Ratings based on 6,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by talat from Istanbul/TURKEY

excellent location frendly staff

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Because I ama an expedia elite plus member Salisbury Hotel upgraded me and gave me a suit room. It was huge and so comfortable.
I can recommend you this hotel because of its location. Its near the central park and it is so easy to reach fine dining restaurants and qualified fashıon shops on the 5th avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from calgary, Alberta

Great location!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location.... Appreciated the abundance of umbrellas to borrow.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier
Location: Close to everything!
Location great!! Fabulous fresh food market across the street! Close to subway station and great restaurants. Rooms are very dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff could be a little friendlier....subway system is outstanding and user friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Sussex UK

Comfortable hotel close to all the action

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were cleaned and serviced daily. It's in a great position close to where the action is.
Cons: Lifts were an issue. Only two available and the service was slow. Also wifi has to be paid when most other places supply it free.
Location: Great location close to the subway, Central Park, Times Square, 5th avenue, and the staff are great in advising you how to get places.
We stayed here for eight nights in April. It was our first trip to New York. It's an old hotel but very comfortable with good sized rooms. West 57th is a busy street but our room was at the back of the building on the 16th floor and was very quiet. We had a very comfortable stay. The building is quite old and the decor could do with an upgrade but we were only there to sleep so who sees the decor when the lights out??? The kids liked the tv which had a good range of channels. We didn't try the breakfast as we ate out every day. Lifts can be frustrating as there are only two and they are slow plus one broke down during our stay for a short time so waits could be long but wasn't a major headache. It's a great location close to all the major sights and the subways a few yards away. My only real gripe is that wifi was not free and that's a must these days. The cleaning staff were great and the room was cleaned each day and fresh towels were supplied. Overall a great stay and I would highly recommend. We would be happy to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jools from Bucks, UK

Nice hotel, great location, very clean

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel. We also liked the cleanliness and the size of the well appointed room.
Cons: Definitely the showers.
Location: All upper and midtown attractions were within easy walking distance and there are MTA stations nearby.
A really lovely hotel, in a great location. Room was plenty big enough for our family of 4. Really well equipped room with kitchenette area comprising coffee machine, fridge, sink and microwave. Bathroom was clean and well appointed, including a hair dryer. Shower took some getting used to as the temperature was not controlled and would range from too hot to too cold (this would be my only criticism of the hotel). We had a rear facing room on the 14th floor which meant we were not disturbed by street noise and we were well away from the elevators too, so we all slept really well. Staff were courteous and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pam from rhode island

Nice hotel with very large rooms for 4 people

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was very acommadating. The one bedroom suite was huge.
Cons: Decor
Location: Times Square , Central Park , 5th avenue close by
We stayed here to see a. Cirque show in flushing. There were 4 of us . The one bedroom suite was so large you had to yell so the person could hear you in the sitting room. There was a fridge and microwave and coffee pot as well. The decor and furniture needs updating but was very clean and safe. The location was awesome. The staff was very acommadating. One of the elevators wasn't working we chose to use the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. The staff was so apologetic that we were Inconvienienced. The parking garage staff were so nice . The coupon from the hotel cur the price in half. If you want a clean safe hotel for a good price this is perfect for a large party of four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Lancashire, England

We cannot fault our stay at this hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Don't try
Location: Absolutely perfect.
It is rare to say "our stay at this hotel was as near to perfect as one could wish". Location - ideal, two streets south of Central Park, Subway station on one corner, Carnegie Hall on the other, close to all the big 'must sees' . Cleanliness excellent. Reception professional and polite. Staff very helpful, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Accommodation very comfortable, exceptionally clean and the room staff spot on! A rare gem in my opinion. This once in a lifetime holiday was an absolute pleasure and this hotel was a big factor in making it so. I really can't speak highly enough of our stay at this hotel. I have stayed at many hotels in many places (through work and pleasure) I can honestly say in terms of comfort, location, cleanliness, helpfulness and friendly staff, this has been the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AnneA from st louis

Great experience

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly. The hotel is older but still quite nice for the price and location. I would stay here again without question. It's right by great shopping and near Central Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from UK

Good hotel in excellent location.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, opposite Carnegie Hall and near Central Park. Lots of reasonable restaurants nearby. I would stay again because of location.
Cons: Better lifts, and friendlier staff!
Location: As above. Excellent location.
Hotel is basic but very good location, and reasonably priced for Manhattan. Is clean and my room was very large with huge cupboards and small kitchenette. I had a room at front which was noisy due to traffic noise. Lots of school kids staying and small lobby area could be crowded. Staff were a bit disinterested but fairly helpful. Lifts very slow. a basic breakfast buffet is available, but I did not sample this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene from Canada

Nice hotel for short stay.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: We stayed in the suite, and it was huge! King bed in one room and sofabed in other living space. Lots of space, small fridge was convenient for drinks
Cons: Bathrooms are outdated and should be renovated and improved. Water temperatures changed dramatically when showering. Free wifi should be offered.
Location: Location is great to Times Square, Central Park. Starbucks is across the street, where you can get free wifi. Market nearby for fruits.
We enjoyed the amount of space offered in the suite. Lots of room to spread out. King bed was very comfortable. 2 tv's very convenient when travelling with children and having a separate room is fantastic. Having a small bar fridge was great and a safe to lock away valuables. Location is great. Close to Central Park and a 5-10 minute walk to Times Square. Perfect location away from the big crowds. The breakfast offered is okay. Very convenient for a quick bite then off sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from london

Fantastic!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We stayed at The Salisbury for a long weekend to celebrate my daughters 21st. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was fab. The hotel is spitting distance from Central Park and a short walk from Time Square. Ideal spot for a short break. We loved it! The staff were extremely helpful. Would deffo recommend a stay here x