Ratings based on 6,275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MB from Ewing, NJ

Nice hotel, close to all NYC attractions.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We received a free upgrade upon arrival. Room was nice, a bit older, but very nice. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice continental breakfast in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So much space!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
I've stayed in NYC a few times & this hotel by far has the most space for the price. The decor is old fashioned, but you can't beat the value. Location was great, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2014
I wish they would allow late check-out. (3pm check out) We had to sit in the lobby for 5 1/2 hrs until are ride came.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from New York, NY

Clean, comfortable hotel in a very good location.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location, very close to Times Square and plenty of cafes, shops etc.
Cons: The décor is very dated, but clean and comfortable. We were disappointed that there was no free wifi.
Location: Times Square is just around the corner and Central Park just a short walk away. This is an ideal location.
We got a fantastic deal on this hotel so to be honest, we didn't expect it to be more than average, but we were very pleasantly surprised to find it very spacious, clean and comfortable and the location was fantastic. We will definitely stay at the hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious accommodations. Great Location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location and suite size.
Cons: The bedding really needs improvement. The sheets were scratchy with only a matelasse coverlet on top. improvement her would make this hotel perfect
Very happy overall with this hotel. Our suite was amazingly spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
This is a very clean, although dated hotel, but still a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful and the mid town location excellent. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from London

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the dated style and charm of the hotel. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Cons: The lobby was pretty dull but we didn't go to NY to sit in a lobby.
Location: All walkable are Central Park, Times Square, shopping on Madison Ave etc. Subway on the corner by Carnegie Hall too. Plus the fabulous Brooklyn Diner!
Hotel was very friendly, comfortable and clean. We had a room at the front with a view which was great. Good storage space for clothes - two walk in closets. Any questions or problems we had were dealt with straight away, for instance there were 3 of us in a two double bedded bedroom and they quickly brought up more towels, advised on the t.v. or sorted the microwave. Our fridge didn't work even though it was humming which they said meant it was, but you would definitely need it working in the summer. We'd insist on it being fixed properly another time. Overall, excellent hotel and would definitely recommend it and use it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by talat from Istanbul/TURKEY

excellent location frendly staff

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Because I ama an expedia elite plus member Salisbury Hotel upgraded me and gave me a suit room. It was huge and so comfortable.
I can recommend you this hotel because of its location. Its near the central park and it is so easy to reach fine dining restaurants and qualified fashıon shops on the 5th avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from calgary, Alberta

Great location!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location.... Appreciated the abundance of umbrellas to borrow.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier
Location: Close to everything!
Location great!! Fabulous fresh food market across the street! Close to subway station and great restaurants. Rooms are very dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff could be a little friendlier....subway system is outstanding and user friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Sussex UK

Comfortable hotel close to all the action

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were cleaned and serviced daily. It's in a great position close to where the action is.
Cons: Lifts were an issue. Only two available and the service was slow. Also wifi has to be paid when most other places supply it free.
Location: Great location close to the subway, Central Park, Times Square, 5th avenue, and the staff are great in advising you how to get places.
We stayed here for eight nights in April. It was our first trip to New York. It's an old hotel but very comfortable with good sized rooms. West 57th is a busy street but our room was at the back of the building on the 16th floor and was very quiet. We had a very comfortable stay. The building is quite old and the decor could do with an upgrade but we were only there to sleep so who sees the decor when the lights out??? The kids liked the tv which had a good range of channels. We didn't try the breakfast as we ate out every day. Lifts can be frustrating as there are only two and they are slow plus one broke down during our stay for a short time so waits could be long but wasn't a major headache. It's a great location close to all the major sights and the subways a few yards away. My only real gripe is that wifi was not free and that's a must these days. The cleaning staff were great and the room was cleaned each day and fresh towels were supplied. Overall a great stay and I would highly recommend. We would be happy to stay here again.