Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in excellent location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything - the continental breakfast was an excellent inclusion.
Cons: Hours for the rooftop bar
Lovely boutique hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Only negative thing that could be said was that the rooftop bar seemed to close early - even for residents. If you wished to stay out longer you were directed to Langhams the Irish bar a few doors up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
This is a fantastic hotel, first timers to New York and had no idea where to stay but having read the reviews on trip adviser decided to book this hotel. It fully deserves all the plaudits on trip adviser and it`s ranking in the New York Hotels, location is wonderful for Times Square, 5th Avenue only a few blocks away, and the Rockefeller Centre is even closer. Central Park is a few blocks north. Close to the theatre district and with the Metro only a couple off blocks down everything is literally on your door step. Friendly staff and the twins on the front door security always had a smile on their face even in the sub zero temperatures..Really nice complimentary continental breakfast, we used room service from the Haven Rooftop bar and the White Bread Pizza was lovely. We also received an artisan cheese platter as a thank you for choosing their hotel on our final night... how nice:-) Can`t rate this hotel highly enough will definitely stay here again. Difficult to believe all these rave review?? We did until we got there. Thanks Sanctuary Hotel for a lovely say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hôtel accueillant

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Emplacement idéal, central. Chambre petite mais très confortable. Excellent rapport qualité/prix. Personnel accueillant, souriant et disponible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

amazing staff, central location

Posted Feb 9, 2015
The staff at this hotel were incredibly friendly and always willing to offer advice and assistance to enhance my stay in NY. Hotel was clean and cosy, easy walk to many attractions. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and service!

Posted Feb 6, 2015
The S.T.A.R. Managers assist you in everything you need in order to make your stay special and unique. The service they provide is first class! We satyend there as part of our Honeymoon trip and receive a bottle of champagne on the house! All the staff is there to help you as well with a high service standard. The restaurant Tender has an avocado fries that you will never taste anywhere else! The rooms are not very big but comfortable enough and with great sense of design. You will not regret staying at Sanctuary Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Great find

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Decent continental breakfast, rooms are compact but tasteful and clean. Concierge service very helpful and knowledgable....
Cons: Hotel could benefit from a small business center
Location: Very central and only steps away from Times Square, public transportation, Broadway theaters, yet amazingly quiet....
Great small boutique hotel in central location, hotel rooms are compact but that's not unusual for NYC. Comfortable with good service... Can recommend and would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great staff; most rooms are tiny; noisy.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Staff, breakfast included in room rate, location, gym passes to Equinox.
Cons: Sound proof doors / walls between room and hallway.
Location: Great access to Time Square, Broadway, Rockefeller, midtown.
Pros: Great staff, breakfast included in room rate, good location, great to get free gym passes to Equinox at Rockefeller Center. Cons: Haven rooftop lounge/club is a hassle for guests: noise, lines at elevators/sharing elevators. Most rooms are tiny: about 2-3 feet around bed, no desk, tiny shower. I didn't mind small room as a solo traveler. Rooms are noisy, you can hear between rooms and the hallway. Sound seems to pour through the door, hearing housekeeping and hallway guests and elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Great hotel near theaters

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Staff was pleasant,enjoyed the atmosphere,and proximity to theaters, food, and transit. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roma

Una settimana a New York

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Posizione, personale
Cons: Pulizia delle camere
Location: Times Square a pochi metri
Posizione perfetta, due passi da Times Square e dalla metropolitana. Camera spaziosa, doccia grande, ma pulizia approssimativa nonostante le mance lasciate (abbiamo trovato anche un vecchio calzino). Personale molto gentile, preciso ed efficiente. Colazione abbondante, ristorante per la cena di ottima qualità a prezzi medio-alti. Un'osservazione solo il giorno del rientro, in cui ci hanno fatto attendere oltre mezz'ora per un taxi (avevamo chiesto un giallo con flate rate per JFK) di un loro amico, che poi si è rifiutato di accettare la carta di credito, oppure voleva un'extra mancia di altri 10 dollari.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ticks all the boxes.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Perfect location, not far from broadway theaters and Times Square. Very friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast is lovely and the rooms were ultra comfortable. We would book to stay here again.