Ratings based on 4,573 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horribe hotel. Busy. Dirty. Non attentive staff

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Switched rooms because room reeked of smoke. Neighbors pounded on door at 2 am. Alarm in room went off at 4 am and also displayed the wrong time. Had to wait at least 30 min in line to talk to a staff at front desk. If I called down I was on hold for 30 min to get have them hang up on me. This happened twice. Second room didn't have a working safe. Had to have an engineer come and fix it. He couldn't come until 10pm. Photos on website are decieving. Will never recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaime from nazareth, pa

Clean hotel, small rooms, terrible staff, good loc

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staffs attitude
Location: Everything is close. Smack in the middle of theater district.
I stayed there one night. To keep it short, great location, very rude staff, clean rooms, but very small.
2 out of 5
by MJ from San Francisco

cracker box room

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Location only, would never stay here again.
Our room was so small it felt a bit like a tight box. Nicely appointed, but the view was into other rooms and a brick wall. Way too expensive for what you get and what you don't get. No restaurant and a bar that serves cocktails in glasses straight out of a hot dishwasher so that you get a warm Manhattan. When I told our waitress that my drink was warm she told me that the glass just came out of the dishwasher. No sorry or even would I like another one. I had to ask for a cold cocktail and @ $14 she should of gladly offered to bring me another drink immediately. Not tell ask me what I wanted her to do about it. We checked out and went down the street to the Hilton which was a bit cheaper, much bigger and nicer room w a great view and wonderful service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Concept, Poor Execution

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Proximity to subway, bus and Times Square is good, price was decent.
Cons: The remodeling, should have been completely gutted and rehabbed.
Location: Theatre district and Times Square are within blocks of the hotel, lots of hotels and bars near.
Hotel is close to Times Square and Port Authority, modern lobby and bar and that's where the good ends. The rooms, while newly painted, misses the details with low quality furniture and tiny rooms. I started in a 2 twin bed room that had paint chipping everywhere and later paid to upgrade. It's an attempt at being a modern hotel atmosphere, like Aloft, is lost in the rooms with too much of the old building details in place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joan

Inexpensive hotel for area

Posted Apr 20, 2014
I paid $269/night for a room with a queen bed. Most hotels rates in the area were $300-$500/night, so this hotel was a bargain. The room was extremely small but the bed and pillow were extremely comfortable. The service was less than adequate. The staff was friendly and overworked. It took over fifteen minutes to stand in line to check in/out our bags, because they did not have enough employees at the counter. If you wanted to check in at the main desk or ask the concierge a question you had a line to wait on that moved like we were snails waiting for grub. The kicker of the trip was when I called down to the desk to ask how I could turn on the air conditioner and they said the lowest the thermostat could go was 65 degrees. I told the manager that i was sweating and the air in the room was stale. The managers response was that 65 degrees should be a comfortable setting. My response was that comfortable temperature is variable from person to person. He sent up maintenance and it was discovered that my thermostat was broken. Maintenance suggested I open the window. I stated I wanted a new room. I took the elevator down 28 floors at 11:30 pm and had to wait on line to talk to someone to help me. The manager told me it would take 20inutes for him to find me a new room, which he did, but without apology of the inconvenience. So overal, I would rate this hotel a good deal, if you are looking for a bargain. But expect some delays in service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davie from NY

Decent hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Hotel was fine, not in it very often but room was comfortable, only slight complaint was air con was very loud. Hotel was in a good area within walking distance of all attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travel Addict from London

Centrally Located

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location and not being constantly harassed by staff offering to help which can be overdone in the USA. Simple but functional rooms.
Cons: Free wifi and fridges in the room
Location: Times Square/theatre district, easy access to all the sights, all amenities close by including transport
Good hotel very well situated for theatres/Times Square. Nicely furnished but quite small rooms, but in New York you wont be spending much time at your hotel. Only annoyance was there wasn't a fridge in the room but there was a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Hotels should not charge extra for wifi in this day and age, first device was free then you had to pay for others so if there are 3/4 in the room you are essentially paying for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Chicago

Decent remodeled hotel in a Times Square location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
I travel to NYC approx once a quarter for business. Obviously, NYC is not a cheap town. Being that I am there on biz most of the time, and spend very little time in my room; price/location/accommodations is the pecking order for my decisions. The price was below average for what I see in NYC normally. That's positive. Location was near my conference - so that was helpful. Accommodations were below average. Small room, small bathroom. It's an old hotel (The Millford?) which they did a cosmetic (face-lift) renovation to. It's a bit trendy which is cool when you walk in. Decent if you are cost sensitive. Your wife will not think it's an awesome hotel. But it does the trick for the right price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Great location . Around corner from Times Square . Close to subway route. Reasonably priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ty from Hongkong/Philippines

conveniently located hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: security in the hotel is good.
Cons: A lot of the amenities are for a fee even local calls..
Going to New York for holiday with my 2 kids. it was their first time to New York so i had to search for a hotel that is accessible to go around New York. Search for the hotel online and read the reviews , considered a few hotels around and finally decided on Row Nyc. the hotel location is indeed very convenient, it is a block away from port authority and 2 blocks from Penn Station. Broadway theaters are all around and Maddam Tassaud and Ripleys also nearby. There is a lot of deli's and restaurants around. Hell's kitchen , Shake Shack burger is just across the hotel. Hotel provided us with free wifi in the room , but only good for one unit. there is however a row of Mac computers in the lobby for guest use. The rooms are quite clean but very small considering i got a room good for 4 people. the beds provided were only 2 double beds. Not much space to put your luggage and move around there is no complimentary coffee/tea facilities and refrigerator is for a fee of 20$ , which i think is usually free and basic for most of the hotels in the US. i would however commend their security in the hotel, they would always check on the people going up the lift and check which rooms they are going so i feel pretty safe knowing that not just anybody can go up and down the rooms. from the airport i had to take a rent a car since i was traveling with my 2 kids, but if you are adults traveling and dont have much luggage, you can also take the train to Penn Station and walk .