Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Perfect location near Times Square.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The roof top bar was very nice and cozy
Loved the Sanctuary Hotel. The room was a tad small but the overall experience was very pleasant. Staff is nice and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was an unexpected treat. And for a weekend in NYC to attend the Theater it was a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Croton NY

Small rooms but clean and convenient

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Very small rooms but very clean and nice staff. Convenient to all Broadway shows. The light switches and thermostats are not intuitive but that should not make or break your decision to stay there. I give it a 4 on 5 only because it's a small room. They made sure we were satisfied with our stay. I'd recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The location
Location: We went to two shows nearby and walked to Rockefeller Center and also enjoyed the Museum of Modern Art
Great location for theatre-goers! Stylish decor. Rooms were very small, but the accommodations were very modern, up to date and clean. Also, a very generous complimentary breakfast. We had dinner at the 9th floor rooftop restaurant - very expensive for what we got, but it was fun to be eating "outside" in January. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was nice to have the parking discounted from the lot across the street. All in all, we will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Almost perfect.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Location, décor, service.
Cons: Room size.
Location: One block off of Times Square, 3 blocks from Rockefeller Center, close to Broadway theaters & restaurants, 1-5 block walk from several subway stops.
My daughter and I came to NYC for 3 days of fun and we loved this hotel. The location is fantastic. It's close to everything--Times Square, Rockefeller Center and the Theater District. The staff was superb--every person we encountered was friendly and provided top notch service. The free breakfast was wonderful and the rooftop bar is very cool. It has a boutique feel to it and the décor is hip & chic. The only complaint is that the room we were assigned was so tiny that it was nearly impossible for 2 people (with luggage) to move around. The closet was tiny and there was no dresser so the only choice was to live out of our suitcases--there really was nowhere to put the suitcases except on the floor which left no room to walk. There was also a noticeable tear on the large pleather headboard. We asked for a larger room which we got on nights 2 & 3. It was still quite small but we had just enough extra room to be able to move around without tripping over each other. We had to put one suitcase on the desk in order to get to it without using precious floor space. If you travel light, don't mind a very cozy room and want to stay in the heart of the action this hotel is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BFF NewYork Trip

Posted Jan 14, 2015
I can not say how wonderful my experience at Sanctuary hotel, the minute we walked in we were treated wonderfully!! ALL of the help was super nice and helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful and very calm, great location to the theatre and Times Square. The room was much better than I expected, the beds and comforters were all super lush and comfortable. Nice bathroom! The breakfast every day was fresh and light and perfect, refreshing water and coffee were always in the lounge. This will be the only place I stay when I come to NY!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Croton NY

It's a CLOSET with no temperature control

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Convenient to Broadway shows
Cons: Give us a real room for our $ and not a CLOSET.
It's a CLOSET - not a room. Thermostat broken - staff was apologetic but did nothing - no partial refund, no meal coupon, nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, Excellent Staff, Good Hotel!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly/helpful staff
Cons: room size very small
Location: Times square 2minute walk away! Rockefeller 5mins walk!
Good stay, staff were nice and the location was great! Room size was very small, and with a few bags in the rooms, seemed very clogged up. Otherwise clean and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom United Kingdom

Really nice, boutique style hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The roof top bar and restaurant was a "place to be" in this area and well worth a visit. All in all, a very "grown up" hotel.
Cons: Breakfast was a bit basic.
Location: So close to times square you are perfectly placed, but off the main street enough that it is not disruptive.
Staff and atmosphere here could not have been better. It felt like my home from home whilst I was there. without exception, the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the STAR concierge service took care of all of our needs efficiently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic Getaway!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Decor, Staff, Food, Location, Price, pretty much everything.
Cons: The sink, picky I know, it splashes if you use to much water pressure. My view out the window was a brick wall (but it's New York, get out there).
Location: Great location - Only a few blocks from Rockefeller Center, Time Square, 5th Avenue, Macy's. Parking Garage right across the street.
My wife has always wanted to see the Tree Lighting in New York. So, I found a hotel in close proximity to Rockefeller Center. We only spent one night so we did not see a lot of sights. However the Hotel is beautiful, especially when decorated for Christmas. Since this was our first stay in New York I wanted a nice hotel that also had nice dinning in or close to the hotel. The Room - although small (it's New York what do you expect, space is expensive) it met all our needs. The bed was very comfortable, shower pressure was good (rain fall shower head) and never wanted for hot water (I like a hot shower), bathroom was fine nothing to write home about. Staff - Pretty amazing! Super friendly, ask and you will get an answer or pointed in the right direction. Food - We ate at the downstairs restaurant. It was a little pricey but wow was the food excellent. We made it at the right time because it was booked from 5pm on. Seems to be a popular spot with people who are not staying at the hotel. So that speaks volumes about the food. Location - See below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendliest Staff we have ever experienced!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
From the doorman who opened the door upon arrival to the man who helped carry our luggage out the door upon departure we have never experienced such a friendly, helpful and lovely staff. The hotel itself is beautiful - rooms are small, but not unexpected for New York. The breakfast is great with a lot of options. The staff had found out that it was our daughter's birthday and went out of their way to make it spectacular. They sent her a pack of truffles and a card signed by the whole staff, and sang to her with delicious NY Cheesecake. The moment we left we started planning ut next trip to the Sanctuary. It is SO close to everything - Broadway, Rockafeller Center and Times Square are minutes away walking.