Ratings based on 944 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible customer swrvice

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I stay at this hotel every time I'm in NYC. After an 8 hour drive all I wanted was to relax in my room. They gave my room to someone else due to "over booking" though I booked a week in advance. They said they could only send me to their sister hotel which happened to be far from Times Square and was under construction. Very disappointed since it took another 2 1/2 hours to switch hotels. They ruined my trip and I will not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, California

Very convenient location, nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location & decent rooms/service.
Cons: Advice for tours and sight-seeing was limited to only a few hours and was confusing and not fully accurate.
Location: Great location: a block to Times Square, theaters, and Fifth Avenue. 15 minute walk to Central Park.
My daughter (11) and me visited New York for the first time. The location was excellent - close to everything. Room was small but elegantly designed and clean. The lobby is very dark which may not appeal to children, but the fireplace lounge and bar are cool for adults. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royalton.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
This hotel was convenient to Times Square( so glad we did not stay at Times Square-super loud and busy) and to Rockefeller Center, MOMA, and 5 th Ave. The staff was very nice and the room was spacious and had 3 windows. Overall- great hotel, we would defiantly stay there again! Go ahead and book it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The decor in the rooms was basic, the carpet was dirty, the staff wasn't the nicest
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Nice lobby but inferior rooms.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The lobby has a nice buzz. It's a good place to grave a drink although the service is spotty. It's sometimes hard to find someone to take your order. Very cozy though. The rooms are cry small. Nothing to get excited about. I've been there several times and stayed in various rooms. The larger rooms are better but the small rooms in the penthouse are really unimpressive. Hallways are dark and narrow. Elevator is very small and creepy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Happy with my stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The rooms spaciousness, bar area, staff.
Cons: Keep the restaurant open on weekends (including room service) and keep the bar open a bit later on the weekends.
Location: Broadway/times square within walking distance.
I had a great experience staying at the Royalton. It is in a great location near Broadway/Times Square, and comes with a great staff that is personable and down to earth. It has a great bar area with a cool vibe to get a quick drink on your way to a show or dinner, or after. The room was great - spacious, nice bathroom, good bed, provided everything we needed, etc. I really enjoyed it for a City getaway with a non-traditional feel. I'll go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Great location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
The only dislike they don't serve food on weekends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Loved the bathroom with round tub, room was very comfortable
Location: Great location close to many stores
I would stay at this Hotel again the staff was awesome, my room was awesome, loved the round tub and fire place!!! Great location
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Good location but dirty room

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Nice location. But room is yucky. Couldn't even stand walking on the carpet without shoes/slippers on. Looks like under the couch hasn't been cleaned since it has opened. When you turn on the recessed bedside lamps, you could see molds so we just kept it off so not to see it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Underwhelmed.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: services, and rooms need sprucing up.
Location: short walk to Rockefeller Center and 5th avenue, Radio city music hall, time square, the best part of the hotel is the location.
Disappointed with the amenities and services. Everything is extra, internet service is extra, asking for a double bed instead of a single was extra, water is extra. The lounge areas closed early for a holiday weekend and they did not serve food in the lounge or bar area. So if you are tired and hungry you have to leave and come back. Location is good and accessible to key sights in the city. So many hotels in NYC offer so much more for the rating and price.