Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Syracuse, NY

Superior hotel close to Central Park.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: We chose this hotel for a few reasons. It is located about 11/2blocks from Central Park. We felt very safe visiting the neighborhood.
Location: 1 1/2 blocks from Central Park. It was an easy walk to many shops on 5th Ave. It was also easy to walk to the subway for a jaunt to Times Square.
We had a great experience at the Carlyle Hotel. The staff was very professional and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Still the Best

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Exceptional staff, beautiful room, wonderful location. The best New York has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Needs Some TLC

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We were greeted warmly and the staff were helpful and courteous which was the best part of our stay. The hotel is old and full of history at every turn however needs some TLC. The carpet on the lobby stairs and in the lobby area are noticeably stained. The paint around the elevator doors needs freshening, especially soiled around the freight elevator. Our room was decorated in a traditional style with absolutely no view. This did not particularly bother us since it's a short walk to Central Park and being in NYC there is way too much to do outside of your hotel. The bed and pillows are comfortable and cosy. Housekeeping needs some dire help. The bathroom was given a superficial clean where their tooted Kiehl's bath products were not refreshed appropriately. Leaving two body washes instead of shampoo and conditioner is not acceptable! Also, towels and bathrobes were not always refreshed. We are not accustom to dropping things to the floor when they need to be laundered so possibly leaving them draped on a bath rack or hook meant they could be recycled. It was wonderful getting a turn down service with delicious chocolate each evening. The only drawback was when crawling into bed one night we found two long dark hairs in the sheets which clearly were not our own. All in all, we had a terrific time in NYC. The Carlyle is an older established hotel and with some needed work would be a lovely place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York in style

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great place to stay, very relaxing, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel near Central Park

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Super nice and comfortable hotel worth every penny. The hotel is located near Central Park and shops and restaurants. The room was big considering NY and it was so comfortable. The staff was professional and friendly! We stayed for 4 nights and worth it and will use this hotel next time we are in NY
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice area of New York, but outdated and expensive.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Very nice, pleasant location. Lacking in supermarket access.
We stayed at The Carlyle for one week during a family holiday to New York. As a 5* hotel, we expected full facilities for the money we paid. We were therefore rather disappointed by the multimedia access such as the Wi-Fi connection and the International channels, such as Al Jazeera. The sports facilities were quite basic (further facilities are only available at a high cost). Further, the rooms lack basic facilities such as a kettle for boiling water; this was only available via room service. Overall, while the staff are extremely helpful and the area is very pleasant, the hotel feels somewhat outdated with regard to modern facilities. It is worth noting that the surrounding area is also extremely expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful Hotel!!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Location: One block away from the #6 Subway, and one block the to the West and you entered Central Park. Perfect!
The Carlyle is pure class. From the doorman, to the bellhop, the service is second to none. Impeccably clean, the Carlyle has managed to maintain their old world charm, while offering all the amenities of a brand new Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel for nice people!!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
World class hotel with barn one best service I ever experience in any hotel I have stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunrise, Florida

Great hotel, great location, great service.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The courteous and professional service, the spaciousness of the suite and the attention to details in the room.
Cons: No complaints whatsoever.
Location: Central Park and the Museum of Art were within walking distance. The train station was only a few blocks away.
The Carlysle Hotel was excellent. The room was spacious with a classic look and modern amenities. It will definitely be my hotel of choice when I return to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Racine, WI

Beautiful Light Rooms. Friendly Staff.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The modern rooms with DVD player for kids and sophisticated lighting system is beautifully designed. The antique furniture and large windows are great
Cons: The restaurant setting and staff are great, but the food is not worth its expense.
Location: Upper East Side. Near museums, park, and shopping.
This hotel was the best experience in a long time. Location near Central Park and museums was excellent for us. Lexington Avenue and Madison Avenue are great for restaurants and shopping. The atmosphere is quite compared to the bright lights of Times Square, and this is what I was looking for. The Carlyle is one of the tallest buildings in the area, so the views can be wonderful from the higher rooms.