Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Long weekend in NYC

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Free WiFi, breakfasts, nightly wine& cheese receptions. Clean, neat, classy; great water pressure! great staff, all were very friendly & helpful.
Cons: More towel racks & shelves in bathroom and more outlet for charging things (and using the iron!)
Location: Great location: steps from subway on 86th & Lexington Very close to most museums (Guggenheim, Whitney & Cooper Hewitt), not far from the Frick
Took our daughter there to celebrate her Univ graduation, we've been to NYC 3 times before and love to spend long weekends there. I decided this hotel on two main reasons: location and free WiFi. Bonuses: our room had a view (! a rarity in NYC!) even tho just the small street view, I love the older type of elevator, free breakfasts with wine & cheese at night. Very comfortable mattress, room very clean, simple & classy. Staff all exceptionally nice, accommodating and gracious. Small inconveniences: the lack of towel rack in the bathroom and power outlet (charging computer and hand phones for 2 ppl was a challenge). Will definitely return though. Overall much better than other boutique hotels I've stayed in. There is a chrg of $12 per day by hotel.
3 out of 5
by Ryder from Toronto

nice if you just need it for one night

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Me and my girlfriend were in town for a concert and decided to stay here. first off CAREFUL because they charge you 12.50 extra per night as a service charge which is not advertised on the Expedia page. it was a tiny room even by new york standards and I don't think I would stay there again. I'm sure I could find something better. location wise it's great though. that's the one exceptional thing about this place, right by central park, right by the subway, a bunch of shopping and entertainment nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from toronto

Excellent location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Great place, interesting character and knowledgable staff. Perfect location away from the craziness of Times Square, close to subway, shopping and restaurants. Immerse yourself into the life of a New Yorker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from North Carolina

Great boutique hotel in upper east side

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Location: Hotel is less than 1 block from the subway. Clean, safe area.
Great location! Less than 1 block from subway. Friendly and accommodating staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Terrible: cockroach, room smelled, no sink in bathroom
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: The staff does not appear to care. I asked for ice, no ice. We were gone all day until 5 pm, and the room was not clean when we returned.
I have been to this hotel before and it used to be friendlier and more customer oriented. Or maybe they just diss the Expedia customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well sited hotel close to subway and Central Park.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location and friendly staff.
Cons: The rooms are small but that is New York.
Location: We used a good restaurant across the road and a bakery on the corner. The subway was a two minute walk away.
We enjoyed our time at the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't have a view but we also didn't have street noise. The room was small and we had to shower and change in shifts and also found it difficult to store our clothes. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard. The subway is close by and Central Park and Museum Mile is a 5 minute walk away. There are good restaurants and facilities close by. We would certainly go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BJR from MA

the Franklin

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Franklin Hotel in NYC. Pluses include location and continental breakfast. There is a complimentary wine, cheese and cracker offering in late afternoon for a brief time. Walking distance to Guggenheim Museum, Central Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Fifth Ave, Park Ave. etc. Many restaurants in the area. There is also a 24 hour CVS on the block. Subway stations are within a block .On the other hand, our room was very small and more suited for one. I requested a face cloth, as there were two of us, it took over 30 hours before it arrival.. The hours of the evening cheese and crackers and beverage should have been posted in the room. Since the time was limited we missed it. Sit down space for breakfast was limited. There was only one chair in our room. Also the on line connection frequently cut out. We found this could be remedied by standing in a hall area opposite the desk in the lobby. When we left we were charged an extra service charge. We don't understand what this is for as we were quoted a total amount when we booked on line through an agency, not directly with the hotel. I hope it wasn't for the facecloth we requested. When we left we were told the next time we might be eligible for a room upgrade. In spite of the minuses I would return and I have given a high rating to the Franklin. I would recommed this lovely NYC hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Little things done well...but Franklin fell short

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: beautiful room decor Con: tv signal poor, little channel choices... $12 service charge for... I don't know. The $12 charge is usually for a gym or pool, neither of which were at this hotel. Midnight concierge was pleasant but check-in concierge staff left room for professionalism improvement; being concierge is more than paperwork, it is also about making you feel welcome and desired as a guest/client. I felt that part of the experience fell short. The room decor/setup were nice, the bed comfy but the grainy tv image and aforementioned staff and service charge knocks down my rating to below standard.