Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NY Classic

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Our room had a great layout.
Cons: Entrance into the lobby isn't the easiest with luggage and a stroller.
Location: Perfect location near Central Park and Museums.
If you haven't stayed at the Carlyle at least once, you really should. It just drips with NY style.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 day stay - 10/24/14 to 10/26/14

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The start to the hotel stay was bumpy. We had reserved a "King" bed for 3 nights. Upon check-in we were told our room was not ready, but that they had upgraded us. We decided to walk the town and the hotel said they would call us to let us know when the room was ready. We were travelling with another couple, so we left our bags in their room while we went out. When we got back to the hotel at 5 p.m. our room was ready. My wife went to the room while I went to get our luggage. When I got to the room we had a "queen" bed. I called the front desk and they said that they realized the mistake and would have "see if another room was ready" and they would call us back. I explained that this was unacceptable, that we were here on our 30th anniversary, couldn't unpack or shower, and had dinner reservations in an hour. They called in 5 minutes and said they were looking at another room to see if it was clean. We waited a few more minutes and called back and said we need a room to commence our evening. They said that were sending some one up to look at another room...... They finally had a person at the front desk come to our room and got us into another "upgraded" room. We felt that the hotel was biding their time to see if we would settle on the "queen room". They should have immediately put us in another room and not gone through the steps of seeing "if another room was clean". Regardless of the great rate we received from Expedia we felt like 2nd rate customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leicester

Quiet hotel in UES

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We spent 6 nights here on an Expedia deal. Room and staff great. Well located in the UES, two blocks from subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Great hotel in great location. Excellent concierge. Wonderful bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

$$ Central Park $$

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Everything but the prices......
Cons: Some reasonable fare at a reasonable rate on the room service menu would be nice.
Location: Exploring Central Park, Lunch at the Boathouse, drinks at Tavern on the Green. Museums on both sides of the park were incredible.
If you love Central Park this is the place for you. New York landmark, Beautiful place to stay if you want to explore the park and museums. The building was immaculate, the staff could not have been any better. Incredible. We got a great rate through Expedia on a package otherwise would not have likely stayed at this hotel. Very old school NY, lots of very well to do, very well dressed individuals in the hotel. If you stay here bring lots of money and some of your better attire. The cheapest thing on the room service menu was a $ 19.00 child's grilled cheese. I cannot say enough about the great service, friendly and professional staff. From the front desk to the maids this place is the best run hotels we have ever had the privilege of staying at anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Great staff and room was fantastic Wifi too expensive considering what room cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice Hotel on Upper East Side

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Very spacious room, fantastic Keihl samples (replaced everyday), great linens and lots of towels, mints by bed, the works. Elevator operator a nice touch of class in this day and age. Only downside was lack of convenient local places to get bottle of soda morning or night (the hotel charges $8.00 in room bar…are they really maximizing profits at that ridiculous price?). Otherwise, great experience from an experienced luxury customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff, the facilities, the management team.
Cons: n/a
Location: Great location and very accessible to the rest of the city. Lovely and quiet
Simply brilliant. No need to add anymore. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Still a Grand Hotel, but a few signs of slippage

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, old-fashioned and stylish
Cons: See above
Location: Great for Central Park, the Met Museum
We returned happily to the Carlyle after a couple of years. Our only tiny complaint was that, with only 4 elevators to cover the 30 floors, it is an unfortunate economy to have never more than two lift operators on duty, and sometimes only one. Either have them all running or let the guests operate them themselves! For what we thought of as a top-grade room, the bathroom in 924 was not as large as we would have liked. Otherwise, we would definitely return and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nantwich, Cheshire

Fantastic "Olde Worlde" Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Free wifi in the bedrooms but there was free wifi in the Reception area.
Location: Subway at 76th Lexington within easy walking distance and also 1.5 blocks from Central Park.
We stayed here for a week in July this year and the staff could not do enough for us. They were friendly and efficient. We requested an additional rollaway bed in our basic classic room for 3 nights of our 7-night stay and they gave us a complimentary upgrade for the full week just so the extra bed (which was incredibly comfortable) could be accommodated. We loved the olde worlde charm of the hotel, complete with white-gloved, liveried bellboys in the lifts. We never pressed a button for the lift once in the whole of our stay. It was my birthday whilst I was away and (unbeknown to me) my parents had contacted the hotel and arranged for champagne and strawberry dipped chocolates to be delivered to my room at 9am on the day of my birthday. These duly arrived at 9am promptly and they even sent an email to my parents to confirm delivery! The hotel also presented me with a birthday cake on the day of arrival at the hotel and another one was left in our room on the day of my birthday whilst we were out during the day. Special recommendations go to Bear on Reception and Waldo the Concierge.