Ratings based on 1,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

close to Times Square

Posted Apr 17, 2015
the hotel is in a good location can walk to Times Square and other sites. The one thing I was not happy with was the size of the room.it was very very small. The pictures on their site made it look bigger. There was only one table that had some items on it. Good thing we only had one piece of luggage because the only place we could put it was on the floor. The bathroom also was very small. Also the closet was small.... if you wore a long coat it would not hang straight down. We had a great time in the city along with great weather but the only downfall was the room size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large rooms near the sites and transportation

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Great location away from the hustle and bustle, but close to tourist attractions or subways to get you there. There was construction while we stayed which made the meninges a bit noisy, and our room was by the elevators, which was also a bit noisy. However, the room was very clean, modern and WAY LARGER than we expected for New York and the area we stayed in. I'd DEFINITLY return to this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Pennsylvania station

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Warm wooden accents in lobby and room are different than usual in American chain hotels, and the hotel is convenient to Penn station.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, New York

Convenient hotel, near Convention Center

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Pleasant appearance; new.
Cons: Our room was tiny; annoying. There was very limited space. Improvements could be: bedside tables on both sides of bed, light or light switch near bed.
Location: Hotel near Madison Square Garden, Convention Center, next door to Police Station. Walkable distance to Macy's, Time's Square, Empire State Building.
Felt like a New Yorker as we walked everywhere that interested us. The hotel was centrally located.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave up my room and staff could care less

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: That I don't ever have to stay there again.
Cons: Hire staff with a soul.
Take my advice, stay elsewhere. I have never complained about a service/hotel on a public forum in my life, this is a first. I booked a 3-night stay at the Tryp Wyndham because it is extremely close to my office and my flight landed at midnight and I wanted as much sleep as possible. When I arrived, I was informed they did not have a room for me, even though I booked the room a month in advance, but would call me a cab and have me stay at another "sister" hotel "nearby". "Nearby" meant 8 blocks away and "sister" hotel meant tiny subpar hotel that the cab driver couldn't find and dropped me off at the wrong hotel. The next day when I returned to the Tryp and spoke to the manager, "Humberto" or something similar, he insincerely apologized and asked me what I would like, I asked him what does he normally do in these situations, he told me "I don't know what you want, I am not in your mind". I made a couple suggestions and he told me he would talk to his General Manager. They took none of my suggestions and told me they would reimburse me one night stay. The only problem is it is 2 weeks later and I have full charges still on my card. Horrible service, horrible follow through, horrible delivery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Good location in Midtown

Posted Apr 13, 2015
This hotel would have gotten a 5 star rating had it not been for being woken up by loud construction workers inches outside our room window on a Saturday morning (especially when we were trying to sleep in). Otherwise, beautiful building, with an almost lofty feel to the rooms, with hardwood instead of carpets, high ceilings and trendy color schemes. Overall, a good place to stay for our weekend getaway in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hôtel agréable propre

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Propreté de la chambre, des sanitaires et de la salle de bain, hôtel très calme et vitrage atténuant beaucoup le bruit extérieur
Cons: Le bruit du climatiseur est horrible ! trop bruyant malgré une efficacité non négligeable.
Location: Plein centre ville, proche de Macy's, Times Square ou du Port Autorithy
Idéalement placé en centre ville prés de la station de métro 34 th Penn Station accessible depuis les lignes A, C ou E, proche de toute commodité et des activités à faire dans New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kirkland

Clean hotel close to Penn station

Posted Apr 11, 2015
very clean room. 3min to subway station and 10min to Amtrack Penn station. Breakfast is too expensive ($20) for the quality and quantity of the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Nice walk-in shower, comfortable bed, excellent location.
Cons: More efficient and comfortable furnishing and lighting.
Location: Excellent location for theatre, restaurants, and shopping.
The hotel is well located--walking distance to Time and Herald Squared and central and westside subway lines. On a side street and quiet. Comfortable bed, nice walk-in shower. Keurig coffee maker. Good elevator service. My standard queen room was very sparsely furnished--bed, small wardrobe, and a desk with a dinette chair. No drawers--had to store my socks in the safe. All of the lighting was on one side of the room. Bathroom mirror lighting more decorative than useful. No guide to hotel services--didn't know there was a gym until my last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Apr 6, 2015
great location great staff great stay book expedia vip and received nice upgrade