Ratings based on 6,725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs renovation

Posted Sep 19, 2014
great location, staff ok, but the hotel is too old. spacious room, but needs renovation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury, Berkshire, UK

Location, location, location ! Excellent

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Uncomplicated and no fuss.
Cons: Internal decor a bit dated especially tiling in bathroomi
Location: Ideal for Central Park. Easy walking distance to Theatre District and Broadway and Time Square
Ideally situated to cover all the main attractions in New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Location, decor refresh needed

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location!!!
Cons: Could do with re-decorating in places
Loved the location of the Salisbury Hotel! Central Park, Times Square, Broadway & 5th Ave right on the doorstep!! Room was huge (605 - had two double queen size beds, TWO walk in wardrobes, kitchenette and decent sized bathrroms). Hotel itself could do with a bit of a refresher (some of the carpets had been patched up and walls needed a repaint) but room was immaculately clean and perfect as a base to explore the city!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, unaddressed extra charges

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Hotel is in a great location and room was clean. nothing fancy. However since checking out I have checked my bank account and noticed a 38euro deduction from my account from the hotel. We did not avail of any of the hotels additional services and were not notified of this extra charge when checking out, which I would expect as a mimimum. This is disappointing as otherwise I would recommend hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Heart of New York

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Times Square around the corner. Central Park 2 blocks away. Everything is on the doorstep.
We booked the Salisbury after a family friend recommended it as she had been to the hotel at least 5 times. After reading some reviews my partner was a little sceptical. The Salisbury is fantastic, yes it is dated in d├ęcor but it is traditional which made it feel more homely. We had a twin room which comes with a kitchenette that has a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The king size bed rooms apparently do not have this. The double bed twin rooms are very spacious and there is lots of space for clothes and shoes, There is a safe built in one of the closets which we found very secure. The hotel staff are so very helpful and always pleasant. As for the location.....well it really is in the heart of New York. We went out almost immediately after checking in. We headed left out of the hotel and walked right down 6th Avenue which can easily take you Empire State Building (walking distance) if you like walking. Central Park is two blocks away if you head left on 6th Avenue. If you head right out of the hotel and take a left on 7th Avenue and walk for literally 5minutes or less....its there.....Times Square, we were absolutely amazed with the location of The Salisbury, everything is on the doorstep. You should not find fault with this hotel. If you want a nice hotel that will be a spacious, relaxing base for your New York adventure then this is the place. We will have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location very convenient for everything

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Hotel staff great Very clean. We had a wonderful time did so many sights fantastic weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hamilton Ontario

Good Stay in a Great Location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Could use a fan in the bathroom
Location: Central Park, Times Square, Museum of Modern Art , Broadway
We enjoyed our stay here for four nights. All staff were friendly and helpful ,especially Nick who gave us great local information for places to go eat and visit. Room was nice and comfortable for us as well as being in a great location with a nice little market right across the street for convenient snacks. We hope we can stay here again in the near future. Thanks Salisbury !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Perfect location, great hotel!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great midtown hotel, very near to everything. We booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews which were very accurate. Opposite was a 24 hour deli with great reasonable food. Very near to central park and metro stations nearby. The staff were very helpful and informative but not too pushy. It is an old fashioned hotel which is charming to stay in. Cold breakfast is extensive and reasonable at $10. If you are looking to stay in a faceless boutique style hotel, then this probably isn't the hotel for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey, uk

If only they had secondary glazing.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, economical and spacious rooms
Cons: Sound proofing, the lift was very slow.
Location: Opposite the Carnegie Hall, walking distance to Central Park and easy journey to most major attractions
As I was travelling with my adult sons we wanted economical accommodation but with our own beds. The rooms at the Salisbury are spacious and we had a two room apartment one with 2 small doubles and a reasonable sofa bed in the second room. The shared bathroom was dated but adequate. The location was good just off Broadway and in easy reach of all the main attractions, subways and a wide variety of restaurants. The big downside for me was the noise. The air conditioning was noisy but this was surpassed by the constant traffic noise 24/7. Our room was on the front and on the 7th floor and there appeared to be no secondary glazing or soundproofing to mask the round the clock traffic, deliveries and building work going on in the street. Maybe a room at the rear would be quieter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

I'd stay here any time.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Great position for many major sights . Comfortable rooms with tea & coffee making facilities & a microwave oven . Staff so helpful & friendly.
Cons: Maybe the lifts could be modernised but now i'm nit picking.
Location: Located on 57th st. on 5/6th Aves means central park is close & times sq. 10 mins. slow walk away .
great position for sights , staff helpful & friendly , very clean and tidy hotel . My room had tea/coffee facilities with a microwave oven too .I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.