Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Perfect location close to Times Square

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Thanks for the room upgrade.
Cons: Attitude of staff at check-in / enquiry counter
Location: Times Square Broadway
Doormen were extremely professional and courteous and always trying to go out of their way to help, much more so than the pretentious staff behind the check in counter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington uk

Very Good boutique

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very good overall, rooms not that big but comfortable and very well decorated. Only issue was external air con units but after first night this blurred into general outdoor noise. location is brilliant for mid town and hotel is hidden on w47th street near time square. Roof bar is very busy during happy hour and extremely pricey, lots of other bars nearby for food or drink. overall we loved the vibe and staff had brilliant attitudes and local knowledge. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend the hotel, if you are ok with no gym and conti breakfast you cant go wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

I. LOVE. THIS. PLACE.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right next to Times Square and good food. Love it.
My husband and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. This hotel bent over backwards for us making this milestone a memorable event. We love this hotel. Posh. Friendly. Good food. Good service. Comfy beds. Good location. Carissa and Mike
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Toronto, Canada

Litterally a "Sanctuary" in a Hectic City!!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Everything. From the Staff to the Room to the whole atmospehere.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located in Midtown, it is steps away from Times Square, great resturants, shopping and entertainment
Our stay at Sanctuary Hotel New York was amazing. We will have nothing but good memories to last us until we return...and we will DEFINITLY return to this hotel. From the time of our arrival to seconds from our departure, every single individual who worked in this hotel was friendly, kind, courteous and a pleasure to deal with. Most people do not remember their hotel stay after their vacation is over, but after staying here, we will never forget the incredible service we received. The price was resasonable and well worth what was receivd in return. Room came with continental breakfast, which was great and free wifi...what more can you ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Africa

Good Place next to Times Square

Posted Jun 23, 2014
It was a good find right next to the Times Square. It wasn't overly priced also. The rooms was very small like you would expect anywhere in Manhattan. the hotel staff was very friendly and had good advise to share. It is 2 times walking from Times Square which is a plus..all the happening stuff is around this...so saves commute if you stay anywhere else..walk to central park is 20 min from here...so location wise perfect..i just wish rooms were bigger..but other than that..perfect place for a couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK

Honeymoon Luxury!

Posted May 11, 2013
Pros: Location, Staff, Room and Haven Rooftop Bar
Cons: Building Work in Progress
Location: A minute from Times Square!!
An excellent choice for a bit of luxury right in the centre of Midtown a stones throw from Times Square. We stayed a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon, the staff were excellent going out of their way to help. Rooms were modern and stylish and very comfortable, the only downside while we were there was that the hotel is having some building work, however it didn't really impact on us other than seeing workers in the lobby and restaurant areas. Everyone should have a drink in the Haven rooftop bar great views!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Parham from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Location location location

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: Location, extremely clean, and friendly staff
Cons: Small room. very basic breakfast.
Location: Location is amazing. only half block away from times square.
My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days. At the first impression you would think that the room is extremely small but you'll get used to it. The staff are amazing, never seen such awesome staff in any hotel before. Our room didn't have a tub but the shower is pretty impressive. Don't expect much from the breakfast. We had breakfast at the hotel only once, cause there are so many brunch options in the city. The location is great and is exactly half a block away from times square. The is also a pub at the rooftop. I would say it is worth trying. One other thing is that the lobby and the hallways are very dark but you'll get used to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malky from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Great location friendly staff!

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms are relatively small but this is to be expected in such a central location
Location: Perfect
We Stayed at sanctuary for 5 nights. The first thing to note is the excellent location, it is only half a block from Times Square and allows easy access to all the main attractions. Secondly, the name of the hotel is very appropriate as it is a really calming environment, essential to escape from the rush of midtown Manhatten. The staff were very attentive and the STAR concierge service was excellent, helping out whenever asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
very friendly atmosphere!!!