Ratings based on 6,682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I love the location. Midst of central Manhattan.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Accommodating Staff and cleanliness of the room.
Location: Central Park is two blocks behind the hotel. Time square is literally around the corner on 7th St.You can walk to great shopping on 5th Avenue in two
The desk staff were very accommodating. I had several quirks that they were able to work with and ensure that I still had an excellent stay the Salisbury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Break in New York

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Central location, comfortable beds
Cons: Slightly tired around the edges but gentle improvements ongoing.
Just as described, centrally located good value hotel perfect for a city visit. Easy acces to subway and within walking distance for midtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Perfect "old style" NY hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Can't say enough about this hotel! If you want The Plaza, this isn 't for you, but if you want a clean, comfortable hotel in a perfect location, I highly recommend it. We had a large room (2 doubles), with a fridge, microwave, and sink, a small walk-in closet, a safe, and a desk & chair. The bell staff were outstanding, going out of their way to help with directions, subways, best places to eat, etc. 2 blocks to Central Park and 1 block to subways. Easy to get around and very safe. Market and Starbucks right across the street, but go downtown to eat. We got a weekly Metro card that we used continually. Great value and an easy way to get around. Excellent location. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you need in New York

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The price was really reasonable
Cons: Nothing it was perfectly adequate
Location: It was handy for Central Park, Times Square and subways
We found the hotel to be clean, with friendly staff and in a good position. For the little time you spend in your hotel room in such a busy city, it was perfectly adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Barrett's in New York

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Brilliant location and fab hotel, the hotel is old fashioned but this is not a criticism. Lovely big rooms and cleaned daily with fresh towels. We had a crazy stay in NY, we saw Chris Rock and Bruce Willis in The Brooklyn Diner just up the road from the hotel. And in the morning ABC news come out onto Times Square, we saw Piers Brosnan, Josh Brolin and Bryan brothers. We also saw a free ABC summer concert in Central Park, Magic. The hotel is 2 minutes walk to Central Park, 30 seconds to the subway and 10 minutes to Times Square. Go for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Big Hotel Room close to Central Park

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Central Park. Plus, the room we booked (1 bedroom suite) had a separate bedroom with 2 double beds plus the main room had a sofa bed.
Cons: The taps in the kitchen sink didn't work. Had to use the bathroom taps.
Location: One block from the south of central park (where these is a kids playground and a zoo)
This is an older hotel and the facilities are adequate but not flash. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Great location!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location! Friendly staff!
We could easily walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, Rockerfeller Centre... Staff was very accommodating. Good value for our dollars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
It wasn't that great of a hotel. All the room furnitures were old and our shower curtain smelled terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Great location and excellent tourist hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location, room facilities (coffee maker, fridge, microwave), excellent value $10 buffet breakfast.
Cons: Decor dated and tired. No free WiFi
Location: Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway, Rockefeller Centre, metro station
Great location for most of the main tourist sights. 5 mins walk from Central Park and 10 mins from Times Square. Hotel quite dated but makes up for it with decent sized rooms with basic kitchen facilities. Hotel buffet breakfast offers good choice of items and is great value at $10 although no hot items and the experience is somewhat spolit by disposable plates and cutlery (but also common practice in some breakfast cafes). 24hr supermarket just opposite the hotel sells hot abd cold takeaway food thus giving a good option to eating out all of the time. Our room was at the back of the hotel so was really quiet - rooms at the front would be noisier at certain times of the day but this is Manhattan so no street is quiet. Would have no hesitation in staying there again.Have already recommended to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel,
Location: Perfectly located on West 57th Street...short walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, great shopping, restaurants, Food markets, Subway.
We stayed at The Salisbury Hotel for 10 days. I do not have any negative comments about this hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly and the rooms were clean. I was surprised at how big the room was. If you are reading this review wondering whether or not to stay at this hotel - BOOK IT. It is in the perfect location..within walking distance to Central Park,Times Square, across the street from Carnegie Hall, Russian Tea Room, Food Market, and Angelo's Pizza is just steps away (in my opinion, they serve the best tasting pizza). The subway is also just around the corner. Our experience at The Salisbury was positive. I would stay there again with no hesitation.