Ratings based on 6,718 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location very convenient for everything

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Hotel staff great Very clean. We had a wonderful time did so many sights fantastic weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Perfect location, great hotel!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great midtown hotel, very near to everything. We booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews which were very accurate. Opposite was a 24 hour deli with great reasonable food. Very near to central park and metro stations nearby. The staff were very helpful and informative but not too pushy. It is an old fashioned hotel which is charming to stay in. Cold breakfast is extensive and reasonable at $10. If you are looking to stay in a faceless boutique style hotel, then this probably isn't the hotel for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey, uk

If only they had secondary glazing.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, economical and spacious rooms
Cons: Sound proofing, the lift was very slow.
Location: Opposite the Carnegie Hall, walking distance to Central Park and easy journey to most major attractions
As I was travelling with my adult sons we wanted economical accommodation but with our own beds. The rooms at the Salisbury are spacious and we had a two room apartment one with 2 small doubles and a reasonable sofa bed in the second room. The shared bathroom was dated but adequate. The location was good just off Broadway and in easy reach of all the main attractions, subways and a wide variety of restaurants. The big downside for me was the noise. The air conditioning was noisy but this was surpassed by the constant traffic noise 24/7. Our room was on the front and on the 7th floor and there appeared to be no secondary glazing or soundproofing to mask the round the clock traffic, deliveries and building work going on in the street. Maybe a room at the rear would be quieter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

I'd stay here any time.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Great position for many major sights . Comfortable rooms with tea & coffee making facilities & a microwave oven . Staff so helpful & friendly.
Cons: Maybe the lifts could be modernised but now i'm nit picking.
Location: Located on 57th st. on 5/6th Aves means central park is close & times sq. 10 mins. slow walk away .
great position for sights , staff helpful & friendly , very clean and tidy hotel . My room had tea/coffee facilities with a microwave oven too .I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Perfectly located near subway, Central Park, convenient to parking garage (with discount), 24 hour food market across the street.
Stayed for 4 nights in September. Very comfortable room, quite large, both bath and shower, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent hotel for the money.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: The bathroom sink faucet can be updated. Drainage was quite slow and the pipes sometimes make noise when hot water is turned on.
Location: Hotel was situated on West 57 St. between 6th and 7th ave. Not far from Central Park and other hot spots.
Great location and excellent value. Hotel room was spacious and clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Great location and spacious rooms. Good to have spotless microwave and fridge
This hotel is a bit dated but charming. Very comfortable and friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An item on my wish list.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Close to many places of interest. Provision of breakfast at the hotel welcomed.
Cons: Found use of disposable cutlery and plates took time to adjust to!!
Location: Central Park - handy to pick up Loop bus - Times square etc. Deli and eateries on doorstep.
A friend and I have special birthdays this year and decided we needed to do something special and both had a visit to New York on our wish lists-a first for us both. We planned our break with Expedia who arranged our flights and hotel to meet our needs. The flights were at convenient times and the hotel perfect for our needs. We had a list of things that we wanted to see and experience and the hotel was close to Central Park where we were able to make use of the loop buses where we could get on and off at places of our choice. The hotel was close to eateries and a Deli if we chose not to go far afield from the hotel. My friend and I feel we have returned home having had a very successful and happy trip - and recover from the bustle and noise!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great experience

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: nothing
Location: youre on 6th and 7th, and 1 block from central park. what else is there to know?
met by friendly professional staff, got upgraded to a massive 2-bed suite. on 15th floor. everything is laid out for you on a plate. knowleadgeable staff and checked me in online without hesitation for flights home. would recommend this hotel very highly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Excellent location for sight-seeing

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy rooms with comfortable beds
Cons: The decor could be improved; it would enhance the appearance if some brighter colours were incorporated and the elevators were very slow
Location: Location was excellent; within walking distance of most tourist attractions; Central Park, Fifth Avenue, Empire State Builing etc
The hotel was ideally suited for sight-seeing; close to 5th Avenue, Madison Avenue, Times Square etc. The hotel is quite old and owned by the Calvary Baptist Church which is located next door. All areas of the hotel were clean and tidy, although rather tired and in need of a spruce-up. The only helpful staff at the hotel were the Bell-boys; they were very quick at giving advice and always held the door open for you to enter/exit. The Reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful; they gave the impression that you were an inconvenience they had to endure..... maybe that is peculiar to New York? I did not see one Receptionist smile in the 5 days I stayed there. Having said all this, I enjoyed the time I had in New York and was able to walk to most tourist attractions.