Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Room had a great bathroom and toliet Bed could have been higher All else except breakfast was great
Cons: Need to look at the staff at breakfast...Staff NOT on same level as rest of staff!!!! SIMPLY STATED ... service was fair to poor, coffee not hot.
Hotel Front Door, Desk and Housecleaning Staff was exceptional. The Dinning room where we had breakfast was NOT a pleasant experience. The coffee wasn't hot enough. The waiter was not as genuine as the other staff The prices were inflated...especially on the Huvena Ranchos which was better at a Howard Johnson's WOULD NOT RECOMMEND the resturant
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2015 by Chatwal Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jim Z - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your positive notes on the hotel. As for the breakfast experience restaurant be assured we spoke to our restaurant partners from the Lambs Club to address you concerns. I am sorry that you were dissapointed. We hope to welcome you back one day and I will adppreciate an opportunity to make up for the shortfall. With best regards - Axel Fischer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too close to Times Square for this time of year

Posted Jan 1, 2015
The Chatwal is beautiful, with a lovely, friendly staff. It deserves each of its stars. The only problem is its vicinity in relation to the craziness of Times Square. I will consider staying here again, but the time of year will definitely play a role in my decision.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2015 by Chatwal Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - thank you for your kind words. We are especially glad you recognized our staff''s friendliness during that very busy New Year's Eve time here in the Theatre District, just off Times Square. On any other day of the year 44th street is a lot calmer - big promise! Best regards - Axel Fischer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Absolutely Excellent Hotel, we loved it !!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Cleanliness, Atmosphere.
Location: Excellent Location - within walking distance was Times Square & Broadway, Rockefella Centre, 5th Avenue, Macy's & Bloomingdale's, cocktail bars.
The staff were absolutely excellent from arrival right through our stay. We arrived to a buzzing atmosphere with many enjoying cocktails in the foyer and a Jazz Pianist. Our room on the 5th floor was superb - the room had every amenity you could think of, the mini bar had every spirit available I could think of, the bathroom was incredible, and getting into bed every night after a long day of sight seeing and taking in New York, was a fantastic feeling. Being so central, I was concerned it might be noisy but we could not hear a thing from Times Square. Great access to the subway station, so within minutes you could be downtown walking the Brooklyn Bridge, in Greenwich Village enjoying a cocktail, or taking a stroll through Central Park. I would go so far as saying this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, if not the best. If you are looking for a boutique hotel, with a central location I could not recommend this enough. Absolutely superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hot Springs, AR

Great lodging at a great location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly, courteous staff.
Location: Easy walk to most theaters and a nearby subway line to museums, shopping, and Rockefeller Center.
Our room was everything we wanted it to be, spacious, clean, and comfortable. Service in the hotel was outstanding at all times. The location was ideal for all we planned to do during our week in NYC. We have already recommended the Chatwal to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new York

Hôtel à la situation idéale.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Le professionnalisme des employés, leur discrétion, la situation géographique de cet hôtel et le confort des chambres
Cons: Aucun
Location: À trois minutes de marche de Time Square au cœur de Brodway et tout proche de la 5eme avenue. Néanmoins l hôtel est calme
Chambres très luxueuse avec un confort très raffiné. Le personnel est aimable et discret. Séjour inoubliable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New york

Stunning hotel, amazing location, Luxurious.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Couldn't ask for a better hotel, stunning rooms, attentive and friendly staff. We got a free room upgrade and we're made to feel very special as was everyone who stays at the chatwal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 4, 2014
From walking in the door, the staff make sure it best stay you will ever have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Excellent Service!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, and amazing service.
Cons: Food is good, but not the greatest.
Location: It's literally at Time Square, what more to say about that? 5 minutes away from where we saw The Elephant Man, and to all the Broadway theatres.
This is by far my best hotel experience in NYC and the location is superb. We went to celebrate my mom's birthday and they provided us with everything we asked for. They gave my mom a pleasant surprise with the birthday cake and flowers that I ordered, and delivery timing was perfect! Rooms are reasonably spacious (you know NYC hotels...), very clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Right at Times Square without all the Crowds!!!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: More lighting in the Rooms!!!
Location: SOOOO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING WE DO IN NYC
The Restaurant is Fine Dining even for Breakfast!!! Pricey, BUT WELL WORTH IT!!! Right at Times Square & Theatre District without ALL THE CROWDS!!! We will stay there again, & again, & AGAIN!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fair

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 day stay. very expensive and fair service. our "Butler" appeared in the first 5 minutes and was never seen again. i'd skip this one, plenty of great hotels in NYC