Ratings based on 1,128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, TN

Reasonable prices, construction is messy

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Locale, good location in lower 5th Avenue business area.
Cons: Make the elevator faster.
Location: Close to midtown and shopping.
My stay was for 3 nights. Room was just as pictured on website... perhaps seemed a little smaller. Old hotel, room was about 11x12 w/small but adequate bathroom. Elevator is S-L-O-W, and it appears that construction crews must share the elevator during daytime and weekend hours. But all I needed was a place to crash, and it was adequate for that. The hotel close to "old" Madison Square and the Flatiron area. Easy walking to all shopping!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Excellent location. Staff very friendly.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
In walking distances of the empire state building central park broadway 5th avenue and many more....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom monterrey, mexico

EXELENTE ubicación, caminando brodway, empirestate

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Ubicación
Cons: .?
No tiene restaurant, pero junto una deli EXELENTE, y por este momento en remodelación de la recepción, pero no importa, y el elevador un poco lento,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nice hotel located Near where I needed to be

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: #1 the location for my needs, #2 the staff, #3 the room very nice and clean!
Cons: shower head the large one had a slow drip and hard to get temp right. I would also cover the unfinished head board end it will fray in time...
Location: GREAT for my needs
I was in one of the new rooms it was fantastic... yet the shower was hard to get the right temp on and a bit of a drip... someone has already broken the handle... sad as the room is brand NEW and lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Gershwin has potential

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, inside the room
Cons: lobby, restaurant
Location: The 24 hour Fitness gym is one block away and very good especially if you like group fitness classes. Its NY, everything you need is walking distance.
They are at the last part of a long renovation. The rooms are nicely done although they are small as can be expected in New York city. Their lobby is a construction zone as is the restaurant and bar. I was there on business and I didnt really care about that so I gave them a decent rating. The staff was very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Nice modern hotel in NYC

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Awesome remodeling for the hotel rooms. Great artistic furniture and decore. Great location. If your leaving your car with the hotel, make sure to take a before picture incase anything happens to the car in their parkimg lot simce you are in NY and car theft/damage can occur.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Location to subway is the only plus

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The Gershwin hotel is a huge disappointment. Worst remodel job I have ever seen. Slow elevations, windows are paper thin. Could could hear all of the street noise as if the windows were open and the cold air comes through the bathroom windows to make for a very chilly shower experience. We absolutely hated this hotel and will never consider a return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kimberly, AL

Great location!

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The rooms have been recently renovated and they are beautiful - queen sized bed, mini fridge, radiant heated floor in the bath...and more!
Cons: The lobby had not been remodeled when we stayed but they are in the process of a makeover for the entire hotel. I'm sure it will be beautiful.
Location: Just around the corner from Madison Square Park, the Flatiron Building and all the wonderful things on 5th Avenue. Close to several subway stops.
The hotel staff was extremely nice, friendly, helpful and made our stay at The Gershwin the best experience we've had in New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is under construction-

Posted Nov 7, 2014
The hotel is under construction- no lobby- slow elevator- noisy construction noise Great locations- new rooms and bathrooms are great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Great location and nice hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Lobby
Location: Close to N/R and 4/6 train. Close to Empire State Building
I stayed at this hotel to run in the NYC Marathon. The hotel was in a great location to catch either the N/R or 4/6 trains to go to catch the Staten Island Ferry the morning of the marathon. It is also within walking distance of the Empire State Building if you want to visit there. The staff was very helpful in hailing a cab for me the morning after to catch my 6:10 a.m. train. The room was clean and updated since they are going through a remodel at the moment. The lobby could have used an upgrade but I'm guessing they are saving that remodel for last. But since I didn't spend any time in the lobby, it was not an issue for me. The price was right considering the other rates for hotels in NY during the marathon and the location was excellent.