Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Boston

Very Happy with the Experience

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: A little sprucing would go a long way. Rugs in entry looked tired but nothing major. It is what it is; a small European style hotel. We enjoyed oursel
Location: Location was great for what we needed.
We were very pleased with our stay. As other reviews indicated, it is a small hotel and very similar to the typical European hotel. Rooms are small but perfectly adequate for our 2 night stay. Modest continental breakfast, wine happy hour are lovely amenities. No restaurant but there are so many wonderful restaurants in NY why would you need it? The staff was very gracious. The hotel surpassed the reviews we saw and it was a great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Perfect for the a museum mile

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Coffee machine needed to be repaired
Location: See above
Everybody who worked there was welcoming, helpful with nothing too much trouble - even going out in a thunderstorm to get us a cab Outstanding location for Manhattan' s culture Small, intimate and quaint hotel and we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks, UK

One of very few hotels in Upper Manhattan, New Yor

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff attitude, comfortable beds and location.
Cons: We can't think of how it could be improved given how they have best used the space.
Location: The leading art museums, Frick, Guggenheim and Metroplitan are all close by. Sightseeing can be done by public transport, cabs or tourist buses
We were made very welcome and surprisingly, a very good continental breakfast was included and a "happy hour" in the early evening where a glass of wine, cheese and crackers were made available. The rooms are small but then so are most flats in Manhattan. We had a couple of issues with the room re TV not working and no hair drier but we were given another room immediately without any fuss and the matters were resolved. The location is perfect for sightseeing, the Frick, Guggenheim and Metropolitan museums were near and Central Park with its many interesting users was also near. There are hundreds of eating places ranging from simple diners to sophisticated restaurants catering for all tastes. I would stay there again and forunately, Expedia gave us an excellent fly/ stay package which was great value. The Franklin is expensive on a short notice basis but we booked 5 months in advance so it was more affordable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Rough around the edges

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Tiny tiny room. 24 hour drink machine broken for 7 days. Breakfast room had 4 tables only, meaning we paid for Starbucks every day despite also paying for hotel breakfast. Room so small you cannot open suitcase fully. Wardrobe large enough for 2 shirts. Door frames and skirting had been sanded, filled but not painted. Bathroom so small you have to leave door open to be able to bend down to undress and sit side facing on toilet to avoid loo roll holder stabbing you in the leg. All tv channels fuzzy. Additional $12 per night tax despite booking through Expedia. Mixture of rude and disinterested staff and some helpful. Nice location. Rooms and hotel were clean. Just rough around the edges for a not particularly cheap hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Awesome room although small. Great location. Within 4-5 blocks from Central Park. Many restaurants in the area. Overall excellent experience. Pleasantly surprised
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Museums!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Nice place to stay. Walking distance to the Met, Central Park, the Guggenheim, and subway. Lots of good places to eat. VERY nice staff. Decent Breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Very small room that lacked simple basics....

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and we were able to walk to Lenox Hill Hospital.
Cons: Have working coffee urns in the breakfast eating area would be nice as well as providing an ice bucket in the room. Lastly, make rooms larger.
Location: The location is a residential neighborhood within walking distance (10 blocks) of Lenox Hill hospital.
The room was much smaller although the bed was very comfortable. Our stay was only one night and it was close to the hospital that we needed to go to in the morning. Considering the price it was overpriced by approximately $50.00 .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

shabby and not chic

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location is good if you want to go to the Met or the Whitney.
Cons: Just about everything could be improved! Even the colour of the walls is cheapest possible paint, hospital green.
Location: The Met and the Whitney, Central Park
I'd only recommend this hotel to a young couple, newly in love. The rooms are so small there is barely enough space for the bed, let alone your suitcases! Similarly, if you are either tall --- or, er, sorry to say, fat --- there is no "wiggle room"! The elevator was out of order twice during our 5 night stay. The coffee machine always out of service in the also too tiny, weeny breakfast room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel elevator not working

Posted Aug 3, 2014
This is the 2nd time my review is rejected and I have not used any profanity or mentioned personal details and described my experience accurately. I'm trying again - but this time I would appreciate if you tell me why is it rejected . The hotel has an elevator which repeatedly stopped working. The hotel stuff was not helpful and were trying to just ignore the problems this has caused.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Hotel staff was amazing. Loved the old look of the hotel, it made me feel like I was in England. Very comfortable. Awesome location.