Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable & Unique

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I had certain reservations about staying in a hostel, but The Bowery House turned out to be a terrific choice...particularly when it came to my budget. The cabins are cozy and (surprisingly) quiet. As someone who is a terribly light sleeper, noise is always a concern...but I didn't have any problems sleeping through the night here. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff on duty was nothing short of terrific. And the rooftop was the perfect place to wind down after a day traipsing around the city. Overall, I'd have to say that The Bowery House was one of the best places I've ever stayed in NYC and I look forward to a return visit in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but tiny

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Whilst the hotel is in a pretty good location, the room is very small and had no ceiling, making it pretty loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Its location is what make this hotel so attractive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to where I needed to be
Cons: The amount of female private bathrooms.
Very close to all amenities. 25 minutes walk to central park. 10 minutes walk to any other Manhattan touristic places. Advisory: Even though there are separators between the small rooms; snoring, burping... letting personal gas can be heard by other tenants. This is not for the individual who is searching for privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Unique Experience!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I'm so glad I stayed here! Also glad that I carefully read reviews so that I was perfectly prepared for what to expect: beyond-tiny rooms and smaller-than-standard beds, but updated bathrooms with wonderful showers, exceptional staff, and beautiful rooftop/lobby lounge areas. Very worth it for the price and unique experience. Doubtful you'll find anything else quite like this in the US.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Bowery House at Lower East Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The only thing I liked about this hotel was checking out
Cons: Replacing the entire building would be an improvement
Location: No comment
My only mistake was to confuse the Bowery house with the Bowery hotel. The Bowery hotel is a great location to stay in but the Bowery house on the other hand is not.This mix up is common and the Bowery house takes precautions to keep unhappy customers money by having a strict no refund policy. The rooms in the Bowery house are 6ftx3ftx7ft room made from cardboard. You can hear every movement made by people in neighboring or adjacent rooms. The hotel lobby and rooms smelled heavily of cheap whiskey. There is only one communal shower and toilet on every floor which causes a lot of lost time due to queuing to use the facilities. Unfortunately I had already booked 3 nights with them so l had to switch hotels without getting a refund. I moved to the Ramada which had the same price, better location, and to a large extent better facilities than the Bowery House. Bowery house is located in an ominous neighborhood and l honestly would never set foot there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great (but noisy) location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Staff were very friendly, the condition of the hotel was great and the location was perfect for me. Yes, the rooms were tiny but the issue I had was that most people weren't very considerate of the open concept. There were doors slamming, music playing, etc from other rooms.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kat from Richmond

Great price for area, but TINY room!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and bed are both very, very small. I am 5'2 1'2" and my feet hung off the edge of the bed. But is was the only place in Manhattan that I could find for under $100... So good price for the location as long as you don't mind sleeping in a closet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Waaaay outside of my comfort zone

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have always stayed in large hotels when traveling, so the Bowery house was a new experience for me. I was a little uncomfortable but the stay there was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The place was small but very clean and pretty quiet for the most part. I loved hanging on the roof top taking in the sights. I would recommend this place to others and I would stay there again.