Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel was very clean. Room was small but in good repair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convention /perfection

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Location to Javit Centre.
Cons: Internet
Location: Penn Station
The Gem is a perfect stay for attending the Javit Centre ! A quick walk and you are there ! We were satisfied with our room .The staff was fantastic ,making for cheerful exchange in and out of the hotel ! They took care of our special request . The hotel is simple and clean . It was helpful to be near Pen Station too !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Nice hotel near landmarks

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Price and location.
Location: Easy to walk to bars and restaurants. short walk to Times Square.
Nice hotel within easy walking distance to Times Square. Although room small provided everything you could need. Nearby to a choice of restaurants. Free wifi, free water & coffee. Comfy bed. Staff extremely helpful especially as this was our first visit to New York. Ashley at the front desk very helpful and pleasant. Easy to walk to bus station or Penn station. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Hotel acogedor.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Situado a 10 minutos a pie de Times Sq y a 5 minutos de la parada de Penn St la ubicación es excelente, además no está en una avenida principal y eso hace que dormir sea fácil.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Pleased

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: I like the staff. They were so kind and helpful. The room was also nicely updated and very clean.
Cons: We didn't have a coffee maker in our room. I think that was more of an oversight, since we arrived very very last minute.
Location: It was near/in the garment district in NYC and fairly close to Times Square. New York Times building was also within walking distance.
Our flight home was cancelled twice and the airline left the impression we would be stuck in NYC for three additional nights. On very short notice we booked three nights at the Gem Hotel. We ended up getting a flight out of NYC after 2 nights. The hotel management and staff (and also everyone at Expedia) were so incredibly sympathetic and understanding. They allowed us to cancel the final night with no hassle. After dealing with an incredibly difficult airline, we were almost overwhelmed by their kindness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniellefrom connecticut

My Review

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Not too bad. Comfortable bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Northern NJ

An OK stay

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Gem hotel was an OK stay... The area it was in had horrible parking though but hey it's New York city. I also never been in a room that was in the I guess you could kinda say basement. At first I thought it was a little weird but I liked the fact that it was the only room down there. The room was small but cozy. My boyfriend and I didn't have any complaints except the ice and coffee machine was outside of where our room was so we cold hear people talking outside our room. The 12pm check out time was a plus though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Syedafrom new jersey

it was ok stay

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
it was okk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Franklinfrom Bel Air Md

convention stay

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
parking issues with recommended lot attendants very rude cold night attendant would not come out had to turn car around so he could see tag charge more than hotel said