Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill, NC

Super hotel in the heart of the Theater District.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Service is the best!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: So close to all of the theaters. We saw Hedwig and the Angry Inch at the Belasco Theater and it is almost directly across the street from The Chatwal!
We have stayed here before when seeing a Broadway show. Love that is it so close to all of the theaters. Even better is the beauty of the hotel and the outstanding service they provide. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special. We love staying at The Chatwal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Stunning hotel and great staff. Room was perfect and the hotel was in a great location. Staff really helpful, they organised all our day trips for us and recommended some great restaurants. Would definitely stay there again. Had a perfect long weekend :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!!!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Spent a getaway weekend with my wife and wanted something close to time square. The chatwal exceeded my expectations from room to staff, everyone and everything was top notch from the minute I arrived to the minute I left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton, FL

Nice Hotel close to Time Square

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Location: Plenty of places to eat and things to do within walking distance of hotel. Time Square is less than a block!
Hotel was very nice and staff was very friendly. Was disappointed with house keeping. We asked for our room to be serviced while we we out. We left at 4:00Pm and returned at 8:45PM but room was not touched. At 8:50PM we got a card under door stating they had been there to service room. Tried to contact house keeping the next morning and never did reach anyone. They have a turn down service which is nice but it should be done before 9:00PM! The restaurant at the hotel has very good food but very poor service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynnfrom CT

Great Find

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Surprisingly good hotel: excellent room service, terrific bathrooms, entertainment system, climate control and mini bar. Huge amounts of in room storage. Although it is right in the middle of the theater district, our room was tomb like quiet. Only complaint is that the mattress was not as high end as everything else about this hotel. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lubbock Texas

Nice and quiet hotel close to the action.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Close to excitement of Times Square but a nice quiet retreat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jorgefrom MEXICO

Excelente servicio y ubicación

Posted Feb 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hola, Pase un fin de semana con mi novia en este hotel y todo fue excelente!! La atención del personal es muy buena, la ubicación a media cuadra de times square!! en fin todo perfecto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephenfrom West Orange, NJ

A hotel gem near Times Square

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Perfectly located near Times Square, yet the room was very quiet. Room amenities were lovely--a jetted tub, a Toto heated self-cleansing toilet, a hidden TV in the bathroom mirror. The staff was warm and friendly. The manager came to our room shortly after arrival to introduce himself and check to see if we needed anything. We loved our stay here and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel near the theater district

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Perfect location if going to a Broadway show. Decor was great - evoking the 1920's. Room was well appointed and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Room had a great bathroom and toliet Bed could have been higher All else except breakfast was great
Cons: Need to look at the staff at breakfast...Staff NOT on same level as rest of staff!!!! SIMPLY STATED ... service was fair to poor, coffee not hot.
Hotel Front Door, Desk and Housecleaning Staff was exceptional. The Dinning room where we had breakfast was NOT a pleasant experience. The coffee wasn't hot enough. The waiter was not as genuine as the other staff The prices were inflated...especially on the Huvena Ranchos which was better at a Howard Johnson's WOULD NOT RECOMMEND the resturant
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2015 by Chatwal Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jim Z - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your positive notes on the hotel. As for the breakfast experience restaurant be assured we spoke to our restaurant partners from the Lambs Club to address you concerns. I am sorry that you were dissapointed. We hope to welcome you back one day and I will adppreciate an opportunity to make up for the shortfall. With best regards - Axel Fischer