Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic aspect of the hotel gave a cool vibe

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: Matilda, the cat, could have a better attitude! We went down to see her at 7am and she was in the back sleeping already!
Location: Great if you want to be right in the center of all the hubbub
Came for the weekend because of the cat and the history of the hotel...didn't get to see kitty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Spent 6 nights in a one bedroom suite at the Algonquin with our teenaged daughters. Pleasantly surprised at the size of the room given the knowledge that hotel rooms tend to be on the small side in Manhattan. The one bedroom suite was perfect for our needs as the living area is completely separate from the bedroom and had a fold down sofa bed which was fine for the girls. The hotel itself is the oldest functioning hotel in New York and although it has been modernised the owners have been careful to maintain the hotel's heritage. We were on the top floor (12th) and there were still some issues with traffic noise and the air conditioning was quite noisy but nothing which would put us off recommending the hotel. The hotel has a small gym on the second floor which which we made use of on a couple of occasions and our room had a small fridge in it which was useful for storing cold drinks and snacks. One point I would make is that we chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as we felt the price of $27 dollars per person was too much to pay given that there is a nice diner next door which we ate breakfast at for half the price. But overall we had a fantastic time at the Algonquin and I can't recommend it highly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great location and staff, clean room

Posted Jul 8, 2014
A great, historic hotel in a fantastic location. The staff are extremely friendly. Being a older hotel, our room was not large, but very clean and comfortable. However, the stand up shower is very small. A serious consideration for someone of size thinking of booking here. This would be the only negative comment. Otherwise, a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly & helpful staff, comfortable bed, free Starbucks coffee.
Location: Located in midtown Manhattan, close to Port Authority, Empire State Building, Broadway, Bryant Park, etc. Just a great location.
We loved the Algonquin, very comfortable bed, free Starbucks coffee, beautiful hotel, friendly staff. We even got to meet Matilda the cat. Good location, close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MarieD from Reading-England

Beautiful Art deco hotel two min from 5th Avenue

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere of the hotel it was like being in a film in New York in the 1940s and the location, which was perfect.
Cons: The phone system, the line was not great but this is very a minor thing.
Location: Less than 10 min walk from the Rockefeller Center, Saint Patrick Cathedral, Radio City Hall. Five minutes walk from Grand Central and Broadway.
We stayed a week between 12-18 June at the Algonquin Hotel and we highly recommend the hotel, although we would like to keep this little treasure for ourselves. We stayed for our honeymoon it was our first time in New York we felt very welcome by the staff, the room is beautifully decorated and we were pleased as we wanted to stay away from impersonal hotel chains, and it was spot on. We couldn't believe how well the hotel is located. Less than 10 min walk from the Rockefeller Center, Saint Patrick Cathedral, Radio City Hall. Five minutes walk from Grand Central and Broadway and the Theatre quarter. From the bell boy, to the housekeepers, concierge, bar manager everybody is thoughtful and very polite. The hotel is located at the corner of the 5th Avenue, not far from Barnes and Nobles, Saks... We read reviews before booking saying that the rooms were on the smaller side. For us it was perfected and did not feel crammed and we stayed a week. We stayed before in hotel chains were the rooms were big but impersonal and the staff barely spoke to us. This was completely the opposite and as a result our honeymoon was perfect. We had cocktails in the Blue Bar and it also completed the New York experience, I recommend the Mathilda cocktail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from UK

Excellent Central Midtown location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Excellent location for everything around Times Square and in the middle of everything. Rooms facing into the inner courtyard area are noisy, ventilation noise. Ear plugs provided and used. Staff friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Shovi from London

Room reeked of cigarette smoke afterr 1st night

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The Algonquin Hotel is a quaint hotel a short walk from the bright lights of Time Square. The hotel has a certain old world charm. The positives are: - Staff were friendly if a little spaced out - Excellent location Negatives are: - Ludicrously over priced - Bathrooms are tiny and not particularly clean - after the first night I came back to my room during the afternoon after it had supposedly been cleaned and the room utterly reeked of cigarette smoke. I raised this with the staff who made a token attempt to spray the room which made the room smell of bad air freshner AND cigarette smoke. I wasn't offered a change of room or compensation. Really poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Greetings and thank you for taking time to offer feedback on your recent visit to The Algonquin Hotel, we appreciate your business. We are pleased to know you found the location of the Algonquin to be very central in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and that the Algonquin team was cordial and accommodating to you during the visit. In our 112 year old building guest room and bath room size does vary with some spaces being larger than others, your particular guest room did have a typically sized bathroom. The hotel does apologize for the inconvenience that may have been caused due to the alleged detection of cigarette smoking in your room. The Algonquin is a smoke free hotel, as are most New York City hotels. Even more perplexing was that this smell was detected by you during the course of your stay, not upon your arrival to the guest room for the first time. We agree, a room change would have been a good solution and due to the hotel’s occupancy on the day in question, that option was not possible. Should you decide to stay with us again in the future, there are often competitive rates found online. Thank you again for your business. Gary J. Budge General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Sheffield, England

Central hotel ideal for all attractions

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Booked through Expedia for a 3night break. Hotel staff welcoming, courteous and helpfull. Lovely clean hotel and room with all the facilities required for a city break. Short walk into Times Square so all attractions easily accesible on foot. Only downside was the noise of extractor fans from the office block opposite, but earplugs thoughtfully provided in room, and a first class bed so sleep was not too difficult after a busy day. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by TJW from new york, NY

Too dark and not very comfortable

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Hotel staff don't speak English properly which is annoying. There are no windows looking out and the lobby is very dark and somber. The rooms are fine but they get cold even when the sit condition is off. Service is slow especially when cleaning room service. Not worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Greetings and thank you for taking time to provide The Algonquin with feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. On behalf of The Algonquin team we are humbled by your remarks and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your visit. You may have noted that your experience is not typical of what our guests find when they stay with us and we hope that you will consider a return visit in the future to give The Algonquin team another opportunity to be of service to you. Gary J. Budge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Scotland UK

A comfortable oasis in the Big Apple

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Great central hotel. Recently refurbished but keeps it's old world charm. Brilliant position for exploring the city. Times Square just round the corner. Rooms comfortable and quite big by New York standards. Very clean. No tea and coffee facilities in the room but free tea and coffee available all the time. From either business centre or next to reception. Got a great deal through expedia. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Staff really helpful too. Look out for the elusive Matilda The hotel cat. We loved our stay. It was great to come back to our comfortable room after a days exploring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David. Thank you for taking the time to post such kind feedback - I am glad you feel as though our renovation managed to keep the properties old charm. I am glad that our location, guest rooms and staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your review, and all of us here (including Matilda) look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Emma S Guest Relations Manager