Ratings based on 6,678 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Perfect "old style" NY hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Can't say enough about this hotel! If you want The Plaza, this isn 't for you, but if you want a clean, comfortable hotel in a perfect location, I highly recommend it. We had a large room (2 doubles), with a fridge, microwave, and sink, a small walk-in closet, a safe, and a desk & chair. The bell staff were outstanding, going out of their way to help with directions, subways, best places to eat, etc. 2 blocks to Central Park and 1 block to subways. Easy to get around and very safe. Market and Starbucks right across the street, but go downtown to eat. We got a weekly Metro card that we used continually. Great value and an easy way to get around. Excellent location. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you need in New York

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The price was really reasonable
Cons: Nothing it was perfectly adequate
Location: It was handy for Central Park, Times Square and subways
We found the hotel to be clean, with friendly staff and in a good position. For the little time you spend in your hotel room in such a busy city, it was perfectly adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Great location!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location! Friendly staff!
We could easily walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, Rockerfeller Centre... Staff was very accommodating. Good value for our dollars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
It wasn't that great of a hotel. All the room furnitures were old and our shower curtain smelled terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Great location and excellent tourist hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location, room facilities (coffee maker, fridge, microwave), excellent value $10 buffet breakfast.
Cons: Decor dated and tired. No free WiFi
Location: Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway, Rockefeller Centre, metro station
Great location for most of the main tourist sights. 5 mins walk from Central Park and 10 mins from Times Square. Hotel quite dated but makes up for it with decent sized rooms with basic kitchen facilities. Hotel buffet breakfast offers good choice of items and is great value at $10 although no hot items and the experience is somewhat spolit by disposable plates and cutlery (but also common practice in some breakfast cafes). 24hr supermarket just opposite the hotel sells hot abd cold takeaway food thus giving a good option to eating out all of the time. Our room was at the back of the hotel so was really quiet - rooms at the front would be noisier at certain times of the day but this is Manhattan so no street is quiet. Would have no hesitation in staying there again.Have already recommended to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel,
Location: Perfectly located on West 57th Street...short walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, great shopping, restaurants, Food markets, Subway.
We stayed at The Salisbury Hotel for 10 days. I do not have any negative comments about this hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly and the rooms were clean. I was surprised at how big the room was. If you are reading this review wondering whether or not to stay at this hotel - BOOK IT. It is in the perfect location..within walking distance to Central Park,Times Square, across the street from Carnegie Hall, Russian Tea Room, Food Market, and Angelo's Pizza is just steps away (in my opinion, they serve the best tasting pizza). The subway is also just around the corner. Our experience at The Salisbury was positive. I would stay there again with no hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England

Nice hotel close to all the tourist attractions.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
My son and I had an amazing experience. The hotel staff where fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble. I am going to recommend the Salisbury Hotel to friends that are thinking of going to New York City. Fabulous location to visit all the tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastleigh Hampshire

Nice Hotel, fantastic location.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Good sized rooms, clean and tidy, air conditioner a little noisy, breakfast good value.
Cons: The Salisbury is great value for money, a good all rounder.
Location: Perfect location for seeing all the sights, so much to do,see eat and drink!
2 minutes from central park, 15 minutes from times square. Close to the subway and bus tour routes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Busy hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Be friendly to guests.
Great location and loved being at the heart of everything. Checkin staff not very friendly upon arrival. The place felt like a zoo with lots of people in the foyer and disorganised. There were times that the concierge / bell boy was the only person on duty in the whole hotel for helping guests with their needs. Needless to say I felt sorry for that person running around frantically while three people at check in station appear to not care less about guests needs. Rooms / our suite was very large but the kitchenette facility was lacking even a plate or fork. Overall I wish I had stayed somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Older hotel but great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The overall feel of the hotel was that it was a little older, but the location was great. Close to Central Park, Times Square and a subway station it made seeing the sights very easy.