Ratings based on 2,636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Nothing special but alright at value price

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location, advance online check in
Cons: Upgrade the in room amenities
Chose this for low seasonal price and location ( midtown east side). Nothing distinguishes it really from other similar hotels: no special amenities (bath robes apparently on request only, no sample shampoos , grooming aids or courtesy waters etc). The TVs are relatively small . Double beds were however a nice size. The wine and cheese hour literally that, missed it. I did like online check in and they honored my room choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RI

Excellent Value, Great Location

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, the room, and price.
Cons: Newer furniture
We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We picked it because it was near the East River Ferry (our son lives near the Williamsburg dock), but it is also just a few blocks from Grand Central, and the subway. Our room was large by NYC standards. The bed was great although some of other furniture was a little run down. We also appreciated the complimentary newspapers and in-room coffee makets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Location. Room size. Cleanliness.
Cons: Maintaining the hotel modem. More personal touches in the decor.
Location: Close to Grand Central and subway stops. Close to local restaurants and grocery stores. Walking distance to both Empire/Chrysler buildings.
Location is the best thing about this hotel. It's close to Grand Central, the Theater District, and local food stores and restaurants. I stayed in two different one bedroom suites, each with a different floor plan. The change of room was handled very professionally. On the down-side, The Affinia upgrade of this hotel has gotten old fast. Huge floor lamps are already bent to one side. The carpets are looking past their age. Cold, big-framed 'art' works hang lifelessly on the walls to fill up space. One of the suites had an ample-sized bathroom, the other did not. If you have the chance, the best thing is to see what you're getting first in person, once you've arrived. On the plus side, the rooms are larger than most New York hotels. The staff was generally very good. But there was a connectivity issue with the internet, and some of the staff didn't seem to take an interest in the problem. I came to do a lot of work in New York, and this was particularly frustrating for me. Finally, one of the managers intervened, and this helped a lot. But the connection issues still remained until the day I checked out. All in all, I gave this hotel 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Shelburne Hotel: Beautiful

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The staff was extremely amicable and accomodating. The location was ideal and I'll most certainly return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Awesome hotel - what a great, unexpected gem!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The room was large, modern and clean!
Cons: I enjoyed everything.
Location: Not far from Grand Central Station. Nice area. Numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance.
I never expected such a nice hotel, for the price!! My first question was what is wrong- and that is farthest from the truth!! First, the front desk staff were very friendly, attentive and professional. My room was huge by NYC standards, with a King bed, desk and chairs. The bathroom was small, but modern and clean, with a large shower. I was on the 3rd floor, corner area, and it could get a little noisy from Lexington just below, but not terribly unpleasant. There was happy hour in the lobby each night, which tended to get busy. 24/7 gym, although I did not take advantage of it. The attached restaurant, Rare, was excellent - burgers were delicious, salad excellent, and dessert, awesome! Make sure you go to the top of the hotel bar - spectacular view of Manhattan. I highly recommend this hotel, and will return when I am in midtown Manhattan every few months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Good value for money and nice location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Historic feel, location and hotel restaurant.
Cons: Lobby could be brightened up a little. Other than that, we were very happy.
A pleasant 10-15 minute walk to Times Square/Broadway and Macy's and only about 5-10 minutes to Grand Central Station and Bryant Park. Rockefeller Centre is about 20 minutes on foot. Staff were great here. The hotel itself is a little dark and dreary but fine if you like historic properties vs. a more modern feel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is great, too, and our fussy kids enjoyed their menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Great stay. Great staff. Nice spacious rooms. Far enough away from the bustle of the crowds but close enough to walk to all the great spots near Time Square. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

excellent location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: View of Empire State building from bedroom , quiet, convenient location.
Cons: Friendlier front desk staff. More toiletries in bathroom especially shower cap and more soap.
Location: Near Grand Central Station, Rockefellar Centre, Empire State Building, Central Park, Fifth Avenue. Scots Diner nearby for amazing breakfasts.
This hotel is in an excellent location away from the noise of Times Square but within walking distance of major sights. We were lucky to have a view of the Empire State Building from our bedrooms which was breathtaking. We didn't find some of the staff particularly friendly but don't let this put you off !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Perfect for quick work trip, easy to access!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel in a great location!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Ice buckets in the rooms
My wife & I and our 3 children had a great time in Suite #1413.