Ratings based on 1,897 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Nice but ... if it had cafeteria, would be better..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom ONT

Great last minute booking

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms - the suite was nice and there was a semi-separate living space from the bed. Great staff, pretty clean from what I saw.
Cons: No in-hotel restaurant or eating and the breakfast was a bit sad but honestly, for the price and for a quick overnight stay, it was great.
Location: Didn't get to explore since I was pretty much only there to rest my head until my flight but on the ride over we passed lots of shops and restaurants.
My flight was cancelled around 10pm from Newark Intl, and I was rebooked to the next morning. I was able to quickly book a room at a great price on my Expedia app while still in the airport. The staff directed me to the hotel shuttle area - waited about 10 min. for the next shuttle to the hotel and the drive was less than 10 min. to the hotel. Greeted by friendly staff even late at night, had my reservation right away, didn't give me any troubles and even gave me a toothbrush and toothpaste complimentary (since I hadn't intended to stay overnight). I was hungry but they said there was no restaurant in the hotel, but gave me several take-out menus that deliver to the hotel (by the time I got to my room I just passed out anyways!). There was a good snack bar with some frozen dinners and ice cream, chips, etc. and bathroom products for purchase. Woke up for my complimentary breakfast (sausage, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, tea, cereal), the fruit was very nice but I wish there was toast or pancakes or some kind of bread as well. I got there kind of late so maybe it was already gone. Nice little eating area. The man at the front desk told me the shuttle back to the airport comes every half hour (30 and 00) so I was ready and waiting. The shuttle came right on time, the driver was very friendly and dropped me off right at my terminal. Overall, very happy with my last minute stay! Thank you Springhill!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marietta, Ga

Great breakfast!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The free breakfast was the best I've had for this class of hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great, roomy rooms with all the amenities.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was quite unbelievably good. Eggs, waffles, sausage, baked goods, fruit, granola, cereal, oatmeal, juices, grits, everything!
Cons: More shuttle vans could be added.
Location: I only used it to be close by NJ transit to get into Manhattan, and for flying in and out of Newark.
I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip in New York City, because it was less expensive than four nights in Manhattan. It was well worth it, as the rooms were great, staff was great. The only slight complaint was that the shuttle bus to and from the airport wasn't super reliable. But, the staff at the hotel would always call them to make a trip, or knew exactly where, how long it would take to pick you up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room floor not cleaned in ages

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Cheap price. Free breakfast.
The floor was shockingly dirty. There were popcorn kernels and clumps of dust and other debris on the floor. Obviously the room hadn't been cleaned in a while. I also saw some hair in the beds which were supposed to be made with clean sheets. We should have asked for a new room but we were very tired and didn't want to risk having to wait to get a new room and face more aggravation that we didn't bargain for. The fact that the hotel was cheap isn't an excuse for the outright dirt clumps on the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by SHS DOS, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, On behalf of the Management and Staff of the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty, thank you for your recent stay with us. Without you and the valued opinion you provide, we would not be able to deliver the high quality and level of service that we are known for. While we hope that your stay was as pleasing and satisfying as possible, we do recognize the fact that there are times that things may not be up to our habitually high standards. Please be confident that your distress with the hygiene of your room will be meticulously deliberated with our entire Housekeeping Department. I can assure you this was an isolated incident even though I understand that is no excuse. It is our aspiration that the next time you are in the area, that you once again select the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty Hotel, thereby allowing us the opportunity to provide you with a relaxed traveling encounter. Yours truly, SHSDOS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY

Convenient

Posted Dec 16, 2014
convenient to the Newark Airport and I always like a hotel that provides a good hot breakfast as part of the cost of a nights stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick weekend trip.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location to the airport
Cons: Directions. Rather difficult to locate.
Location: Very close to downtown Newark and Manhattan
Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable. Liked additional space with sleeper sofa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phila, PA

Posted Dec 16, 2014
It was a great experience except for the fact that the pool area was under construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The room are very comfortable and the staff were professional and sensitive to my needs.
Cons: Add a wine bar :)
Location: Not much to do, but there is a shuttle to at least one real restaurant.
Excellent hotel, I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, Marriott one my favorite

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I really had a wonderful stay, front dear staff is really the best and the breakfast is really good... Will come soon.