Ratings based on 1,176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The bathroom was very nicely renovated and the beds are very comfortable
Cons: The heat in the room was not adequate
Location: The hotel is a few blocks away from the subway, Manhattan Mall & Macy's. There is a café right around the corner from the hotel.
Our overall stay was comfortable and pleasant, my only problem was the heat in the room. I am not sure if it was just so extremely cold that the heat was not enough but the room was quite cold most of the time and the noise from the street at night was a bit bothersome at times but other than that the stay was enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Overall a great experience. Great location, Nicely renovated, very chill and classic. Friendly staff and very considerate. Only issue was the slowww elevator. There is only one, and it really takes it time. But! I'd recommend it and stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No heat or hot water!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
This was terrible! My first room was dirty with hair on the towels and blue toothpaste stains on the counter. When I checked in the staff forgot to mention there was no hot water or heat!!! So when I went to take a shower there was nothing but freezing water!!! The staff was nice, and they said they would refund my stay- although I haven't received payment yet.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Bad experience

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We had a non stop toilet that kept filling up. It was leaking all night and I was not able to sleep. I had the hotel make 3 different attempts to fix the problem and they were unable. It was a terrible ordeal. I'm not satisfied with the hotel or expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great for the price

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Really stylish rooms and comfortable beds.
Cons: The lifts and quality of housekeeping - towels weren't replaced daily and we saw no evidence of surface cleaning.
Location: Eataly, walk around Madison Square Gardens, Blue Smoke restaurant was good.
This is a fantastic base for sightseeing in Manhattan - especially for the price (we paid £80 a night for a king room). The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable, the water is hot and plentiful and we had minimal noise from neighbours/the street when placed on the 12th floor. The public areas of the hotel are currently undergoing renovation, which was not brilliant aesthetically but still the lobby looked smartish and they served tea and coffee all day in the lobby to somewhat make up for it! Only negative - the single lift was very very very slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The Evelyn has done a nice job on the room renovations; however, they are a little on the small side. Barely comfortable enough for 2 people in a Queen Sized room. The closet was awkardly shaped so you could only hang 1 or 2 items in the closet. There was shelving in the closet to make up for lack of a dresser. The hotel is convenient and clean. The only complaint would be the extremely slow elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

review

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice looking bathrooms. Reasonable price for midtown Manhattan.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Seriously? This is NYC. What's NOT do to nearby? It is 2 blocks north of Madison square and Flatiron building, 5 blocks south of Empire State Bldg.
Same as most other reviews here. The best thing was the staff was friendly and helpful. And not in some corporate "you have to say this to the customers" phoney way, but in a genuinely friendly way. As others have said, the rooms are dinky, but this is midtown Manhattan. You are obviously not there to sit in your room. As a place to sleep and shower and do a bit of computer time, it is perfectly fine. As others pointed out, they are renovating, so the lobby does not look put together. They do have computers for printing out boarding passes. For those taking a taxi, it is on 27th street JUST WEST of 5th street. The outside construction made it hard to see the sign and my taxi passed the place. So, just tell the taxi 27th street between 5th Ave and 7th Ave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, great location!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
We had an amazing stay at the Gershwin/Evelyn hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was newly renovated and very clean. The location of the hotel was perfect and walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. The only drawback was how slow the elevator is, but other than that I would absolutely recommend this hotel to a friend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Art deco-hotell under ombyggnad

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Fint och charmigt hotell med bra läge på Manhattan. Under ombyggnad vid vår vistelse vilket drog ner helhetsintrycket. Bland annat väldigt mörk och murrig lobby, vilket inte kändes så inbjudande. Bra service och mysiga rum, även om lampor och toalett gick sönder flera gånger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC Manhattan

Friendly staff! Recently renovated, SLOW elevator

Posted Jan 26, 2015
My stay with my girlfriend was great. It's in an ok part of town, rooms were cheap, really clean and luxurious. Was told I'd get a queen and got a double but that's no big deal for me really. Elevator is painfully slow. Staff is great and very helpful with questions. For the price i'd definitely stay there again.