Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location, close to everything

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This is a great location, within walking distance of Times Square; trully a Gem! It was affordable, very clean and comfortable and the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel 15 minutes from Times Square

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: I liked the cleanliness, the comfort, and the location of the hotel. I also really liked the staff.
Cons: The beds were a bit hard so maybe adding a pillow top to the bed to make it softer for guests who prefer a softer bed. Really, it is already great.
Location: The location of the hotel is close to the subway so you can get anywhere fast. Times Square is really close.
From day one this hotel exceeded our expectations. We arrived at 10am and were able to check in early. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It rained while we were there so they gave us umbrellas to use. They informed us of places to go. The room was cleaned daily, so we always came back to made beds, which I love. The beds were a bit hard which I didn't mind but my husband did, still he really liked the hotel. The neighborhood was safe and quiet. The subway was also very close, so we could get anywhere very quickly. This was a truly great hotel and if I ever go back to New York, I would stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Near Jacob Javitz Center

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient to convention center; close to penn station/train; easy walk & more vibrant areas, though I would not walk alone day or night
Cons: Closet/wardrobe situation---we ended up laying garments flat ON TOP of the wardrobe so they would be flat; sense of security when approaching hotel.
Location: Nothing to do in immediate area...walk/cab AWAY from the area and begin your day.
Came to NYC for convention so proximity to JJ Center was top priority. Upon arrival (at 11:30 pm), I wondered if we had made a HUGE mistake. The surrounding area is very seedy & doesnot exude any sense of comfort or security. No problem with check-in with friendly, courteous staff on duty; every staff member we met was A Room was tiny..even by NY standards but beds were comfortable, pillows as well; air conditioner was a bit temperamental but worked fine. Bathroom was clean if small--two women traveling with a lot of makeup and hair product would find it hard to store items in bathroom!! BRING YOUR OWN CONDITIONER--the water is hard and hotel doe not provide.The wall-mounted gel and shampoo dispensers of product...which appear to be the same even though labeled differently...are the sole toiletries for bathing/washing. There is no closet in the room, but a small wardrobe provides about a foot of hanging space.This is fine unless you bring a suit or a dress...hanging rod will not allow garments to hang fully extended. wardrobe also has the room safe inside and garments rest on the safe...and wrinkle. No ironing board but you could press items on your bed, I suppose. Having said all this, we slept well after long days at the convention center and walking MILES! No outside noise and we were on the front of the hotel...though we did run the aIr conditioner/fan at ALL times while in the room. No restaurant/bar a negative for us. Probably will not choose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, convenient with good service

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This a very small hotel with few amenities. But it is clean, quiet for midtown NYC, and very conveniently located. We were very pleased and will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by minismum from scotland

Handy hotel if you get a room.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to attractions we wanted to go to.
Cons: Having a room for you when you have paid in advance to book one! Not lying about why.
Location: Location was ok within walking distance of most of the big attractions.
Had terrible experience. Landed to discover we had no room had been sent email to contact hotel while we were in the air with no internet! Staff lied about what had happened instead of saying they were overbooked due to comic convention! Ended up spending first night sleeping on air bed in staff area with no secure door just a curtain separating us from anyone who passed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monkey George from Boston

Clean and comfy hotel and room.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Not that they can do anything about it, but one elevator so it takes time to get up and down at busy times.
Location: Convenient to the venue we had the event at. The restaurants in the area were excellent in walking distance.
In NYC for an event held a local venue. Convenient to excellent restaurants. Clean rooms, but on the small side. Go with the two doubles versus the large size beds, seemed to offer more space. Very friendly hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah and James from Auckland, New Zealand

Amazing location, Would definitely recommend!!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
You really couldn't beat the location, so close to all of main Manhattan attractions and the neighbourhood felt 'safe' for an otherwise non-big city country girl. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions about transportation and getting to & from JFK Airport. Room and lobby were warm and clean. The room itself was a shoebox but I would expect that in West Manhattan/location. The room still had everything we needed and was quite modern decor, VERY comfortable bed full of pillows and duvet, quiet - just what we needed after 36 hours of travel from New Zealand. Free wifi and several TV channels included. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from E. Aurora, NY

Very conveniently located near Penn Station.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Friendly staff, quick check-in, will definitely stay there again. Small room, but very modern, nice, comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Oregon

The GEM hotel definitely lives up to its name!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, friendly staff, and reliable internet.
Location: The hotel is located about 1/2 mile from Times Square. It is conveniently located to a cross town bus stop and the subway.
This hotel is in a great location in Manhattan. The rooms are small, as are many places in New York, but they are very modern and clean. They provided reliable wireless and wired internet for free. Coffee, tea and two complimentary water bottles were provided. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for good value, friendly staff, and a comfortable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Stayed for 1 night, good value and decent proximity to subway to get around the city