Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

First B&B experience

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The room, Debbie and the proximity to some cool places to eat and the subway was 5 minutes away.
Cons: Debbie couldn't find our room key so we only had a key for the front door. Would have liked a key for our room but no biggie.
Location: There is a nice little café right at the corner of Macon & Nostrand. Or walk down to Fulton the subway is right there or walk along Fulton to Outpost
This was our first time staying in a B&B. Wasn't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised and happy we chose to stay here instead of a typical hotel. The room was big, the bed was comfy and there was plenty of room to store our clothes. There was also a little area in the room tucked to the side with a private sink (the shared bathroom was just outside our door but we were the only ones on our floor for the duration of our stay). All in all the room was well decorated and we felt right at home. The house is on a quiet street in a fun part of Brooklyn. What really made our stay there great was our host Debbie. She was so welcoming and really makes you feel right at home. I really wasn't sure what it would be like staying at a b&b....but as she put it, "it's your home!"... and it really did feel that way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredonia, NY

Great Conversations, Interesting Ambience

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The owner's treatment of her guests, closeness to the subway, food and historic ambience.
Cons: Lighting in the room is very dark (using all lights available), but not a problem.
Location: Close to the A express line, not far from the weekend Brooklyn flea market and other Brooklyn landmarks.
Reading previous reviews, it's apparent that Debbie has listened to reviewers' comments. Extra towels, wash cloths, lotions, etc. are all provided (not that I was looking for that, but I did note that people had complained about this). My stay was very pleasant (Green Room) with air conditioning and ceiling fan as a respite to the summer's heat. Breakfast was served every day and I enjoyed conversations with Debbie and other travelers. She looks out for her guests and if you ask, she will help you. I loved sitting out at her backyard table in the morning, how conveniently close the B&B was to the subway stop, and the uniqueness of the place. There is a sink in the room with a toothbrush holder. If you are someone who enjoys adventure when you travel, talking to other travelers, and learning about the area and your host, you will enjoy this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Australia

Great value

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Wonderful host, location, value
Cons: better wifi reception on 2nd floor
Location: all night pizza place near the subway was very tasty late at night after a few beers
I had a great time in this B&B and would recommend it. The room was clean and comfy. The shared bathroom was excellent. The host was a delight and I wish I had been a bit more sociable and woken up in time for breakfast at least once (my fault :)) or been there for the jazz gigs. The location was great as it was only 5 mins walk to the subway and decent little shopping district. The only downsides were the wifi didn't work amazingly on the 2nd floor although on the ground floor it was very quick. Also the key to my room couldn't be found but all the other guests were nice and nothing was missing. Overall I would definitely rate this B&B as excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pam from Boston

Best place in Brooklyn!

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I loved it-- much better than our last NY stay in a hotel in Manhattan-- loved the neighborhood, great proximity to museums, and Debbie -and Spencer- both helped us out, made our stay that much better. A real neighborhood, in a beautiful brownstone, and a place worth getting to know. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Phoenix from USA

A More Authentic Brooklyn

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Debbie was a delightful host. I enjoyed meeting her friends and other guests in the hotel. Breakfasts were very well prepared and Debbie is a good cook. There was genuine concern about helping me see interesting sights in Brooklyn and this bed and breakfast was located close to the subway line. I felt I saw a real cross-section of many Brooklyn neighborhoods with the many places I traveled. I feel I saw a more authentic Brooklyn by staying here and I only scratched the surface with my short stay. I would love to come back for a Jazz night on either Friday or Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brownstone Jazz and Debbie

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: Some of the locks/keying system need upgrades.
Location: Subway is close and Barclays is 1.7 mi away.
Near the Barclay's center-we were there for the A10 tourney but we blundered into an experience that enriched my life and changed my attitude towards Bed-Stuy and Jazz. I now like them both-and Debbie is the consummate in gracious hostesses. It's an experience I wouldn't have wanted to miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Pittsburgh

Great place. Beautiful brownstone.

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The warmth of the welcome and the character of the furnishings. The availability of fine music was a terrific plus on a cold winter night. Great jazz!
Cons: Locks and handles on doors.
Location: The weather was miserable so I didn't see much of the neighborhood. I love walking the Brooklyn Bridge every time I come to NYC.
The stay was memorable. The evening of jazz in the salon on Friday night was of a very high quality. The warmth of the owner Debbie Mac was genuine and heartfelt. The place has a lot of character. The subway stop is nearby so access to Manhattan was easy. I'd stay again without question. Charlie Mac from Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philip from Fort Worth, TX

Absoutely the BEST

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The people I met and the staff. The jazz band on Friday & Saturday was terrific. It was just great, gave me a chance to meet the real New Yorker's.
Cons: Not much, I went to have a good time, and experience how people really lived in New York. This was it!
Location: Let Debbie arrange for transportation, taxis, Prospect Park, best local restaurants, let Debbie show you how to have fun.
Greeted by a wonderful staff, rooms were clean, just a fun place to stay. Debbie, the hostess, was relentless is helping us get around New York, getting us transportation, fixing us breakfast, facilitating social interaction with other guests from around the world. And, introducing us to her many friends and neighbors. We asked her where we could get the best pizza in New York, and she told us about this restaurant which did not even have a sign on the restaurant. Their only advertising was by word of mouth. When we got there, the restaurant was packed with local fun people, eating New York's best Pizza. For this ol' Texas boy, I would not think of staying any where else when visiting New York. Much more fun than staying in a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B, great atmosphere, good facilities.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Portland, OR

Great Neighborhood Stay!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The decor was lovely, always something interesting to look at; we really loved Debbie's lively, open and generous spirit that came through in it all!
Location: Nightly jazz right in the house was great and the location near a subway station made it possible to do lots of exploring on our own.
We loved feeling part of the Bed-Stuy Brooklyn neighborhood that Sankofa Aban afforded. Treks to the city were easy, since this B &B was very close to a subway station. Debbie totally tailored breakfasts to our tastes and time needs, rather than us having to meet her schedule. She was a pleasant, upbeat and helpful host. She has clearly put a lot of thought and love into the establishment and we remarked over and over how lucky we felt to be out of the usual cookie-cutter hotel stay, and really getting a taste of Brooklyn. The nightly jazz was an unexpected treat and the perfect capper to each day of sight-seeing.