Ratings based on 6,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Big difference between classic and signature rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location is fantastic, steps to times square and theatres.
Cons: Update the classic old icky rooms.
Location: theatre district, times square
We had 2 rooms, a classic and a signature. HUGE difference. The classic was dated circa 1970, window a/c unit, just old and worn out. The signature was recently redone within a few years, marble bath, nice desk, new and clean. Both rooms had very nice beds with very clean quality linens. Stick to the signature rooms on the upper floors. Upper floors are a lot more quiet. We'll stay again, just not in a classic room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Close to Times Square

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The public rooms.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded.
Location: The hotel is only a few meters away from Times Square,the subway theatres and restaurants. Ideally located. There are also lots of sight seeing buses.
The public rooms of this hotel are excellent, art deco, but the guest rooms are disappointing. Very tiny old cupboard for the wardrobe, tiny but modern bathroom, but with nowhere to hang towels or put your washing items. The beds were listed as Queen size but were a lot smaller than the Queen size beds in the hotel we had stayed in in London. So overall very disappointing. The Edison Cafe had good food and staff. I will say that the staff in general were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great hotel, great location!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the room and lobby. Helpful hotel staff. Location and the price was right!
Cons: If there was a coffee maker in the room.
Location: Location in the middle of Times Square.
The Edison Hotel was a pleasure to stay at and will be our go to hotel for our New York visits. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and all requests were delivered with a smile. Our room was very clean. The location was perfect for theater and shopping. . I will definitely stay at the Edison Hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to Time Square

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Lobby and able to walk to Time Square, Hell's Kitchen restaurants and 5th Avenue. Breakfast place called Galaxy located at 9th and 46th is also close.
Cons: Rugs in bedrooms, bathrooms fixtures and tubs, rugs in hallways are past their expired date.
Vintage hotel with very small rooms. Small bathrooms and well worn rugs. Bathroom tubs need to be replaced. Had to put toiletries on the window ledge. Customer service was good. Hotel staff reacted quickly to our problem with our room fob.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Great Location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to Broadway shows and lots of sights.
Cons: Bathrooms needed more space for personal toiletries and places to hang towels.
Location: Great location in the heart of Time Square and walking distance to all the shows on Broadway.
Room was comfortable and clean but a bit tired, believe some rooms have been upgraded. Bathroom lacked place to put your toiletries. But the location was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincs, England

The Edison Hotel 5 nights (September 2014)

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Central location friendly helpful staff with very good security Close to good restaurants (recommend Ruby Tuesday restaurant)
Cons: Perhaps less noisy air con. Access to TV channels was difficult
Location: Faultless here close to all the NYC classic "must do" sights. walking distance to 5th and 7th Bloomingdales and Macy's
On arrival welcoming staff room n/a until 3.00pm (as stated). Concierge looked after bags clean impressive lobby area. When we arrived at room we found it to be clean and tidy, however the decor appeared somewhat tired but there is evidence of ongoing refurbishment underway. Our room was at the rear (no views) but it was very quiet, air con was a little noisy but acceptable. For the money paid we felt it was very acceptable accommodation lots of hot water and good shower and a good clean bed. For us it fulfilled our requirement as being in NYC we knew we would would only be spending minimal time in the room. The hotel is in a perfect location in Times Square. There is an excellent deli next door serving take out coffee and food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Love the atmosphere, location , location, location

Posted Sep 19, 2014
I am a return visitor . Our room was clean, neat, and the staff was great. They are very friendly. This is my home away from home when I visit New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Regina, Sask., Canada

The core of the 'Big Apple'

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: All the attractions are within walking distance or a short subway ride away. It's the center of the city.
Advantageously situated in the heart of Manahattan. Empire State Bldg., Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Central Park, Hudson River, Brooklyn Bridge, Union Square, Eataly, Rockefeller Center, St. Patriick's Cathedral, The Theatres - all within walking distance. Everthing else within a subway ride away. An older Hotel but very well kept and clean. Has many features of the past blended with a modern touch. The most efficient, friendly, helpful bellmen in the city. Security is second to none and always visible. A very safe environment. Front desk staff very accommodating, efficient and customer service oriented. Fantastic Concierge service. Cafe is alive with wonderful meals and service. Once you start your day here with breakfast you're ready to take on the city. Times Square just a block outside the front door. Like New Year's Eve every day. Very reasonably priced. I'm a huge Yankee fan. Subway station to Yankee Stadium 2 blks. away at 47th & 6th. Direct, non-stop to the big ballpark in the Bronx. 100 % satisfaction. Will definately stay again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

centrally located

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: its location
Cons: include breakfast
A very comfortable hotel, excellent location. Our room was a bit noisy, but otherwise no complaints. Maybe for the price it should include a breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Location!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Location, location, location! This was very near Times Square and other sights were well within walking distance. The hotel lobby was lovely and the room (two queen beds) was roomy enough. It was loud (street noise) as our room was on the 3rd floor looking out at the street but then again, that was not the hotel's fault. I would recommend this hotel as affordable and I would stay here again.