Ratings based on 6,939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Ideal locality for a stay in New York

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff and large rooms.
Cons: Updating of the hotel facilities.
Location: The location is excellent - across the road from Carnegie Hall and a short walk from Central Park.
Ideal locality for getting around New York. Enjoyed the area and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

nice, historical hotel. large rooms.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Historic style hotel
Location: A Block away from Central Park Walking distance to Rockefeller Centre
This was a nice historic hotel. Room was very spacious. Staff extremely helpful. Close location to Central Park and subways. Great store across the road for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Close walking distance to Rockefeller Centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Nov 25, 2014
I like the place, staff friendly. It is in a good location. The continental breakfast is a little overpriced for what they offer. Over all I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Great location and staff

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms size, price, and cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Park, Rockefeller Center, great restaurants, subway is a block away - easy access to everything
I was only here for one night, but will definitely return to this hotel during my next stay! Yes, it's dated, but the hotel has loads of character and charm because of this (built in 1939) . Ceilings are nice and high, rooms were large (had double bed suite) and very clean. Staff were extremely helpful, and the location is perfect! We had a street front room, which can be noisy, but thanks to another reviewer, I brought ear plugs and slept well! You can't beat this hotel for the price. I suppose if it were a bit more expensive, I wouldn't be nearly as pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelllent location Excelllent staff

Posted Nov 25, 2014
We spent five nights at The hotel, location and staff really good. I think theu should replace the wallpaper in the bathrom. The bedroom had a good size and quite comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset UK

Ideal hotel for exploring NYC

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Stayed in NYC for 5 Days and had room only in the Salisbury - we were out all day so really only used the hotel for showering & sleeping. The hotel staff are friendly & helpful and the Hotel is in an ideal position for sightseeing around the city. Its clean and there are good facilities within the rooms - we were a couple of towels short when we got there but they sent some up straight away. We also asked for some decaf coffee and again they sent some up straight away and replenished daily with both regular & decaf. We would definitely stay there again & recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 24, 2014
I have only good words, an absolutely amazing experience! I would simply move in if i could
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent location; clean; friendly staff; dated

Posted Nov 24, 2014
As others have mentioned, this is a somewhat dated hotel from a decor standpoint but kept very clean (they must have a great housekeeping team) and the staff could not possibly be nicer. Location is also fantastic and our room was in the back so very quiet. If you don't mind a small bathroom (after all, you're staying for a short time, not moving in!) it is a bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cary, NC

Great room. Great location.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Room was spacious, bed linens were fresh, staff was friendly & helpful and the location was terrific. Our first time staying at the Salisbury and the 57th Street area (We usually stay around Times Square). Close to Central Park & many other attractions. 24 hour grocery/deli across the street and numerous restaurants close by. We have found the best lodging deal in NYC and will put the Salisbury Hotel first on our list for our next trip to the Big Apple. (Also we were there to celebrate our 37th anniversary and couldn't ask for a better stay then we had).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Very Centrally Located

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Very clean basic hotel and the location was very central. Very good hotel for the price.