Ratings based on 894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Europ

Disappointing area, disappointing room space

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The staff
Location: Dirty street.
Too small room, tiny bath room. One cant even open the wardrobe door. Noisy airconditioning. Street noise too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

excellent uptown location, reasonable price

Posted May 14, 2015
This is a small older hotel that is ideally located for uptown activities - close to central park, the Met, the Guggenheim and other art galleries and excellent restaurants. The rooms are very small. A nice breakfast is served in the lobby which has gotten just a little shabby. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VANCOUVER BC CANADA

CONVENIENT TO CENTRAL PARK AND MUSEUM

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: CONVENIENCE AND LOCATION
Location: SUBWAY IS CLOSE. MADISON AVE IS NEARBY. SHORT WALK TO CENTRAL PARK AND METROPOLITAN MUSEUM.DIVERSE AREA FULL OF SURPRISES. RESTAURANTS NEARBY
THIS WAS MY SECOND STAY AT THE FRANKLIN. STAFF WERE VERY ACCOMMODATING AND FRIENDLY. ONE NEGATIVE. CLOSET AND BATHROOM ARE A LITTLE SMALL AND TIGHT QUARTERS AROUND SINK. LOCATION AND SERVICE MAKE UP FOR THE NEGATIVES
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Small friendly hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: As above.
Cons: Iron & ironing board in room.
Location: As long as your fit quite a few attractions are in walking distance, & other attractions a yellow cab is easy to find.
We chose this hotel as it was near to where our son is living, & we would defiantly stay here again. All staff we came across were very helpful, polite & nothing was to much trouble. Our room was small, but no surprise as we booked a small room, it was perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean with quality bedding & furnishings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cozy!

Posted May 6, 2015
Very cozy room! My husband and I got the small queen room and it was small, but still comfortable. A little over priced but I guess that's New York City for ya. Great location, lots of choice of food around. Also, then staff were very nice and accommodating! I would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom México, D.F.

Hotel tranquilo en barrio agradable.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: La limpieza y la atención del personal.
Location: El hotel está bien comunicado, al lado del Central Park y de museos. Además hay una estación de metro que facilita moverse por la ciudad.
En general el hotel está bien. Las habitaciones, o al menos la que me tocó, es bastante pequeña, pero tenía caja de seguridad y eso era importante para mí. También se agradece el desayuno y la cortesía de vino y queso por la tarde, aunque el espacio destinado para comer es muy reducido y a veces no es posible encontrar sitio. Lo único que no me gustó fue la calefacción, estaba muy alta y no había posibilidad de regularla, con lo cual tenía que tener la ventana abierta para que entrara un poco de viento fresco. El personal es muy amable y pude dejar mi equipaje en resguardo antes del check-in y después del check-out. La limpieza en la habitación me pareció buena.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Nice, boutique style hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: atmosphere, room was very nice, updated in the old building. location to what I needed
Cons: I don't think anything can be done about the locks and the noise because the doors were so close together.
Location: location on upper east side. not too far from museums, very close to subway stations
I really liked the ambiance, the little sitting rooms on the main level and the always available coffee machine! I never had to wait long for the elevator and the staff was very courteous - opening the door of the elevator all the time (old fashioned elevator with exterior door). my only complaint was that my room was so close to the next room, I thought someone was trying to get into my room when they were getting into their own! However, I couldn't hear anything from the other room - noises, etc. not a ton of restaurants around but excellent suggestions by hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The hotel is quite nice....good location. The staff is extraordinary for a small hotel. Good linens and pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom , FL

Convenient Old world charm

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Room was quiet, but tiny. Liked the continental breakfast, great coffee machine makes lattes and cappuccinos. Yogurt, granola, cereal, fruit, brads, cheese, juices provided. Location near Lexington subway line is great, also, proximity to museums. Hotel was built in 1929, so has character. Ideal for single traveler. Attentive staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will NOT stay here again

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Water in the room got hot pretty quick.
Cons: Wifi, TV quality and staff assistance.
Location: The hotel is close to a subway entrance. It is also close to central park and the MET.
This place was a disappointment. Small rooms with no dressers or drawers. The wifi quality was very poor and would drop signal every 5 seconds. No other source for internet left me unable to do work. The tv would power on but there was nothing but snow on 90% of the channels. I was told we could get another room in the morning as they were sold out for the night. In the morning, the front desk told us that they would not move us and that there was nothing they could do. I saw plenty of guest checking in that day. The least they could have done is move us. I will not ever be staying here again. I have stayed in the city a few times on business and there are plenty of other places to stay, in Manhattan, that are reasonable in price and better in quality.