Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Times Square comfort

Posted Jul 31, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel. It is a great location if you want to be in the Times Square/Broadway show area. The continental breakfast is plentiful, the coffee is excellent, and the restaurant is expensive but has great sushi and food. The rooftop bar was fun as well. My only complaint was the room was very small, smaller than the first time I stayed there. Our bed was supposed to be a queen size but also felt smaller, and our shower and sink were literally in our bedroom, with only a pocket door for toilet privacy. I am ready to move on from Times Square, and I think next time I'll check out the Chelsea area to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sanctuary Hotel makes you really feel welcome

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The personal touch, great food, and welcoming approach
Cons: The hotel was noisy due to the popular restaurants, but I think there is little that could be changed about that, and you expect it in a city
Location: It's yards away from Times Square & the Rockefeller Centre plus the subway stations going everywhere else.
The staff were brilliant, really welcoming and helpful, all the way through the hotel from the breakfast staff to the concierge. We ate at both restaurants, and the food was exceptional. The roof restaurant was really busy though. But the food and the cocktails made the crush worthwhile to us. I was at a conference in the giant Marriott around the corner, and the difference with the Sanctuary Hotel couldn't be more marked. I came to know the staff personally and the door staff always greeted you with a warm smile and personal comment, while the reception staff helped us discover the best places to go and things to see. The room was also really spacious and the beds really comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel located very close to Broadway!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great hotel. Staff was incredible. Wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Only steps away from Times Square and Threatre. The staff were brilliant. The roof top bar/restaurant was a perfect place to enjoy the skyline after a show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bei Berlin

Schönes,kleines Hotel am Times Square

Posted Jul 18, 2015
-kleines Hotel direkt um die Ecke vom TimeSquare -sehr netter Empfang -tolle Aussicht vom Dach -inkl.Frühstück(typ.amerikanisch) aber ausreichend -Zimmer sehr klein,aber ausreichend -Sauberkeit hervorragend -empfehlenswert
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Had a great stay only con was the size of the room but it's Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A true Sanctuary Haven in a great location.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
The new restaurant is a great addition to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I had a delux king room. It was clean and very stylish. The bed was very comfortable. It's a little small but I would still return. The quality of service and cleanliness was immaculate. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They offered free complimentary wifi and continental breakfast. The breakfast had a very good variety. They also had the option of adding got items such as eggs and bacon and Waffels for a charge. The shower was gorgeous. It was see through glass, if you wanted privacy you can pull back the curtain. The room was quite. I didn't hear any noise from anyone or anything while in the room other than door opening and closing. I also requested a rollaway bed last minute for my sister that came over for a night, they where able to accomadate. I Originally booked the stay for 2 nights. I loved it so much I called the front desk and booked an extra night. Overall it's by far one of the best hotel. I would recommend it to any and everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr hübsch und modern, aber nicht cool

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Waren 7 Tage da und Personal war immer freundlich und hilfsbereit und kompetent. Ausstattung individuell , leider war nur die Klima Anlage laut und wummerte , so dass wir sie nachts ausschalteten. Zimmer sauber und gepflegt, modern , nichts olles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The Sanctuary Review

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location, Service, Staff
Cons: Noise, offensive odor (9th floor)
Location: Times Square, Broadway, Museums, The Rock, Diamond District, Subways, Central Park
First impression was the staff, amazing doormen, front desk and concierge - FIRST CLASS!! The hotel is dark and sexy. The rooms are small (to be expected). Our room, 904 was on the top floor on the back side of the hotel. We had a partial view of the lights from Times Square. There was a musty odor in the hallway on the way to the room. There was some noise from Haven, on the rooftop, but not too bad it not an issue. The noise from a compressor (or something) one particular night was awful preventing sleep, on for 5 minutes/off for 5 minutes. I would recommend, although I will stay elsewhere on my next visit, just for a new experience in a different area of Manhattan.