Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bielefeld

Mitten drin mit viel Charme!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Ein klasse Hotel mit viel Geschichte und Charme. Die Zimmer sind für New Yorker Verhältnisse ausreichend groß und super schön. Da alles renoviert ist, lassen sich sowohl Bad als auch Zimmer sehen. man darf wohl behaupten, es gehört mit in die Kategorie Designhotels! Natürlich ist es aufgrund des allgemeinen Platzmangel manchmal etwas laut, da man die anderen Gäste auf dem Flur hört. Aber man ist ja nicht in New York, um sich im Hotelzimmer aufzuhalten. Die Lage und das Team sind wirklich super. In der Lobby gibt es Kaffee und Tee sowie morgens Kleinigkeiten für den ersten Hunger. Ein kleines Manko ist allerdings, dass es nur einen Fahrstuhl gibt, der teilweise wirklich lange braucht, so dass man die Treppe nehmen muss. Aber die Renovierungsarbeiten sind noch nicht abgeschlossen - vielleicht wird an diesem Punkt noch gearbeitet. Tolles Hotel! Ich komme wieder!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Antwerpen

Uitstekende ligging.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: charmante sfeer.
Cons: lift - ontbijt - computers
slechts 1 lift! geen restaurant/ ontbijt. (wel gratis koffie & thee beschikbaar in de lobby.) gastencomputers blokkeren de waanzinnigste websites (die van mijn skynet webmail bv.; en diverse, neutrale online ticketing websites voor concerten, theatervoorstellingen, sportmanifestaties etc. - dingen die je (o.i.) onvermijdelijk doét - en dus nodig hebt, in NYC...), en het hotelpersoneel kan die blokkeringen niét opheffen. Erg onpraktisch allemaal! Verder: de (constante) muziek in de lobby is aangenaam, stijlvol & 100% 'in character'; maar ze zou wel eens wat mogen afwisselen... (Steeds dezelfde playlist van een 20-tal nummers gaat op 7 dagen tijd behoorlijk vervelen - temeer daar er geen énkel onverwacht nummer tussen zit; alleen maar 'standard evergreens'...) Verder: sommige kamers zin behoorlijk kléin. Let goed op wat je boekt; en vraag bij aankomst indien mogelijk/ nodig om een upgrade. Al bij al: bijzonder aangenaam, best mooi hotel; algemeen genomen vrij goed & vooral zeer vriendelijk personeel (erg behulpzaam); en niet te vergeten: een uitstekende ligging op Manhattan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom a

Did the job

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Was looking for something a bit more modern and romantic--like the picture above! ! But the hotel was very dark and he room was very small. on the plus side, recently renovated and attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent Hotel in a great location!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Gershwin and the renovation has been spectacular! The rooms are beautiful and can't wait to see the lobby renovation when it is done. The location is central to everything with amazing nightlife only steps away. Will definitely stay here again and again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Litt out of the way..

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Rooms newly renovated, but they are not the biggest, but they work for a weekend... 12 story Hotell with only one working eliveter..we had a cupel of min waiting on the eliveter through out the weekend.. As a tourist in NY I rather would had stayed closer to eather Time square or Soho... Now we stared every day with a walk.. ;) But it's cheaper for a reason, but that you will spend on taxi..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom albuquerque, nm

Great location

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Lobby and elevator need work
Location: Close to Eataly! One of my favorite places in Manhattan
Great location in New York City. Easy access to many parts of town. Close to some really good restaurants. Looking forward to the hotel renovations being complete. Currently the lobby especially feels especially run down and sad. The staff was very nice and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Large rooms fir the city.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Good location. Nice amenities. Bathrobes a plus!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, but close to everything

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The hotel is in the process of a major upgrade. The rooms were clean, but very small. The rooms did not have dressers just a small closet with a small refrigerator and a small place for your clothes. The staff was excellent service was great. When the remodel is complete it should be a great place..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Everyone will love it here!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Brand new beautiful rooms and the staff was amazing. Every single one of them was so sweet and accomodating.
Cons: The lobby floor. It's a must
Location: Great area - Flatiron. Love Eately and park is lovely.
There were eight of us ladies and we all agreed we loved staying here and will be back for next year's get together. Not a single complaint. All the rooms are completely newly renovated and sparkling clean. Bathrooms are beautiful and the entire staff was so incredibly nice. Every single one of them! I have stayed at all different hotels in NYC from 5 Star to the Holiday Inn Express and I loved this the best! Naturally rooms are on the small side - same as most NYC hotels and the lobby floor needs to be redone but outside of that it was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would go back if not under construction

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: location. nice room, well decorated bathroom. great shower.
Cons: lighting in the lobby. serve good coffee and tea. improve the flooring, walls and old elevators.
Location: nice location. down a sleepy street. easy to catch a taxi, walk to everywhere.
For a NYC hotel, it was a great price. Great location - a few fun local coffee shops steps away. The hotel was under full construction. The lobby was SO dark all day long. It looked like the hotel was really trying to be cool but due to the construction and just old dirty flooring and walls and elevator(s) - just hard to stay there again. The room was nice - small, but to be expected for a NYC small hotel. I was bummed that they didn't have good coffee or tea in the lobby - seating was great, but due to it being so dark in the lobby, it was not inviting.