Ratings based on 1,322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Great hotel in an excellent location!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Such an amazing 5 night stay! Hotels location was amazing, as staying only a few streets away from the Empire State Building proved to be a bonus at nighttime! The hop-on/hop-off down-town shuttle stop was only a few streets away which made getting to the Statue of Liberty and 9-11 memorial easily accessable which has a been a long time dream to visit! The staff were amazing and very polite. Only down fall was the lack of dining in the hotel itself, however there were some great restaurants only a few streets away. Overall, The sites and attractions of New York, as well as the Evelyn's accommodation made this part of the holiday one never to forget!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Englane

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Coffee making facilities in room.
Location: Very central. Empire State Building around the corner.
It's a basic, clean and friendly hotel in the middle of renovations. A small room with a slightly faint musty smell. Otherwise situated in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Service
Location: great area
Only there few nights to be close to school...was perfect. great area....will be great when the finish renovating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Well-decorated hotel in central location

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Nice hotel. Smaller than it looks in pictures and not a great deal of lighting, natural or otherwise. Clearly it has been recently refurbished though and the decor is very pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Recently renovated. Close to transit. Quiet.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It was clean and newly renovated. Our room was well lit and the bathrooms had a nice shower head that comes from the ceiling. Beds were comfortable.
Cons: The elevator was very slow. We stayed on the 5th floor and walked up/down most of the time. The water was also too hot or too cold during the day.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located close to transit. 34th St is a 15 minute walk and great for shopping. The Empire State Building is also in the area.
The Evelyn was a bit of a stab in the dark for us. We were hoping to find a hotel closer to central Manhattan but gave it a shot as the reviews were pretty decent and hotel rates in NYC are ridiculous. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a small one tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. It was very quiet, and I was able to sleep like a baby. Though the staff weren't always knowledgeable (especially the night staff), they were very pleasant and tried to help. The elevator was the one pain point as it was very slow and was under maintenance during the days of our stay. The room itself was great. The newly renovated bathroom and comfortable bed made it great for sleeping, which is what we used the room for. The water temperature fluctuated between too hot and too cold, but never scalding. We just had to be ready to adjust the shower temperature. Though it isn't centrally located, the hotel was close to the Metro, which we used to get us everywhere. Overall, the hotel met my expectations and I had an enjoyable stay. I would definitely stay with them again. Be prepared for a potential leg workout if the elevator happens to be slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms, great location, with annoyances

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The annoyances: Only one very slow elevator with broken ventilation system-- not good on the 95F day. We would have gladly taken the stairs, but we were on the 12th floor. The hot (and sometimes cold) water was shut off between 10am and 5pm for two days. Lots of hallway noise and early construction noise. We were promised pastries and coffee in the lobby but there were none to be found (well, sometimes there was cofffee.) The good stuff: Very nice, bright and clean rooms which were recently remodeled. Great location. Several blocks from Eataly and subway stations. Hopefully they will get the elevator thing worked out soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room on website is different from in real view

Posted Jun 30, 2015
I was very disappointed with room, not worsee the cost requested .. very small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great location, wonderful newly renovated rooms

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Newly renovated Clean Great Location
Location: Hotel is centrally located with easy access to the subway on both sides of the city (N-R, 1 and 6 along 28th st.)
We've already stayed here several times due positive experiences. This is a great hotel and the renovations are quite impressive so far. Very comfortable beds and the decor is stunning. Jeremy was extremely helpful and friendly. He made sure our needs were all met and even offered a suite upgrade on one of our stays. I had to book that same suite on my next stay, amazing! Will definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crema Italy

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Che dire..... disponibile e molto gentile il personale dell'hotel, ma questo non è sufficiente per realizzare una recensione positiva a 360°.La camera quadrupla, a noi assegnata, a malapena poteva essere confortevole per due persone, in una giornata è mancata l'acqua calda e un altro giorno l'unico ascensore al servizio di 13 piani ha smesso di funzionare, con i disagi che lascio immaginare. Buono il corner caffè e acqua sempre disponibile, peccato che al mattino i croissant e muffin finivano a volte prima delle ore 8:00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Was pleasantly surprised when I arrived and found out we were upgraded. Cozy, comfortable room. Pretty details in the room, everyone was nice.