

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, modern, fun atmosphere, great staff, convenient to attractions, reasonable parking (have a deal with a garage 2 blocks away, $25 for 24 hours)
Cons: The mattresses are NOT comfortable, to the point where I'd hesitate to stay there again because my son and I did not sleep well as a result.
Location: I love the location. Murray Hill is a quieter, more laid-back neighborhood than others. Close to Macy's and the Empire State Building
We really enjoyed staying at Pod 39. The hotel is modern and cool in an old building. The rooftop bar is fantastic with great views. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the doorman was extremely helpful and lovely Maria behind the counter was so nice to talk to and very helpful as well. The bar area is nice and the Mexican restaurant (Salvation Taco) looked nice. Our room, a bunk pod, was very small but given the fact that we were staying 1 night and just intending on sleeping there, it was perfect, and the price ($100) was a value. Nice bathroom with large showerhead, very clean. My one complaint and the only reason why I didn't give them 5 stars? The beds really are NOT that comfortable. Both my son and I didn't sleep well and awoke with back-aches from the mattresses. That's not a small issue in my book and is truly a shame, because I really like Pod 39
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great value

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This place has everything I needed and for a good price. The room was clean and well serviced, and I never had to wait to use the communal bathrooms (I booked the cheaper bunk style rooms).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Best value in Manhattan for the single traveler!

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Price, location, quiet rooms
Cons: I wish the hotel had a Loyalty program for frequent guests.
This was my 3rd stay at Pod39. I'm a frequent business traveler to Manhattan, and in the past have stayed outside Manhattan to get a decent room at a sub $150/night price. Decided to try Pod39 for a one-night trip, and I'm thrilled to have found this gem located only only 3 blocks from Grand Central. For an affordable one or two night business stay, Pod39 is perfect. The rooms are clean (I've booked the single and the bunk rooms), the staff very friendly, and the hotel surprisingly quiet. I've never heard people overhead or next door, and the design on each floor keeps the rooms away from the elevators. Beds are comfortable enough, bathroom is adequate, shower is excellent. To be sure, this is a 'no-frills' hotel, so if you need amenities like in-room mini-bar, bathrobes, and designer toiletries, this is not for you. I was concerned about the size of the room when I booked the first time, but actually I like the cozy feeling. The rooms I've stayed in would be too small, in my opinion, for 2 people, and I would not bring my family to this hotel due to the size of the rooms. But for a single traveler, this place is the best value in Manhattan. Close to all subway lines, Metro North, lots of restaurants in the neighborhood - - - a gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for its price range.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Clean, modern design. Very accessible.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Centrally located. Lots of restaurants nearby. Can walk or take the subway to most locations.
Great location, friendly staff, rooms are small but well designed. Despite the size of the rooms, the hotel does not skimp on anything - hairdryer, safe, toiletries, everything you need is there. Plus you can leave your bags if you have a late flight out of New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3blocks from grand central station

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Clean..nice staff..clean rooms...city views...right on the corner there is a deli which is perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NYC, USA

Fantastisk beliggenhed

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Dejligt nyt og rent værelse. Småt, men det er et perfekt sted at sove. Fantastisk belligenhed, man kan gå til mange seværdigheder. Tæt på grand central og derfor nemt med subwayen. Vil helt sikkert vende tilbage, kan ikke klager over noget!