Ratings based on 6,924 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Murphy

Good location, 5 minute walk to Time Square

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Basic hotel but in a brilliant location, 5 minute walk to Times square &5th avenue. Very helpful staff and would defiantly recommend for short break in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Quaint and good price.
Cons: Could use updates in the bathroom.
Location: Very close to central park and subway.
Great staff. Our room was huge. Great location. Overall a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The location---close to Central Park, Carnegie Hall and the theatre district. Additionally a wide variety of eating establishments in the area.
Cons: Nothing as far I am concerned
Location: Central Park, Carnegie Hall, theatre district, Times Square
Had a wonderful stay wish it could have been longer. We were attending an event at Carnegie Hall which is right across the street. Upon check-in we got our room upgraded to a suite--Lucky us. The room was excellent. The staff was professional, friendly and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Central Park

Posted Nov 20, 2014
We stayed there for 5 nights and it was a great hotel for what we could afford. Right near Times Square and Central Park. Everything was a walk away, and the subway was close too. The breakfast did got up to $14 but it was not needed as a supermarket across the road sold some little breakfast bits to tide us over. A very lovely hotel staff super friendly, I would definitely go back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Nice hotel with friendly staff, excellent location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The friendly, knowledgeable staff, the Ideal location , the comfortable rooms.
Cons: Breakfast too expensive for those not eating a lot.
Location: Central Park, Carnagie Hall, Times Square, High Line etc
My 3 sisters and I wanted to stay in a hotel close to mid-town Manhatten so we could walk to sight seeing locations. The Salisbury fit the bill and we would certainly return here if and when we decide to visit New York again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Worth a visit

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: All of what it offered from location to facilities
Cons: Wifi cost $25 for 3 days too much
Location: 5 minutes to Central park subway just on next corner and 10 minutes walk to shops at 5th Avenue. Also Carneige Hall over the street.
Great stay and very clean hotel. Old style but great value for money staff went out of their way to tell us things about area. It was a good location with lots of local diners and delis to get reasonable priced food to sit in or take away. Room was a little bit warm but wasn't too noisy to sleep with the window open. Only downside was wifi costs but only need to cross road to get free access. It will suit all visitors to New York room had 2 double beds so couple with children as well as adults. Also useful kitchenette area .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom york

Pleasant hotel which is quite near Central Park

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Comfy beds pleasant staff.
Cons: Well the amenities in the room need improving. Real cups instead of paper cups and a kettle for making tea instead of just coffee maker.
Location: Near Central Park and nice walk down to times square
Enjoyed staying there staff very pleasant and helpful. Good location and loads of diners near by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four Nights at the Salisbury

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: We liked the space in the room, arm chairs for reading, lots of storage space for luggage and clothing, the microwave, fridge and coffee maker.
Cons: Bathroom was old and tired, grout contained mould. Tap in tub dripped non-stop. No queen size beds. Doubles would not fit 2 adults. TV limited
Location: Close to Central Pk and Carnegie Hall. Two far from Times Square and theatres
My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at The Salisbury the second weekend of November. The ratings on Trip Advisor are very good for this 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

clean adequate hotel close to tourist hot spots.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: clean and friendly, central to all tourist hot spots, bars, restaurants etc
Cons: décor a little dated
Location: 5th avenue, theatre district, Madison square garden, central park etc. all within 15 minutes walking distance.
lovely stay and hotel staff very friendly they even upgraded our room to a mini suite - décor a little dated but room very clean. central to all the major tourist attractions, restaurants, theatres etc. - would gladly recommend to friends and family and would stay there again when we next visit new York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great independent hotel close to Central Park

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: It had a good location, the staff were lovely and my room was cleaned everyday. I liked the size of the room and the amenities that were provided.
Cons: The blinds at the windows didn't work properly on both sides. The windows could do with double glazing as the traffic noise was very loud.
Location: Really close to Central Park and an easy walk to 5th Avenue, Bloomingdales and Times Square. Subway station and a Starbucks were really close too.
I used this hotel as a base for my New York holiday which mainly involved walking, sight seeing and shopping. I was expecting a more generic style of room but it was more old fashioned, which I wasn't sure about at first but grew to like. I had two huge storage cupboards for clothes and suitcases, as well as a big chest of drawers, a kitchenette area with full size fridge, microwave and coffee machine. This was great for me as I was planning on getting food from the 24 hour supermarket over the road as opposed to eating out or in the dining room. The beds were quite hard but I had no trouble sleeping. The temperature of the room was always perfect, and I switched the air con off as I didn't need it. I couldn't really hear noise from other rooms but the noise from outside was quite bad - I was on the 9th floor and there were sirens and horns most of the night and workmen started really early on the buildings next door so you definitely need earplugs. I guess thats what you get with an older hotel though. Wifi was an additional charge which I didn't use.