Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

$$ Central Park $$

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Everything but the prices......
Cons: Some reasonable fare at a reasonable rate on the room service menu would be nice.
Location: Exploring Central Park, Lunch at the Boathouse, drinks at Tavern on the Green. Museums on both sides of the park were incredible.
If you love Central Park this is the place for you. New York landmark, Beautiful place to stay if you want to explore the park and museums. The building was immaculate, the staff could not have been any better. Incredible. We got a great rate through Expedia on a package otherwise would not have likely stayed at this hotel. Very old school NY, lots of very well to do, very well dressed individuals in the hotel. If you stay here bring lots of money and some of your better attire. The cheapest thing on the room service menu was a $ 19.00 child's grilled cheese. I cannot say enough about the great service, friendly and professional staff. From the front desk to the maids this place is the best run hotels we have ever had the privilege of staying at anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Great staff and room was fantastic Wifi too expensive considering what room cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Hotel on Upper East Side

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Very spacious room, fantastic Keihl samples (replaced everyday), great linens and lots of towels, mints by bed, the works. Elevator operator a nice touch of class in this day and age. Only downside was lack of convenient local places to get bottle of soda morning or night (the hotel charges $8.00 in room bar…are they really maximizing profits at that ridiculous price?). Otherwise, great experience from an experienced luxury customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff, the facilities, the management team.
Cons: n/a
Location: Great location and very accessible to the rest of the city. Lovely and quiet
Simply brilliant. No need to add anymore. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Still a Grand Hotel, but a few signs of slippage

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, old-fashioned and stylish
Cons: See above
Location: Great for Central Park, the Met Museum
We returned happily to the Carlyle after a couple of years. Our only tiny complaint was that, with only 4 elevators to cover the 30 floors, it is an unfortunate economy to have never more than two lift operators on duty, and sometimes only one. Either have them all running or let the guests operate them themselves! For what we thought of as a top-grade room, the bathroom in 924 was not as large as we would have liked. Otherwise, we would definitely return and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, Cheshire

Fantastic "Olde Worlde" Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Free wifi in the bedrooms but there was free wifi in the Reception area.
Location: Subway at 76th Lexington within easy walking distance and also 1.5 blocks from Central Park.
We stayed here for a week in July this year and the staff could not do enough for us. They were friendly and efficient. We requested an additional rollaway bed in our basic classic room for 3 nights of our 7-night stay and they gave us a complimentary upgrade for the full week just so the extra bed (which was incredibly comfortable) could be accommodated. We loved the olde worlde charm of the hotel, complete with white-gloved, liveried bellboys in the lifts. We never pressed a button for the lift once in the whole of our stay. It was my birthday whilst I was away and (unbeknown to me) my parents had contacted the hotel and arranged for champagne and strawberry dipped chocolates to be delivered to my room at 9am on the day of my birthday. These duly arrived at 9am promptly and they even sent an email to my parents to confirm delivery! The hotel also presented me with a birthday cake on the day of arrival at the hotel and another one was left in our room on the day of my birthday whilst we were out during the day. Special recommendations go to Bear on Reception and Waldo the Concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meaford ON Canada

History and service spcectacular

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms and character of the hotel. Food was great.
Location: Great location close to Central Park, major highlights etc.
We were greatly impressed with the immediate attention to our needs. The staff is amazingly attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. The staff morale is incredibly high which translates into phenomenally pleasant encounters. We were impressed with the history of the hotel and it's ambience. I would book this hotel again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very upmarket part of Manhattan

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: The non-native english speaking front desk staff kept calling me Mrs which was kind of annoying as I am a Miss. Room sound proofing.
Location: Excellent. Wonderful for the park and pleasant walks
Overall good. Sleep disturbed by noisy neightbours in the room above however, not what I was expecting from a 5 star $600 / night hotel, so will not wish to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Syracuse, NY

Superior hotel close to Central Park.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: We chose this hotel for a few reasons. It is located about 11/2blocks from Central Park. We felt very safe visiting the neighborhood.
Location: 1 1/2 blocks from Central Park. It was an easy walk to many shops on 5th Ave. It was also easy to walk to the subway for a jaunt to Times Square.
We had a great experience at the Carlyle Hotel. The staff was very professional and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Still the Best

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Exceptional staff, beautiful room, wonderful location. The best New York has to offer.