Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Clinton Ohio

First Time Visitor

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Conceire was exceptional
Cons: a new mattress and hot water.
Location: food great, location excellent.
Loved the location, staff wasa exceptional, room was small, bed was aweful and had no hot water during the second day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Highly Recommend

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location, modern
Cons: None
Location: Right in the heart of the city, 30 seconds from the middle of Times Square
Very professional staff from the second you walk through the door. The rooms were as modern and up-to-date as you can get. Literally a 30 second walk away from being in the middle of Times Square, would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for business or couples.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and beautiful. The shower was the best hotel shower we have ever experienced. Water was hot and water pressure was excellent.
Cons: The lobby is too dark. It seems as if the hotel is going for a swanky vibe, but it just ends up being a bit weird.
Location: One block away from Bryant Park, which is beautiful. A couple of blocks from Times Square. The street it's located on is not too busy.
Good stay at the Royalton. The lobby was dark, confusing, and a little weird. It's a good place for drinks and socializing, but not necessarily practical for the daytime. Room was beautiful and very spacious for NYC. Had a sitting area, entrance, and alcove bed. Bathroom was nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach, FL

Loved The Royalton!

Posted May 11, 2015
We have visited NYC many times, but this was our first stay at The Royalton. Of all hotels, this one rates at the top for sure! We arrived pretty early (11:15 am) thinking we wouldn't be able to check in, but upon hearing that it was our anniversary the friendly staff immediately upgraded us to a larger room! We were able to check in a few hours later, which was still earlier than expected. Room was chic, clean and large. Bar was super cool and lively. We even enjoyed a complimentary cocktail thanks to one of the bellmen. Location was perfect, near Times Square but also within walking distance to some high end steak houses and bars. Would definitely stay again...hopefully soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Bryan W, Hotel Management
Hi C! Thanks for the rave review of Royalton, so glad to be at the top of your list for NYC! Our bartender Joshua made # 1 in NYC this morning according to Time Out NY! We are celebrating, join us for a complimentary first round on us next time you're in the city! All the Best, Bryan Woody General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the worst hotel stay ever

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The front desk girl that registered me
Cons: Their customer service
The bathroom light was not working. The air conditioning had to be fixed. The food service did not bring the quantity of food we paid for. The baggage man left me with 2 full carts full of luggage and boxes and did not help me put it in my car which was parked in front of door until I gave him $40 to help me. It was not what I was expecting. My guests were disappointed as well. The front desk girl that registered me was amazing. That was the only good part of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Bryan W, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, I am terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in New York City, clearly several issues well below our established standards. We would love to be afforded the opportunity to make it up to you on a repeat visit. Safe travels,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Bryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Anonymous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

A wonderful hotel, but ...

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: You're in the heart of the theater district, also not too far from the Museum of Modern Art. Quite a few good restaurants around.
We always like Royalton and usually stay there when we're in New York. The place has a terrific vibe, lovely design, wonderful showers, and a very helpful staff. But there were a few clouds on the horizon this time: First, we were not allowed to charge some drinks to our room -- it was clearly a mistake, but it was off-putting, especially since a promised manager did not show up. Then, budget cuts have done away with any food over the weekend. We can understand doing away with a full-service restaurant, but no bar menu? no room service? Simply not possible in a place of this character. Perhaps against that background, I was annoyed to be charged for Internet -- especially when I had no problem getting through on my apps our first night there, then to find even my apps blocked the next day. In this day and age, there is no longer any excuse for this. So do be aware of these issues. If you're OK with them, you can have a wonderful time at Royalton.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Bryan W, Hotel Management
Conductor, Thank you for your review and your candor. Thank you for being a Royalton loyalist through the years. We have made some modifications to the F&B offerings on the weekends, but we absolutely don't wan that to dampen your stay, we have provided many options to the team to ensure they are fully able to accommodation your wishes. Safe travels and we hope to have you back in the not too distant future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erik from Hellerup

Mixed feelings....

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Hotel in the centre of NYC-Manhattan, close to Time Square. Rooms far from the pictures at the Hotel.com presentation. Bar area, very good, but very noisy due to surrounding office-persons hanging out for Happy Hour, for hours. No room for hotel guests from late afternoon and til late night...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Camille V, Hotel Management
Hi there! I'm sorry you did not feel as though the pictures presented the hotel as you saw them online. Please let the front desk know if you have a challenge with your room and we will gladly move you! We are here to help! Come again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Basingstoke, UK

The Royalton treat you like your Royal

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Right from the start upon our arrival (which had turned into a nightmare as we had a misplaced a suitcase) the staff helped us. The concierge done all he could to help us, and retrieved the missing suitcase back to us in under 2 hours. We stayed in a loft suite which was lovely. The bed was comfy, clean and massive!! But the bathroom was the selling point for me - that round bath and waterfall shower was brilliant. Stylish, beautiful and much needed every day (after a long day sight-seeing). We were lucky to have a fire (yes it was cold in March) which they lit quickly and it made the room toasty and romantic! They turned the beds down every day (not used to that). I was also given a bottle of fizz (yes how lucky was I) as my husband had mentioned I was celebrating a big birthday! The bar during the weekend was quiet, but during the week, be prepared not to get a seat - busy is not the word. The reception and bar area are quite dark due to the spot lighting, but that doesn't detract from its beauty. In March all the fires were on, which made it warm and are a real spectacle. Its location is a real selling point too, it’s very close to Times Square, The New York Public Library and Grand Central (all are less than 2 blocks walking distance). Also within easy walking distance to the Top of the Rock, the Chrysler Building and the Empire State. There are entrances front and back, with coffee shops and restaurants all in close proximity.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Camille V, Hotel Management
We are so thrilled we were able to turn your stay into a something special! Celebrating any occasion in one of our suites would make me speechless - that bath! Also, we're so glad we could help find your missing piece of luggage. Please come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
I had a very fun time, and was romantic. I would maybe recommend this to a friend
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Bryan W, Hotel Management
Thank you so much anonymous, would love your recommend and do come back again soon....whoever you are....