Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

Great location; close to theatres.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, and incredibly helpful staff. Luxurious accommodations; beautifully appointed rooms. Breakfast was really fabulous. Vibrant bar(s)!
Location: Theatre, restaurants, shopping. Walking distance to Times Square.
The greeting by the front desk was stellar. Amenities quite nice. Decor is spectacular!! Beautiful room with a lovely outdoor patio. Very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Excellent central location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Large rooms
Cons: Staff could be a little more friendly.
Location: Everything as just off Times Square. the bar next door, The Long Room was great for a cheaper drink, very busy in there. Carmines restaurant 1 block
Fantastic hotel just off Times Square. Bar downstairs was more like a lobby, bar upstairs very nice but pricey as you would imagine. Rooms very large and the bathroom was too. Didn't like the heated toilet seat - maybe the Americans do! Jacuzzi bath and shower were great. All mod cons on room except tea and coffe making facility. On our arrival, at 4pm were told room not ready as "members" have late check out at 4pm - so not cleaned yet. Told not ready for at least 1.5 hours! We went for a wander and fine on return at 6pm. we asked for and were given a late check out at 4 for our inconvenience. The staff were nice but came over as a bit snooty on occasion, especially the restaurant staff. However, the food was excellent in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

Quiet retreat

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Johan and Micheal the doormen were friendly, polite and very helpful. They always greeted us with a smile and were very attentive, yet personable.
Cons: It would be great if there were a posting of the daily goings on at the hotel in the lobby vs. a small listing of entertainers in the elevator.
Location: One half block from Times Square.
Quick and efficient check in. Room ready 30 min early. Clean and quiet stay in a busy part of Manhattan NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Nice place close to Times Sq

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Good restaurant and bar. Clean everywhere. The staff was first class friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are very up to date.
Cons: The pool here is small with a swim current generator. I found this sufficient for my needs.
Location: Good location to access all of manhattan by foot or cab. Watch for heavy crowds on Times Sq.
This is a true luxury hotel - but very close to Times Sq, so it can be noisey nearby, and boisterous on the street in front. I loved the contrast between the throngs of tourists and the quiet seclusion of this hotel. All appointments and amenities are very luxe here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

Great Hotel in the Heart of Manhattan

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly. Hotel was very clean and quiet.
Location: Minutes from Time Square. Maybe a few hundred feet
Enjoyed a 3 day stay there. No issues whatsoever. Staff was very friendly and the Hotel was very very clean. Times Square was only 2 minutes away. But despite that fact, I found the hotel very very quiet. 5 Stars and Two Thumbs way up. Highly recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Ideal location for Times Square and grand Central

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Bathroom
Super hotel with very spacious rooms and great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
It was great! We had a wonderful time in New York. I will go back and stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Chapel Hill, NC

In the Heart of the Theater District!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Great design, outstanding staff, very comfortable rooms AND location, location, location!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: See every show on Broadway!
We had a wonderful stay at a fantastic hotel. The hotel has a great style and outstanding staff. We felt very welcomed from the moment we stepped out of our car. The rooms are great and very comfortable. I slept very well in a comfortable bed. We loved being immersed in the heart of Broadway! While walking back to the hotel we caught NPH signing autographs right access the street from the hotel. We walked over and my daughter got a high five from him. How cool is that? We plan to visit the City a couple of times a year and The Chatwal will be the place we stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Scotland

Great Hotel. Central and close to Times Sq.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly, attentive and helpful, bed very comfortable, room well equipped and fantastic shower.
Cons: Ipod dock wouldn't work. Bar felt a bit tired.
Location: Right on Times square in easy reach of Manhattan and the surrounding districts.
Staff generally very helpful and friendly. Room very nice with an excellent shower room. Perfect base to explore Manhattan.