Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Australia

Great value

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Wonderful host, location, value
Cons: better wifi reception on 2nd floor
Location: all night pizza place near the subway was very tasty late at night after a few beers
I had a great time in this B&B and would recommend it. The room was clean and comfy. The shared bathroom was excellent. The host was a delight and I wish I had been a bit more sociable and woken up in time for breakfast at least once (my fault :)) or been there for the jazz gigs. The location was great as it was only 5 mins walk to the subway and decent little shopping district. The only downsides were the wifi didn't work amazingly on the 2nd floor although on the ground floor it was very quick. Also the key to my room couldn't be found but all the other guests were nice and nothing was missing. Overall I would definitely rate this B&B as excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brownstone Jazz and Debbie

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: Some of the locks/keying system need upgrades.
Location: Subway is close and Barclays is 1.7 mi away.
Near the Barclay's center-we were there for the A10 tourney but we blundered into an experience that enriched my life and changed my attitude towards Bed-Stuy and Jazz. I now like them both-and Debbie is the consummate in gracious hostesses. It's an experience I wouldn't have wanted to miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Pittsburgh

Great place. Beautiful brownstone.

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The warmth of the welcome and the character of the furnishings. The availability of fine music was a terrific plus on a cold winter night. Great jazz!
Cons: Locks and handles on doors.
Location: The weather was miserable so I didn't see much of the neighborhood. I love walking the Brooklyn Bridge every time I come to NYC.
The stay was memorable. The evening of jazz in the salon on Friday night was of a very high quality. The warmth of the owner Debbie Mac was genuine and heartfelt. The place has a lot of character. The subway stop is nearby so access to Manhattan was easy. I'd stay again without question. Charlie Mac from Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philip from Fort Worth, TX

Absoutely the BEST

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The people I met and the staff. The jazz band on Friday & Saturday was terrific. It was just great, gave me a chance to meet the real New Yorker's.
Cons: Not much, I went to have a good time, and experience how people really lived in New York. This was it!
Location: Let Debbie arrange for transportation, taxis, Prospect Park, best local restaurants, let Debbie show you how to have fun.
Greeted by a wonderful staff, rooms were clean, just a fun place to stay. Debbie, the hostess, was relentless is helping us get around New York, getting us transportation, fixing us breakfast, facilitating social interaction with other guests from around the world. And, introducing us to her many friends and neighbors. We asked her where we could get the best pizza in New York, and she told us about this restaurant which did not even have a sign on the restaurant. Their only advertising was by word of mouth. When we got there, the restaurant was packed with local fun people, eating New York's best Pizza. For this ol' Texas boy, I would not think of staying any where else when visiting New York. Much more fun than staying in a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B, great atmosphere, good facilities.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Portland, OR

Great Neighborhood Stay!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The decor was lovely, always something interesting to look at; we really loved Debbie's lively, open and generous spirit that came through in it all!
Location: Nightly jazz right in the house was great and the location near a subway station made it possible to do lots of exploring on our own.
We loved feeling part of the Bed-Stuy Brooklyn neighborhood that Sankofa Aban afforded. Treks to the city were easy, since this B &B was very close to a subway station. Debbie totally tailored breakfasts to our tastes and time needs, rather than us having to meet her schedule. She was a pleasant, upbeat and helpful host. She has clearly put a lot of thought and love into the establishment and we remarked over and over how lucky we felt to be out of the usual cookie-cutter hotel stay, and really getting a taste of Brooklyn. The nightly jazz was an unexpected treat and the perfect capper to each day of sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Saskia from Washington DC

good place to stay

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I liked the place. It was perfect for what I needed, a place to sleep.The room was comfortable. I did not eat breakfast there,but it smelled good on my way out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

B and B in Bed-Stuy

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Debbie the owner is such a nice lady and the food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ALLEYNE from ATLANTA, GA

OUTSTANDING!!!

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Literally- right around the corner from the Subway Station!!!
Where should I begin- Oh yeah... upon my arrival Debbie (the owner) came to my rescue!!! She took on the cab driver who attempted to overcharge me for the ride from the airport- She was "Not Having It" I knew right then and there- I was in the Right Place!!! Sankofa Aban is a magical ... upon entering i felt transported to another Place and Time- Such Character and History... The Havana Room- Simply Beautiful! Whatever you do- Please DO NOT miss Brownstone Jazz on Friday and Saturday Nights!!! Oh what a Glorious Experience- I attended both nights... It's just that GOOD (plus there is a Fish Fry ya'll) The Caliber of Performers was simply Outstanding- easily worth five times the price of admission. What a Gift!!! Sankofa Aban is an Experience that i will NEVER FORGET- I felt Safe and Cared for at all times... Money well Spent!!! Oh- and a Shout Out to Nelson... Thank you for an Impeccably Clean room and your Sweet disposition.
1 out of 5
by Female from OK

mis-represented on web

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: The one redeeming quality was the wonderful morning breakfasts prepared by the owner usually an hour or two later than the advertised 9:00 am serving.
Cons: Scrub every square inch of the building, and ad a few amenities common to American hotels such as a coffee pot or hot pot so one could have a cup of t
Location: The location as I mentioned earlier is not integrated. It did have some interesting ethnic shops one Jamaican carry out had delicious take out.
I searched for and found this B & B on the web and from the information on the site it sounded like an old restored brownstone owned by a third generation child of the original owner. It pains me to give this B & B a bad rating as the owner is a lovely person. The state of the building is not lovely. The building is dinghy, in a state of disrepair and covered by decades of grime. It is located in a neighborhood that while interesting is not integrated. There are absolutely no facilities for disabled persons. One has to go up the tortuous steep front steps enter the building only to have to climb another two or three flights of stairs. There is only one small window air conditioning unit in the room, the bedding felt more than dirty, in the bathroom, which has to be shared, there are no towels, the shower barely works and runs hot one minute and cold the next. The bathroom window and the room windows of the room I occupied face down into a courtyard that looked like something out of a Stephen King novel. It could have been lovely if it had been cleaned up. In fact the whole place is in need of a pressure washing. All of the curtains throughout the building are badly in need of a good washing and all the floors need to be scrubbed and waxed. The lighting is practically non existent all the rooms are dark and dinghy, There are absolutely no amenities as are commonly found in other American hotels such as a coffee pot or a place to heat hot water, etc.