Ratings based on 6,672 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Great location!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location! Friendly staff!
We could easily walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, Rockerfeller Centre... Staff was very accommodating. Good value for our dollars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel,
Location: Perfectly located on West 57th Street...short walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, great shopping, restaurants, Food markets, Subway.
We stayed at The Salisbury Hotel for 10 days. I do not have any negative comments about this hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly and the rooms were clean. I was surprised at how big the room was. If you are reading this review wondering whether or not to stay at this hotel - BOOK IT. It is in the perfect location..within walking distance to Central Park,Times Square, across the street from Carnegie Hall, Russian Tea Room, Food Market, and Angelo's Pizza is just steps away (in my opinion, they serve the best tasting pizza). The subway is also just around the corner. Our experience at The Salisbury was positive. I would stay there again with no hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England

Nice hotel close to all the tourist attractions.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
My son and I had an amazing experience. The hotel staff where fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble. I am going to recommend the Salisbury Hotel to friends that are thinking of going to New York City. Fabulous location to visit all the tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastleigh Hampshire

Nice Hotel, fantastic location.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Good sized rooms, clean and tidy, air conditioner a little noisy, breakfast good value.
Cons: The Salisbury is great value for money, a good all rounder.
Location: Perfect location for seeing all the sights, so much to do,see eat and drink!
2 minutes from central park, 15 minutes from times square. Close to the subway and bus tour routes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Busy hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Be friendly to guests.
Great location and loved being at the heart of everything. Checkin staff not very friendly upon arrival. The place felt like a zoo with lots of people in the foyer and disorganised. There were times that the concierge / bell boy was the only person on duty in the whole hotel for helping guests with their needs. Needless to say I felt sorry for that person running around frantically while three people at check in station appear to not care less about guests needs. Rooms / our suite was very large but the kitchenette facility was lacking even a plate or fork. Overall I wish I had stayed somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Older hotel but great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The overall feel of the hotel was that it was a little older, but the location was great. Close to Central Park, Times Square and a subway station it made seeing the sights very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

August 2014

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff helpful and hotel extremely clean although decor a little dated. Lifts worked ok but you get a feeling they could do with an upgrade.
Cons: Free WIFI would be useful as available in lots of public places.
Location: Good location for Central Park. Carnigie Hall also extremely close.Easy access for subway to all other parts of the city.
Whole trip booked online and went smoothly. Due to traffic, transfers to/from airport can take some time. Eating out at restuarants can be expensive but alternative to restuarants can be found.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location, well priced, good sized rooms

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very pleasant place to stay, convenient well located and good staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff & great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Lovely old fashioned hotel with Times Square and Central Park within walking distance. Hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. Very clean and spacious room with everything we needed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, Hampshire

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Our room was really spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were always happy to help and made sure we had an enjoyable stay.
Cons: The wifi fee should be per room not per device. It's expensive if you are a family with kids that all want to use their devises.
Location: See notes above but its close to Central Park and only a short walk to Times Square and the tubes are great.
The room was lovely and we especially liked the fact we had a kitchenette area with a coffee machine, microwave and a fridge. We were able to enjoy ice cold drinks when we returned from a hard day of sightseeing. There are shops and supermarkets nearby but we used the Morton Williams Fresh Market Place opposite the hotel which is open 24/7 and this kept us supplied with milk, drinks and treats for our room. There is also a Starbucks opposite which has free wifi. The front of the hotel can be quiet noisy with the traffic noise but it didn't disturb my sleep and added to the experience of being in NY! Apparently the back of the hotel is quieter. Great location for Central Park and a 15 minute walk to Times Square. The subway at Columbus Circle covers most routes and takes you straight down to the bottom of Manhattan in one go, no changes. This is where you will visit the 9/11 memorial and museum (the museum, amazing, and is really worth seeing) and the Financial District with the stock exchange and the court houses. Basically a good location for seeing all the sights.