Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and caring staff - even in the face

Posted Nov 12, 2012
We stayed at the Desmond Tutu for a long weekend and were very pleased with the level of service, size and cleanliness of the room and location. The high line was just across the street and Chelsea was a great area with a lot going on. There were some great places to eat and drink less than 10 minutes walk away. During our stay hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast. This was obviously a very testing time for New York and we lost both power and hot water for several days - the hotel basement flooded as the water levels rose on the streets nearest to the Hudson. Throughout the whole ordeal, the staff handled the situation brilliantly. We felt very safe and taken care of - they were good at keeping us up to date with any developments and offered us complimentary breakfast and lunch when a lot of the restaurants and diners were closed due to the power shortage. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel mit Stil

Posted Nov 6, 2012
Pros: Super freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal
Location: 2 Blocks von der nächsten U-Bahnstation weg, schönes Viertel mit tollen Restaurants in der Nähe
Wir waren Gäste im Hotel, als Sandy NewYork heimsuchte, und fühlten uns dort sicher und sehr gut betreut. Die Mitarbeiter taten alles, um uns trotz der widrigen Umstände (Stromausfall, kein Telefon, kaltes Wasser) zu helfen. Wir wurden kostenlos verpflegt, informiert und unterstützt. Das alte Haus hat Stil und es ist alles sauber und gepflegt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianafrom Umdloti. South Africa

Friendly help and kindness during Hurricane Sandy.

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: The friendliness
Cons: No power but not their fault blame Sandy
Location: Chelsea real neighborhood with lots of restaurants and convenience stores. Easy access to the walkway in the skies and the river walkway.
We are staying at the Tutu Centre during Hurricane Sandy. We have no power or housekeeping but the staff have done everything to help us. They have provided two free meals a day, conviviality parties every evening in reception. They have been unfailingly willing, kind and friendly under extremely difficult circumstances. We should have checked out four days ago!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

worst service at any price; zero amenities

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed 5 nights. Due to delay in room prep, start, they gave an upgrade. Neverthless, the room was drafty; window next to bed would not fully close. The picture on the TV was very dark, and channels supposedly available were missing, and it was a pitfuly small package to start with. For such an expensive hotel, a working TV seems like a given. Called front desk; they said they were working on it. Four days later it was still not working. Called the desk about printing and was told the printer was not working. This was a conference hotel; availability of printer and related services is expected. When asked where else printing could be done, the desk clerk offered directions to a print shop which was a dozen blocks away. There is no bar; no food service. The lobby is tiny and the room was dingy and had numerous dings and bad finishes. Free wi-fi worked fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Utmärkt läge men lite smutsiga rum och tråkigt hotel i bemärkelse att det inte fanns någon form av bar, resturang eller liknande.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol

Convenient location in great neighborhood.

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was our first visit to New York, but we were prepared to pay high rates with few amenities. The room is very small, but quite comfortable and cozy with modern touches. The building was quite lovely! I love the old brick architecture with the fountain and grass area. There is some construction going on next door, so be prepared for some noise during the week. The neighborhood at night was quiet, so our sleep was not disturbed by traffic, etc, The location was excellent; close to the subway, a great restaurant for breakfast next door, and across the street from the Highline. I would not hesitate to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anniefrom Austin, TX

Cozy & Quaint

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: clean, quaint, cozy
Cons: No fridge
Location: Local and away from heavy touristy areas. It was easy to find a cab on 10th Ave.
Super friendly hotel staff that gave us tips on what to do in Chelsea. The location of the hotel is fantastic, in a very quiet area that is still within walking distance of popular locations. The room was very small, but quaint and cozy for my husband and I. It would have been nice if the room came with a mini fridge, but I understand the limitation due to the space. There are lots of great places to eat around the hotel that are hole in the wall discoveries. The bathroom is updated and very clean, and there is a vending machine on the first floor for late night drinks/snacks or a breakfast cereal bar. We also used the hotel computer to print some show tickets we had ordered online. Although we arrived early before check-in time, the staff gladly offered to store our bags for us while we went out on the town. Although there is an elevator, you need to climb about four steps to get to it. I would definitely try reserving this hotel again the next time I'm in town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laura B

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, nice neighborhood, quiet (for NY!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hegefrom Oslo, Norge

Anbefales!

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Rent og pent hotell med store og komfortable rom, deilig seng, stort tv, kaffemaskin og morgenkåper. Det ble rengjort hver dag, bytter sengetøy og håndklær. Ligger bra til, rolig og stille område. Kjempe deilig og dra tilbake til hotellet etter en dag med shopping og severdigheter. Ligger i chelsea område. Kan fint gå til Empire State building, selfølgelig en 20 min gåtur, men byen er enorm. Var aldri noe problemer av noe sort under oppholdet. vi fikk vannflasker og ny kaffe til rommet hver dag. Veldig hyggelig personale. Vi kommer til å bo her neste gang vi besøker New York. Hotellet er 4 år gammelt, og skal renoveres igjen i år (2012). Nytter ikke å si hotelnavnet når du skal ta taxi hit. man må bruke gatenavnet 10 avenue og 21th street.