Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice would stay again

Posted Apr 12, 2014
wonderfull experience would love to go back again. Magical trip from beginning to end
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from London

Box House hotel, Greenpoint, Brooklyn

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a boutique style, we had a duplex with mezzanine bedroom area which was a home from home. Hotel taxi service was fantastic!!
Cons: It wasn't in the middle of Manhattan but that was what we wanted as I had stayed in Manhattan before and wanted to see what Brooklyn was like.
Location: Williamsburg, one stop from Manhattan
In a quiet part of North brooklyn but after a 15 minute walk over the Polowski Bridge one tube stop from Grand Central. Also very near to Williamsburg, one of the highlights of our break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Central PA

Great Hotel in NYC area!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
This is my go-to hotel when visiting the NYC/Brooklyn area!! Clean, Roomy facilities, friendly staff and close to everything!! Hotel car service gets you to the subway stop or locations within 1 mile area in Brooklyn! And parking is free!! I'd never pay more to stay in a cramped hotel room and pay a fortune to park my car too!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by UK Traveller from UK

Stylish hotel with excellent staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Super helpful staff. Very stylish interiors. Great free lift service. Views over Manhattan from our room (302)
Cons: Traffic noise in our room (302) was really loud and made the whole room shake at times - things literally shuddered. Heater also very noisy.
Location: Walk down Manhattan Ave. Get coffee from Champion. Get a donut from Peter Pan. Eat at Five Leaves (great brunch) Use the East River Ferry.
We stayed here for 3 nights. We were kindly upgraded by the hotel when they found out we were in New York to get married. The appartment was great - lots of space and well equipped with a view of the Empire State and Chrysler Buildings and a lovely terrace. Staff on reception are super helpful as are the drivers the hotel uses for the complimentary short trips. We used these alot to get lifts to the pick up points for the East River Ferry and down to Williamsburg. The ferry is a great way to get from Greenpoint (where the hotel is) across to Manhattan - more scenic than the subway and takes about a half hour from the first stop in Long Island (where the driver dropped us) to the Pier 11 stop on Manhattan, near Wall Street. The area the hotel is in looks kind of rough - not dangerous rough, just industrial rough - but a walk down nearby Manhattan Ave is great with lots of local shops and good places to get coffee and eat. If you are on a first visit to NY this may not be the best place to stay as most of what you'll want to do will probably be in Manhattan. We'd been several times before and were after a different experience so this was great for that. How much you like this place will come down to how important it is for you to get to major NY sites easily. It isn't hard from The Box House but it would be easier from Manhattan. If you're after an edgier trip and location and something less obviously touristy and much more stylish this is a great place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Gloucestershire

One stop to Grand Central Station on the 7 line!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Great style and charm for a new hotel
Cons: Nothing at all!!
Location: Northern tip of Brooklyn, 1 stop to GCS, loads of bars and restaurants in Brooklyn that are walking distance
Huge rooms in a boutique hotel. We could not of wished for a better choice of hotel for all NYC has to offer. The staff were fabulous, nothing too much trouble, ever!! You can spend fortunes more, and get a Central Manhattan hotel that wont come any where near the Box House. I thought that NYC would be a once only trip, it maybe, but I will return to the Box House and explore Long Island, Brooklyn and other points of interest. Book it, you will not regret it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A definite place to stay !

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The rooms were all completely unique, they had modern contemporary furnishings, and also a collection of antique looking items placed around the room.
Cons: The bathroom needs a vent heater. The tiles are nice and perfectly spotless, but quite cold after a shower. A ceiling heater would have been perfect.
I have stayed all over the world, in the best and the worst hotels…From first world, to third world. This is one of my top five favorite hotels now. Its so different than the mainstream, in its a decor and rooms. If my travels ever take me this way again, I will stay here. The hotel staff is totally not what you will expect. They went out of their way to explain foreign concepts to me. They explained the busses, subway fare system, sides of the street to park on, etc. Not only that but they hooked me up with the shuttle service every day I needed to go to a local location for a few hours, and promptly picked me up. The time I visited was in the winter and their usual "cab" vehicles were not being operated, but they still had another vehicle to bring us around in. VERY cool place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Exceptionally artistic loft experience

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Location: We walked and took the subway- all very nice. Lovely women's fashion store- Violet Pepper - with hand made local silver jewelry- from Greenpoint.
Grand place with elegance in a modern art mashup with classical. Fabulous sitting and walking spaces in lobby and hallways. Staff who act with investment in the hotel but also great personal style. We came with a young 4+ year old child, loved the space and loft, taxi, and nearby areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terri Brak Thomas from Chicago

Great extended stay accomadations

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the Box Street Hotel was up to par.the Staff from check-in are friendly and helpful.roomy, spacious comfortable rooms. Great funky decor throughout hotel. We took advantage of the workout room and laundry facilities. Our original 3 day stay turned into 5 because of weather conditions. The staff welcomed us back and were so gracious . They offer a guest taxi service to neighborhood locations. We took advantage of this to and from dinner from Williamsburg and also Bedford street. Full Kitchen in room so you can run out to one of the local bakeries and grab a fresh croissant and enjoy breakfast in your room/ apartment. Subway is close by easy to get to .Manhatten, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. The staff were amazing and so helpful. Our rooms were outstanding.
Cons: Nothing, it was just perfect.