Ratings based on 6,653 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Hotel decor is a bit tired and dated but the location is great, staff are very good and our king size bed was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Great Central location and good for families

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The Central location and large suites suited both our families well. Staff responded promptly to a problem we had with the sofa bed in the lounge .
Cons: The decor/furnishings could do with being modernised or repaired. The sofa bed was broken but was replaced the 1st night with a single bed.
Location: Great location as it was central to all the places we wanted to visit. It was easy walking distance to Times Square, Central Park & Rockerfella.
This hotel catered well to our needs. Two families of 4 (children being teenagers) travelled in August and spent 5 nights in the hotel. We stayed in a large hotel suite which had two double beds in one room and a sofa bed in the lounge area. The suite had four good sized walk in wardrobes which was great. A small kitchen area provided a fridge, microwave and tea/coffee facility. The hotel room was clean and the towels were changed daily. We had a nice continental breakfast on one day of the week only as there are some great restaurant diners around serving hot breakfast at a reasonable price. I had initial problems getting to sleep due to the noise of outside traffic, however, tiredness due to being out all day and evening soon solved this. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, ON, Canada

close to Time Square, Central park, shopping etc.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The cleaning lady was great, the receptionist was amazing girl.
Cons: I would not change anything, it was great.
Location: got small kids, we went to central park, time squer
Love it, will go again, the staff specially the desk lady, great girl full of energy and good personality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great people.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Location: Loved that it was 11/2 blocks from central park and only about 5 blocks from times square. Very easy access to subway and buses as well.
We had a great time staying at the Salisbury Hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable, we slept wonderfully after our long days of tracking around New York. The breakfast was good and the staff were very nice and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Great position.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Taking notice of special requests on booking, perhaps renovating the bathrooms.
Location: Great location near subway, Central Park, Time Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway.
We, family of 4 sharing a room with 2 queen beds, arrived late in the evening, exhausted from our flight, I had warned the hotel we would be late and they were ready for us. We were very quickly checked into our room. Once we got to our room I remembered I'd requested one at the rear of the hotel, which we hadn't been given. The next morning I went and asked reception if we could change to a room at the rear of the hotel. There was no problem, we just had to bring down our bags and then when we got back later we were given another room. The rooms were very spacious with large closets to store clothes and suitcases. Small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker were also supplied. The decor is old fashioned and could be modernised but it is in a good condition. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained but very dated; the showers had good pressure but poor shower head so either noisy or with poor spray. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well once at the back of the hotel. At the front the street noise wasn't too bad, but we live in the country and are only used to the noises of sheep and birds so the odd siren and buses clanking over metal work in the road was disturbing for us. The outstanding feature of this hotel is its location. A 5 minute walk from a subway station, a block from Central Park, a couple of blocks from Time Sq and 5th Ave. We also got it at a great price and very reasonable for New York. A very good, traditional, independent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

One day after returning home. Review done on 8.19

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The central location and cleanliness of the hotel itself
Cons: Wi Fi to the rooms or a telephone directory so one can look up addresses.
Location: Everything is near or a few blocks away .Fifth Avenue , Madison Lexington and times Square is 3 stops on the sub way
Hotel great Location rooms clean only draw back had to pay for internet connection as no phone directory was in the room.Great value for price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n. ire

Very convenient for times sq and central park

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Would highly recommend the Salisbury. Our suite was huge, clean and very quiet. The location is so central that we walked everywhere but there is a subway station only a short stroll away. The desk staff were friendly and accommodating and the luggage guys likewise. We only had breakfast on one morning, continental, average enough. The only minor gripes were the double beds which were smaller than we're used to and the lack of a bar but then again the hotel is run by the Baptist church next door. Would recommend Angelo's pizzeria two doors down if like us your feet had travelled enough
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Plastic Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
For the money you paid you expect absulately more.. Breakfast is avarage there is no meat served , plastic plates, spoon fork and knife cartoon coffee cups. Reception is not capable for their work. No return no answer for room change request, as they don't care about special requirements at reservation stage and as they dont answer about airport pick up request. It is one way commun─▒cation as they ignore everything comes from your side. On concierge either no information or WRONG information. Double beds are not double size only queen size . Air condition is cooling but too loud. The only positive point is location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, NY

Nice, old hotel in a great location!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location
I have stayed at the Salisbury many times and have never had a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location. Good room

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Price
Location: Central Park. Broadway.
We were very satisfied with the room. It was first time at the Salisbury, and we would definitely go back. Appreciated being upgraded to a suite. The location was great, just below Central Park and just across Carnegie Hall.