Ratings based on 5,409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At least its close to everything

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Had to move from first room because it was too hot due to radiator heater valve to be broken on the on position. TV would turn on by itself, in both rooms I stayed in, also the cable would reset very often to the first channel. Last room had a corner were it seemed like it had water intrusion. Very small rooms in the value category.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry & Lindy from New York, NY

Great location. just around the corner to Times Sq

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location and the helpful staff.
Cons: The dining area needs refurbishment, but keep the 1930's feel of the rest of the hotel. The breakfast menu needs to be overhauled.
Location: Great for Theatre district and Times Square. We were able to walk to almost all the places we wanted to visit.
Hotel great. Staff really helpful. The breakfast experience was disappointing, the decor seemed to be about 30 years out of date and in need of sprucing up. The breakfast menu was full of odd combinations. We preferred to use the diners on the street, of which there are many to choose from. All in all a very good experience and we would use the Edison Hotel again when we return to NY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay was great, the staff was very friendly.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
We were a little late due to traffic for check in, so we called ahead. We got there to check in and they upgraded out room to a suit on the 11th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Worthing, England

Edison Hotel recommendation

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location, security, décor, cleanliness.
Cons: Coffee making facilities in the room would make it perfect.
Location: Excellent location, just off Times Square, close to cheap theatre ticket booth and shops, excellent café/ breakfast diner 20 yards away.
The hotel was in an excellent location for theatres, restaurants, shopping and sights. There is a super breakfast diner just on the corner called Carve which I highly recommend for breakfasts and a Starbucks opposite for early morning coffee. Rooms very clean, lots of hot water and beds quite comfortable. Staff courteous and good hotel security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo + Erik from Guildford

The Big Apple

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The location was exceptionally central, and the rooms were spacious. The staff were helpful, and the rooms extremely clean.
Cons: Maybe the carpets have seen enough life, and should be renewed?
Location: See above
With Time Square metres away, and Denzil Washington treading the boards across the street, we were definitely centrally placed, in the thick of Broadway. Walk the other direction and Central Park was but 8 minutes away. From there the Lincoln Center, with an abundance of ballet and classical music, has plenty to offer. Ninth Avenue hosts multi-national eateries, but for us the art galleries were the major interest, the Metropolitan both vast and housing sensational collections, whilst the Frick Gallery ( 5th Avenue) has an astonishing number of iconic paintings. Transport costs are reasonable: Metro rides require change not notes, but getting a metro card and putting money on it is the easiest option for buses. We had a fantastic tour of Manhattan by boat- the best way to get some perspective on the exciting skyscrapers. Altogether amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for theater focus

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Convenience to theaters and subways
Cons: I would not have housekeeping staff knocking on doors on Sunday a Ms at 9:00 am to ask when they could make up rooms. That is too early on a Sunday.
Location: Broadway, central hub of subways to everywhere.
It was excellent for theater access and yet away from the noise of Broadway. The staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions, directions, etc. The place was full ad yet quiet.
2 out of 5
by Rick C.

Great Location, but disappointing experience.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The location and courteous service.
Cons: The rooms decor should be renovated (replace the rugs and some of the furnitures.
Location: As I said, it right on the corner of Times Squares.
For my 25 anniversary, I made reservations using Expedia for a 6 days stay at the Edison Hotel. This was our first trip to New York so I wanted it to be special for my wife and being close to Times Square was a must, since I know that she likes to be at the center of the 'action' in the places where we stay. Of course, I am just average middle class and wanted to save money for all the activities around the city (dinners, Broadway shows, etc.) and I knew the reviews said that this is a 3 stars hotel, but I was not expecting this. I must say that the hotel lobby was pretty, the decoration was nice and the personnel and service was fast and courteous. However, I was given room 546 and upon arriving to it, I must confess that I felt embarrassed that this was going to be our room for our anniversary. The view from all the windows was toward brick walls on all sides, there was no in-room safe, the door didn't have a chain lock, the furniture was old and scratched and the rug was stained. The heater on the A/C unit didn't work on the first days and it was cold (average 40 degrees). Also, I found the room smaller than average and claustrophobic, but this could also be part of the effect of the brick wall views on the windows. I cannot say if the rest of the rooms are like this or if this is what the average hotel room in New York looks like, but I must say that this is one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed. I loved NY, but I will not stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location, outdated facility

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Affordable, clean, location Cons: Outdated facility, small rooms, card reader on door kept failing, sarcastic security
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jess from ny

Great hotel great position

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel was really great for it's price and where it is perfect right around the corner from Times Square and surrounded by celebrities on Broadway right outside the door. The room we was in was slightly dated and needed a renovation the walls were stained from age and the taps needed replacing from ages as well. We saw some rooms were newer and that they was going through a renovations. The walls are thin if the person next door had a shower you could hear the pressure loud in your room. And they started work renovating extrememly early I was woken early every morning due to drilling. Although through all this I would stay again because i know they working to update the place now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from New York

Nice central location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Central location ideal for using as a base
Cons: tea/coffee making facilities in room
Location: Right next to times square and broad-way, 10-20 minutes walk from main attractions
The hotel was nice and central to access local transport both subway and hop on hop on buses. Staff helpful in the most. Room small but comfortable and clean.