Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bel Air, MD

Dated and dark

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Nothing really spectacular about this hotel anymore. Stayed here years ago and was blown away - not anymore. The staff is very pleasant except for the young "girl" hostess at breakfast on Friday morning. When I asked if we could move to a different table from the frigid draft of the door, in the nearly empty restaurant, the sighs and eye rolling I received were reminiscent of the teenagers I had left at home. The room was relatively clean. Although it is so dark in the bathroom, you could still see that it needed to be cleaned better i.e. toothpaste splatter on the dark tile walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Snowed In - in NY

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Lovely cosy place to stay when it is freezing cold outside. Great breakfast menu. Lovely to have a room with an open fire and candlelight.
Location: Great location. Walk up 5th Avenue past shops to Museums and Central Park. Close to Broadway. Lots of great places to eat nearby.
Worst snowstorm predicted. Staff kept us updated. Hotel had to limit some services i.e. breakfast...but they did their best under the circumstances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

Excellent Midtown Location with flaws

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location,Room amenities and quietness at night
Cons: Room Service over weekends
Great Location in Midtown - A Short walk to Grand Central Terminal with its rail & subway connections Nice room a bit on the dark side as the lighting is minimal. Quiet at night, comfortable beds - Good nights sleep. Great Bathroom with huge round tub and luxury apothecary. Negatives - Check in staff not very welcoming, I felt I had interrupted his day. A smile would be nice. This is the first Hotel I have stayed in that did not offer room service over a weekend. As this was my first NYC hotel stay I assumed this must be 'custom'. For a 'luxury' hotel it still seems poor. It would have been nice to have known this when I booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

A hidden treasure

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location, lobby area, room
Cons: Coffee in room and room service on Saturday-sunday
Location: Only a short distance to Times Square - plenty to do nearby.
The hotel entrance was kind of hidden but once discovered, we opened to the doors to a magnificent lobby area with fireplace and comfy seating with a large bar. Room was a nice size for 2 people with a great bathroom and all the amenities you need, except for a coffee pot/coffee which I did find annoying. The only other negative would be that there is no room service available on Saturday or Sunday. Otherwise, beautiful room, beautiful lobby, nice bar, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom easton, PA

Very cozy, elegant hotel.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We stayed at the hotel New Year's Eve 2014. The staff was accommodating and the whole atmosphere was a wonderful experience. I loved the lobby and our room. For a room in NYC, it was quite large and ultra modern. Even though ultra modern and chic is not my preference for home decor , it was fun as an overnite getaway. The room reminded me of our cruise cabin ( except much larger). I did fell the food and beverages were very expensive but them that is the theme for NYC. I would definitely love to stay at the Royalton again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Would equate this hotel to a short stay motel. The lobby was dark and dreary. The room was filthy. Ended up checking out and not even sleeping there because the place was such a turnoff. Would not recommend to anyone except maybe a professional who only needs a place to use for an hour or so.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible customer swrvice

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I stay at this hotel every time I'm in NYC. After an 8 hour drive all I wanted was to relax in my room. They gave my room to someone else due to "over booking" though I booked a week in advance. They said they could only send me to their sister hotel which happened to be far from Times Square and was under construction. Very disappointed since it took another 2 1/2 hours to switch hotels. They ruined my trip and I will not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, California

Very convenient location, nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location & decent rooms/service.
Cons: Advice for tours and sight-seeing was limited to only a few hours and was confusing and not fully accurate.
Location: Great location: a block to Times Square, theaters, and Fifth Avenue. 15 minute walk to Central Park.
My daughter (11) and me visited New York for the first time. The location was excellent - close to everything. Room was small but elegantly designed and clean. The lobby is very dark which may not appeal to children, but the fireplace lounge and bar are cool for adults. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royalton.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
This hotel was convenient to Times Square( so glad we did not stay at Times Square-super loud and busy) and to Rockefeller Center, MOMA, and 5 th Ave. The staff was very nice and the room was spacious and had 3 windows. Overall- great hotel, we would defiantly stay there again! Go ahead and book it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com