Ratings based on 868 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will NOT stay here again

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Water in the room got hot pretty quick.
Cons: Wifi, TV quality and staff assistance.
Location: The hotel is close to a subway entrance. It is also close to central park and the MET.
This place was a disappointment. Small rooms with no dressers or drawers. The wifi quality was very poor and would drop signal every 5 seconds. No other source for internet left me unable to do work. The tv would power on but there was nothing but snow on 90% of the channels. I was told we could get another room in the morning as they were sold out for the night. In the morning, the front desk told us that they would not move us and that there was nothing they could do. I saw plenty of guest checking in that day. The least they could have done is move us. I will not ever be staying here again. I have stayed in the city a few times on business and there are plenty of other places to stay, in Manhattan, that are reasonable in price and better in quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire, UK

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Hotel is small but very comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Price was very good. It was close to subway so getting around was good, and within walking distance to Central Park, and plenty of eating places. One drawback was no clothes space in our room, but we managed 5 nights just using suitcases. There are larger rooms available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Lisa Grossberh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to leave a review on the Franklin Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you loved our central location, and I am happy to invite you back!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Wanted it to be better

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location was very good.
Cons: Please refer to above "broken systems" along with better pillows and just fess up about the service fee that covers the "complementary" stuff.
Location: Museums, shopping transportation.
Very nice staff, but the hotel is in need of an upgrade. The key card system was broken so staff had to take you to your room every time you returned. The cable system that controlled wifi and tv reception was messed up so that wasn't so hot. Then there's the "service fee" of $12 charged in addition to room and tax. This is obviously for the wine hour and breakfast that are advertised as "complementary" but just add it on! The 24 hr coffee/espresso service is a machine (and the decaf was broken), soooo-not very impressed especially for the room rate and the service fee. The room itself was ok and again the staff was very nice, but they shouldn't have to apologize for broken systems. Good location, close to everything .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a response. We are sincerely sorry for the misunderstanding. Our key card machine has since been replaced/ We would like to thank you for staying and wish to have you stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley CA

Great location, staff, amenities-small room

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: We liked the location, the architecture and updates, the continental breakfast and wine and cheese event, the staff, and the elevator.
Cons: We have no complaints.
Location: Museums, casual restaurants, subway, all of Manhatten
My teenage son and I spent a week in the heart of NYC and we both loved this hotel. The rooms are small- this is true. But, the hotel is in the heart of Manhatten and the price is affordable so it's almost expected that the room would be tiny. We were out all day every day but we were comfortable relaxing in the hotel with a little tv in the evening. The subway was convenient, museum mile is just 2 blocks away, and there's some lovely noodle and pizza joints nearby for the casual diner. We loved the continental breakfast and ate well. And, most afternoons we stopped in for the wine and cheese event and chatted with other guests (no worries, my son drank the apple juice or made a hot chocolate). We're from the San Francisco Bay area so used to an urban environment and the Franklin Hotel was perfect for us. We'd both return in a minute (as soon as we save up some more frequent flyer miles!).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Zwei Erwachsene und ein 17-jähriger in EINEM Bett mit EINER Bettdecke!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank You
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Posted Apr 9, 2015
On arrival the hotel staff was almost overly helpful and extremely eager to please. While they remained ice and helpful, the enthusiasm waned a bit over our week long stay. Free breakfast was nice, but just read and cereal. The one thing myself and my husband would have loved was a real bathroom door. There was no privacy to be had at all in the room itself because the door didn't shut all the way and was basically a window shutter. Otherwise, a quaint hotel and good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review on the Franklin Hotel. We hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Being close to 86th street train station (on an express and local green subway lines), it's really quick to get to major tourist spots. The hotel's a short stroll away from central park and the Guggenheim museum. Even during the cold weather, the hotel is warm and cozy (a bit small, but decent size for New York). Breakfast is rather simple (bread rolls, cereal, breakfast bars, juice, tea/coffee), but the staff are friendly and willing to help out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback and would love to have you stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff. Wonderful location.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location, the beds, the staff, wine and cheese receptions.
Location: Once block from subway and bus lines. A perfect location.
All in all, a comfortable, clean room. Some upgrades are needed. A guest should not have to climb under the desk and unplug the lamp in order to gain access to power to charge her phone. The electrical outlets in the bathroom need replacement. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. we take into account all guest feedback and will do whatever we can to remedy this problem. We hope to have you stay with us again! Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The staff are amazing- knowledgeable, happy to help. The hotel has a great, old charm, the room was very quiet and comfortable, and the location is close to the park and museums. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review on the Franklin Hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon. Best, LIsa G
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to where we needed to be.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: A clock in the room. An ice machine that guests can access without employee help.
Location: The hotel is close to Central Park.
The room was small, but comfortable. The amenities expected were were below expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Lisa Grossberg, Hotel Management
Dear Merl, Thank you for the review we look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards, Lisa Grossberg