Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Hidden gem. Out of the way of tourists and great cafe right next door. Rooms are nicely decorated and feels more personal than a chain. Bathroom looked brandnew and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Cozy in NoMad

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Good location with just a few blocks to various subway lines, & the coffeeshop/wine bar next door is above par. The main drawback is the one passenger elevator & it being programmed to take a full 10 seconds before opening the door at each floor. And communication between front desk shifts was negligible, so while you oughtn't expect to check in before 3pm, you can camp out in the lobby & use the wi-fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

お手頃な価格だけど、便利でキレイなホテル

Posted Jan 11, 2015
初めて利用させて頂きましたが、フロントスタッフに少し日本語が話せる方がいて、フレンドリーな対応に安心しました。部屋もリフォームされたようで、きれかったです。不具合があっても、すぐに対応して頂きました。宿泊者用のエレベーターが1つなので、少し時間がかかりますが、大して気になりませんでした。ホテルに食事をするレストランがありませんが、フロント横に無料でコーヒーや紅茶を飲めるミニバーがあり、2軒となりにBIRCH COFFEEという人気のカフェもあるので、良かったです。立地的にメトロの駅にも、バス停にも近いし、マンハッタンやブルックリンの観光するにとても便利が良く、ブロードウェイの劇場へのアクセスも楽に行けます。コンビニのようなお店も近くにあります。 5th Avenueに近いということもあり、夜はゴミ収集車の音や救急車の音等の騒音はありますが、それは仕方ないかと思います。 ホテル周辺の治安も良かったので、NYへいく際にはまた利用したいホテルです。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
It was a good experience be in New York City. The hotel is located in a good place where you can find two subways ans Empire State just 5min on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Under construction to be great!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Hotel was the perfect location to walk in all directions of Manhattan. The description and pictures of the room were a little deceiving, thought it would be a bit more spacious; IT WAS comfortable and warm. That was a big plus especially after long days of walking, we came during NYE, definitely a lot of walking and waiting in lines. The downside of our stay was that certain parts of the hotel were under construction. We stayed on the 6th floor. They had one elevator and sometimes the going down button wouldn't work so we would ride up to the 13th and back down to the lobby. Again, while in the elevator once we reached our floor the door would pause for an unusual amount of time and would make the guest question as if they were stuck. Just bad timing of choosing this amazing hotel, I would definitely come back once they finish the renovation because of the staff, comfortable room, and LOCATION.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very happy

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to Madison square garden walked to our event
Booked this room for my inlaws and nephews, they loved it said it was clean and sociopath staff was very friendly and were very pleased with their stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYS

Fine for size, price, and location

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: bed and bath were to expectations
Cons: Elevators. This took too much long. I would not have minded walking either, but BOTH stairwells were tarped due to construction. Consider one @ a time
Location: Flat Iron neighborhood and just about everything on Manhattan easy and accessible from here Subway and walking. Cabs readily available too.
Nothing bad to say overall with a renovation taking place there will inevitably be some inconveniences. It was a fine king room in a centrally located area of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Slovenia

Very good!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Very good hotel with little slow elevator but still ok, on good location (subway stations to lower manhattan or central park are near, times square 10min of walk).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Under renovation, but soon to be amazing!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Staff, Rates, Comfort
Cons: Slow elevator, and hurry up with the bar/restaurant on the ground floor!
I've stayed here numerous times under the old management and also during renovations. They retained the same staff, which is a major plus - they are always incredibly friendly and helpful. While the renovations have only ever been a minor inconvenience at worst, having stayed in their new rooms I can say it is worth it. Currently my only complaint with the hotel is the single elevator that is extremely slow, which I have been told will be addressed by adding a new elevator and then replacing the current one in the coming months. Overall, I highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in very nice rooms at a low (comparatively) price in a great location (3 minute walk to Madison Square Park/Flatiron Building) Also, the place caters to aspiring/current models, so the eye candy doesn't hurt much either!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: under construction
Location: central. good location
Hoel was what I expected, but I was shocked to hear that the name had changed overnight and it was no longer the Gershwin, but rather the Evelyn