Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
This hotel was nice but is located down a dirty street with smelly bin bags everywhere. I will not return to NYC as I found it very dirty overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern design, great location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Modern design, great location, friendly staff, lovely balcony on 12th floor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Tryp by Wyndham Times Square south

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable, location
Cons: Organisation
Location: Times Square, Macy's, Empire State, penn station, Maddison sq garden
Arrived at 4.45 after a 2 hour train journey to be told our room was not ready, when check in time was 3pm. Offered no. Explanation or anything else just told to wait. We were told it would be 20 minutes and 45 minutes later we were still waiting. Not good enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel, was very hip

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby area is great. It was a hip nice hotel that looked like a casual hangout with a bar, food, cafe, computers and a big lounge area and TVs.
Cons: 1) I asked bar man where my room was on the 1st floor he told me to take the elevator, wrong! 2) window in my room was boarded up wish they told me.
Location: Great that Penn Station was close for transportation to airport.
I loved that the staff was nice, I was allowed early check-in. Only gripes because I could not fit it in the improvement section was: 1) I had a room on the first floor, the receptionist guy let me know where but for some reason I went down the wrong hall so I asked one of the guys by the kitchen and showed him my room # on first floor and he told me to take the elevator, WRONG! Luckily a nice worker upstairs showed me where my room was. The kitchen guy was very unhelpful. 2) I wish they told me the window in my room was boarded up on the outside, I guess there was construction they didn't want anyone to see but I wished the front desk told me. It was pitch dark in there at all times and it felt all day like I was in a dungeon. I would've rather had outside light come in and see the construction than be in pitch dark. 3) All 3 remotes in my room did not work, I called the front desk who said they would send someone to take a look, waited for all hours and they didn't come so I just went to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Ok hotel for the price, good location

Posted Jul 14, 2015
This is a conveniently located hotel, close enough to the action of the city but in a quite street next to the police station. The decor is modern and rooms clean. The price is fair for a New York hotel, but I wouldn't rate it 4.5 stars but rather plain 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from München, Bayern

Preiswert für die Verhätnisse in NY

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Das 2m breite Kingsize-Bett und die zentrale Lage waren Top!
Cons: Leisere Klimaanlagen in den Zimmern würden dem Komfort deutlich erhöhen.
Location: In der Nähe der Penn-Station, von hier aus kommt man mit der U-Bahn überall hin. Wenn man aus NY raus will startet hier auch der regionale Zug.
Wir waren in einem Doppelzimmer mit King-Size Bett untergebracht, das Zimmer war nicht übermäßig groß aber recht gut eingerichtet und im wesentlichen sauber. Eine Negativpunkt war die laute Klimaanlage. Diese scheppernden Dinger sind nach meiner Erfahrung eine typische Krankheit von US-Hotels, zum Glück könnte man diese Klimaanlage nachts abstellen. Die Lobby fand ich persönlich nicht besonders ansprechend, aber ich denke das ist Geschmackssache. Es war mal wieder unmöglich eine zweite Bettdecke zu bekommen, anscheinend ist diese Ansinnen in den USA total exotisch. Für den Preis war die Unterkunft aber insgesamt gut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guaynabo, PR

Trendy hotel, nice clean room, convenient location

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I stayed here last time I went to NYC and the best feature of this hotel is its location right next to the subway Penn station and very close to Macy's. If you're going to use the subway to move around the city, this hotel is in the perfect spot. Also, the room was very clean and the had a great bathroom. Check-in and check-out was very easy. My only negative comment is that they gave us a smaller room this time around than last time although we made the exact same reservation. The room that we stayed in had no problems but we were still a little disappointed when we walked in to the room the first day as it was not what we were expecting. Other than that, we were very satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

close to Garden

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: rooms are clean and comfortable. staff are great
Cons: nothing
Location: Madison Square Garden is around the block
perfect location to attend event at Garden. have stayed here before and room and staff were excellent as they were last time I stayed. also very convenient parking across the street. definitely would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good option for NYC

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Attention to detail - as noted above
We stayed here over the July 4 weekend. The hotel is conveniently located and has been recently renovated and so it is in good shape. But the details make the hotel and this hotel missed on details. First, the wifi is horrible. At best, we would get 2 bars and so basic functions like email and facebook were slow and surfing the net was impossible. Second, on the mirror, someone had written "Welcome XXX", presumably a message to a previous guest. You would think they would erase that when the guest checked out, but apparently not. Kind of makes you wonder what else they missed in the room after check out. Third, the black out blinds don't go all the way across the window, letting in a stream of light right at the head of the bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

The hotel is new but very, very noisy.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: close to the metro and downtown; reasonable price; clean
Cons: please do something with the noise..
I will have to first say that I travel A LOT. I have traveled many places in the States and in Asia, Europe, Central America, and Australia. I have stayed hundreds hotels so far. Among, all these, this hotel has the highest noise level. Here are some details: 1) The hotel has hardwood floor and metal chairs with no rug at all. I get that this keeps the floor clean. However, you will hear every move of the chair from your upstairs and the sound of heels and stumping around. 2) Some hotel rooms are connected to each other via doors in between two units. These doors have zero noise proof capability. You will be able to hear snoring, flushing, talking, laughing, TV and other noises. 3) Even the noises from other units that are you connected via the in-between doors will be all audible. 4) Some units have A/Cs with very loud noise. I stayed at #806. The unit #805 is connected with those doors. I recommend you to immediately reject checking in that unit by all means. I also had hard time because of the noise from #807. Someone was knocking on the door non-stop. After one sleepless night, feeling like a zombie, I complained. This was THE very first time I had to move my room in the middle of stay. They moved me to #1406. This unit was not connected to the next unit, but the A/C was making industrial level of noise. I don't understand how this hotel got this high satisfaction rate. Probably I was the only unlucky one. Hope this review helps.