Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff, the facilities, the management team.
Cons: n/a
Location: Great location and very accessible to the rest of the city. Lovely and quiet
Simply brilliant. No need to add anymore. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Still a Grand Hotel, but a few signs of slippage

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, old-fashioned and stylish
Cons: See above
Location: Great for Central Park, the Met Museum
We returned happily to the Carlyle after a couple of years. Our only tiny complaint was that, with only 4 elevators to cover the 30 floors, it is an unfortunate economy to have never more than two lift operators on duty, and sometimes only one. Either have them all running or let the guests operate them themselves! For what we thought of as a top-grade room, the bathroom in 924 was not as large as we would have liked. Otherwise, we would definitely return and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, Cheshire

Fantastic "Olde Worlde" Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Free wifi in the bedrooms but there was free wifi in the Reception area.
Location: Subway at 76th Lexington within easy walking distance and also 1.5 blocks from Central Park.
We stayed here for a week in July this year and the staff could not do enough for us. They were friendly and efficient. We requested an additional rollaway bed in our basic classic room for 3 nights of our 7-night stay and they gave us a complimentary upgrade for the full week just so the extra bed (which was incredibly comfortable) could be accommodated. We loved the olde worlde charm of the hotel, complete with white-gloved, liveried bellboys in the lifts. We never pressed a button for the lift once in the whole of our stay. It was my birthday whilst I was away and (unbeknown to me) my parents had contacted the hotel and arranged for champagne and strawberry dipped chocolates to be delivered to my room at 9am on the day of my birthday. These duly arrived at 9am promptly and they even sent an email to my parents to confirm delivery! The hotel also presented me with a birthday cake on the day of arrival at the hotel and another one was left in our room on the day of my birthday whilst we were out during the day. Special recommendations go to Bear on Reception and Waldo the Concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meaford ON Canada

History and service spcectacular

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms and character of the hotel. Food was great.
Location: Great location close to Central Park, major highlights etc.
We were greatly impressed with the immediate attention to our needs. The staff is amazingly attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. The staff morale is incredibly high which translates into phenomenally pleasant encounters. We were impressed with the history of the hotel and it's ambience. I would book this hotel again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very upmarket part of Manhattan

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: The non-native english speaking front desk staff kept calling me Mrs which was kind of annoying as I am a Miss. Room sound proofing.
Location: Excellent. Wonderful for the park and pleasant walks
Overall good. Sleep disturbed by noisy neightbours in the room above however, not what I was expecting from a 5 star $600 / night hotel, so will not wish to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Syracuse, NY

Superior hotel close to Central Park.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: We chose this hotel for a few reasons. It is located about 11/2blocks from Central Park. We felt very safe visiting the neighborhood.
Location: 1 1/2 blocks from Central Park. It was an easy walk to many shops on 5th Ave. It was also easy to walk to the subway for a jaunt to Times Square.
We had a great experience at the Carlyle Hotel. The staff was very professional and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Still the Best

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Exceptional staff, beautiful room, wonderful location. The best New York has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Needs Some TLC

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We were greeted warmly and the staff were helpful and courteous which was the best part of our stay. The hotel is old and full of history at every turn however needs some TLC. The carpet on the lobby stairs and in the lobby area are noticeably stained. The paint around the elevator doors needs freshening, especially soiled around the freight elevator. Our room was decorated in a traditional style with absolutely no view. This did not particularly bother us since it's a short walk to Central Park and being in NYC there is way too much to do outside of your hotel. The bed and pillows are comfortable and cosy. Housekeeping needs some dire help. The bathroom was given a superficial clean where their tooted Kiehl's bath products were not refreshed appropriately. Leaving two body washes instead of shampoo and conditioner is not acceptable! Also, towels and bathrobes were not always refreshed. We are not accustom to dropping things to the floor when they need to be laundered so possibly leaving them draped on a bath rack or hook meant they could be recycled. It was wonderful getting a turn down service with delicious chocolate each evening. The only drawback was when crawling into bed one night we found two long dark hairs in the sheets which clearly were not our own. All in all, we had a terrific time in NYC. The Carlyle is an older established hotel and with some needed work would be a lovely place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York in style

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great place to stay, very relaxing, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel near Central Park

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Super nice and comfortable hotel worth every penny. The hotel is located near Central Park and shops and restaurants. The room was big considering NY and it was so comfortable. The staff was professional and friendly! We stayed for 4 nights and worth it and will use this hotel next time we are in NY