Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Terrible experience

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: Lackadaisical staff. There was not one single person we interacted with that seemed to care about the quality of our visit.
Location: Upper east side, Madison Ave shopping, Metropolitan Museum, Central Park
Lot's went wrong on our recent stay. We booked a suite, but were Downgraded to a regular room due to the suite not being available. The doorman had all his buddies in Limos parked in the loading zone so we had to cart our copious luggage to the hotel from the garage down the street. The limos were still there the next day so I had to make a fuss to get them to clear a spot for us to load the luggage into the car. Also very weird, the Bellmen would not go outside, and the doorman would not go inside (union rules??) so it was very cumbersome getting anyone to do anything. For what this hotel charges, this entire experience was unacceptable. The room was ok, but could use a little freshening up, as could the faded grandeur of the lobby areas.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel needs major renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Top notch hotel in the city

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Amazing hotel located in the upper East side. Outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Especially loved the breakfast buffet in the most beautiful dining room. Refined, old world class!
Husband and I stayed for a romantic weekend away. Everything was just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Traditional NYC Luxury Experience for our 25th

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: This place is a traditionalists dream. The Carlyle is a meticulously maintained fine antique, complete with top notch service and amenities.
Cons: Our experience was perfect. Can't think of anything I would have changed.
Location: Great location for avoiding the crazy hustle and bustle of NYC. Relatively quiet and safe location with many high-end designer shops near by.
I wanted to find a memorable setting for a surprise mini vacation for my Wife and I to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was not going to be an easy task, as my wife is VERY picky about hotel accommodations. The reviews on the Carlyle were a bit mixed, but the location and rich tradition of the place seemed like it would be a good fit. I called the Hotel in advance to tell them about my surprise for my Wife, and asked them to if they could try to assign us to a room with recent renovations. The front desk agent I spoke to was very courteous and cordial. She not only remembered my request...she also saw that we were upgraded to a huge 1& 1/2 bath king suite (complete with a baby grand in the living room, hardwood floors, a kitchenette, and 2 walk in closets!) The finishing touch was a bottle of champagne on ice, and a gourmet anniversary chocolate and strawberry torte for two set up for us on an elegant glass top table in the living room. Very classy- very impressive. A perfect experience from start to finish. The traditional ambiance this Hotel exudes is awesome. I think that some of the reviews about the place are from people who don't appreciate traditional ambiance! Like all hotels built in the 20's and 30's, the bathrooms aren't huge, but they are gorgeous and spotless. The elevators are small, because they are meticulously maintained antiques- complete with courteous attendants. To me that contributes to the uniqueness of the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maryetta from a suburb of Philadelphia

Pleasant enough

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit out of the way, it is in the upper East side. There is nothing specifically to complain about, it just is not the glorious hotel that it probably was. We were looking forward to staying there as the other couple said it was their favorite hotel. That must have been from a long time ago. Many of the "grand" hotels are not what they once were or perhaps I have travelled more and am spoiled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs uplift

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel needs an uplift. Room was dated and privacy wasn't good as you could hear conversations from adjoining rooms. Great location but other hotels in the area might be better.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Room had an perfume scent constantly which was not pleasant. Too many mirrors in a very tiny bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ronda from Austin

Only one Carlyle.

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
So classic. So spectacular. So special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Huningmoon night for my son

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great staff, friendly and accommodating