Ratings based on 7,209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice, clean, but small and awkward bathroom.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: That it was older and had character.
Cons: The size and function of the bathroom. It was to small and hard to move in. It left for "no" privacy.
Location: Awesome location!! Everything was at our fingertips.
The room layout was a little unusual. The bathroom was small and hard to move in comfortably. It was an older hotel which would explain that. I would stay there again though. Great location, nice staff. It was a very charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Better than anticipated

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We found a good deal on this older hotel. I've stayed in ny a fair amount and expected a tiny room. Ours was spacious, clean and perfect for people who enjoy the city, theatre Dist, times sq and rock Ctr, museums etc. little warm with window units but fine esp since we got a bargain. Don't expect Ritz, but much better than many others. Will be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bad experience

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Decor, musky hallways, bathroms.
We had a room with a window air conditioner that was so noisy we had to turn it off. The room was in need of a make over...very old carpeting and ugly bathroom. We have stayed here a dozen times and always had a great room and stay but not this time. We are looking for another choice for our next trip to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Helpful front desk, valet parking

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, pleasant art deco appearance.
Cons: My fifteen year old son complained about paying a daily rate for WI-FI.
Location: In the heart of the theatre district and super easy to reach by mass transit.
Easy to check in, helpful bellman, car appeared promptly from valet parking when we left. The bellman stored our bags for hours after check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, New york

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Had the 16th floor corner unit had a decent view of the water and of Times Square the stag was amazing let us check out an hour late and held our bags till the evening for us the room it self was preett decent in size no complaints I would give it 4 stars only because there's no actuall room service it's delivery from nearby restaurants but other then that it's great defiantly staying again next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Price, cleanliness, comfort, LOCATION!!!
What a great find on the "Inexpensive Hotels" list! You cannot beat the location if you are in the City for sightseeing and Broadway shows, as were my daughter and I. Just steps away from the theatre, Times Square, subway stops and fabulous Hell's Kitchen restaurants, we only needed a cab when we headed back to the airport. Our room was on the back side of the 8th floor and the wait for elevators was never very long. Only steps from 8th street, walking to and from the hotel was quick, easy and well-lit as there are adorable and delicious sidewalk restaurants on the way. The doorman standing outside the building made for a secure feeling at night. Very quiet, safe, and well-kept, it was a most pleasant surprise for the price and made my daughter's first trip to NYC a fantastic one, as we were able to use the money saved on the hotel for more shows and fabulous dinners!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice quiet cozy hotel close to Broadway

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Polite and attentive staff, pleasant rooms, good view, small and quiet, good breakfast. Lobby decor is pleasing. Helpful concierge.
Cons: Window air conditioners are quite noisy, only 2 elevators can be crowded
Location: Walking distance to theater district and Central Park
Stayed one night. Rapid check-in and check-out. Love the quiet of the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire,England.

Central to everything.Staff was really friendly.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Central.
Cons: Updating.
Location: Close to nice restaurants. Time square. Broadway. Central to most places,brilliant location.
Lovely hotel,central to everything & the staff where very friendly & helpful. The downside (but I'm being picky) the rooms a little dark & in need of up dating. Would defiantly stay here again xx Thanks for having us. xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy Access with Kids

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Location: It is is the Hell's Kitchen district so fun food.
I did not find the staff very friendly off the bat. After a long flight, traveling with kids, they were anything but helpful or friendly. And the doormen were downright rude! Not helpful and LAZY!! I hate lazy when it comes to customer service. The location was great with a lot of great restaurants nearby. I loved the kitchenette. We had a weird experience when a maid attempted to enter our room late afternoon. Luckily I had put the swing lock on the door. The room had been cleaned and nothing was on the door stating "please clean" so you have to wonder why she was trying to come into our room. The rooms were nice. The concierge loved to refer us to restaurants that weren't neighbors. We tried his recommendation for pizza, and ended up loving the one he Poopooed next door. It was a good hotel but when my husband goes back in one month he will stay at another hotel. Would I go back to the Belvedere? Not likely!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, Ontario

A great 3 night visit to New York

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Perfect location. 5 minute walk to Times Square. 3 minutes to subway. Hotel staff were wonderful. A great trip.