Ratings based on 1,184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, Ca

Too close to the highway.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
I couldn't sleep due to traffic. When trucks passed by, the building was trembling like earthquake.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good priced and nice hotel close to Manhattan .

Posted Apr 24, 2015
The hotel is okay with the price I paid. But the curtains are broke and has to be cleaned more on the hallway to be more attractive and presentable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean but small

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: proximity to airport
Close to LaGuardia. Small but clean for the price. Close to the highway so some noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

A little bit far from train

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The walk to & from the train station is a bit far. There was an automatic safety box use charge though we didn't use it. I had to tell the clerk to take it away otherwise we would have been charged. Not much choices for breakfast. Some of their staff were unfriendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Rooms were really nice and clean. Has fridge, microwave, TV and coffee maker- that was pretty awesome. Parking, though available, is very limited and congested. Breakfast needs to be re-evaluated- it has limited variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Nice place to get away

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Reserved and got to hotel early but the staff was very friendly and already had the place set up for us. The room was actually much nicer than what I expected and it was a pleasant surprise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, NY

Not bad at all

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The rooms were pretty clean and inviting. No issue there. The only down side was the vending machines being down until the last day of my stay and had to walk to the store for such. The evening staff wasn't too friendly also. It was like it was a bother to answer a simple question. But overall, not a bad experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Worst experience I've had

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I stayed at this hotel in February for 8 nights with my partner. We checked in and paid the additional fee for use of a safe. We were told to call reception in the morning to have somebody come and set the safe up. However, the next morning after waiting until 11am they discovered the safe wasn't working and moved us to a different room. This was a tad frustrating as we had to re-pack 8 nights worth of stuff and unpack into a different room when we were keen to start exploring. The next morning we discovered the shower in our new room was freezing cold. We called reception who said we could move rooms but we didn't want to re-pack for a second time. So we asked to shower in a different room on the proviso the shower in our room was fixed that day. The shower was never fixed. It ran freezing cold every morning, which was unbearable in the February temperatures. Each morning we called reception who reset the boiler and this gave us lukewarm water for 5 minutes before it ran cold again. We were told it was an issue due to the weather and there was nothing they could do except reset the boiler. The additional frustration was that resetting the boiler took 30 minutes, which ate into our precious holiday time. The worst part: I contacted the manager after and was offered a 1 night refund (12.5% of my stay). He insisted I only had water issues on the first night of my stay, despite me saying otherwise, and his reception having a record of the daily calls from our room. Not happy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Checked in, nice looking low ceiling lobby. Minimal reserved hotel parking but I found a spot nearby anyway. Area looks not so nice. McDonald's is maybe a mile away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Neat Spot to Stay

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Our stay at this Red Roof was great. The location is really handy. We arrived very late (after midnight). There was lots of street parking nearby. Our greeting was friendly. We were a party of four and had a double room. It was spacious enough. The beds were clean and comfy. The shower was amazing. There was a complimentary breakfast. The coffee was really good. I had a toasted raison bagel with cream cheese and an apple. The breakfast attendant was working really hard to keep all of the guests happy. Its not the Ritz but for the price and location its a neat little spot to stay. We walked to the subway and there are lots of restaurants around there. The neighborhood is very safe. We were out until 3 am. Grand Central is about 5 stops in.