Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Pleased

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: I like the staff. They were so kind and helpful. The room was also nicely updated and very clean.
Cons: We didn't have a coffee maker in our room. I think that was more of an oversight, since we arrived very very last minute.
Location: It was near/in the garment district in NYC and fairly close to Times Square. New York Times building was also within walking distance.
Our flight home was cancelled twice and the airline left the impression we would be stuck in NYC for three additional nights. On very short notice we booked three nights at the Gem Hotel. We ended up getting a flight out of NYC after 2 nights. The hotel management and staff (and also everyone at Expedia) were so incredibly sympathetic and understanding. They allowed us to cancel the final night with no hassle. After dealing with an incredibly difficult airline, we were almost overwhelmed by their kindness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Had my family fly in for the holiday and we enjoyed the hotel and what they had to offer, only thing was it was a little smaller for a family of 4 but overall we had a good time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Convenient, sketchy location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
While the hotel looks central to a lot of things most tourists want to see while in NY, the actual area it is located at is a bit sketchy, particularly at night. When we checked in, quite late at night, we had to wait nearly 20 minutes for hotel staff to show up. This was inconvenient, but more than anything made me worry that the hotel is unattended at night. Given that there are no security features at the hotel, such as front doors that lock and are accessible by room key only after a certain time, makes me weary. The room itself was tiny but fine for a nights stay. Could use a paint job though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hôtel bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Hôtel bien situé près de Times square, à 10min de Penn station, très pratique pour venir de l'aéroport. L'hôtel est simple mais la chambre est propre et calme. La chambre est nettoyée tous les jours. Petites attentions comme le café le matin ou le parapluie proposé les jours de pluie. Personnel agréable. Je recommande cet hôtel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne B.from St. Louis

Would stay again.

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms, very quiet, comfy beds. A bit tight with 3 people in a double room doable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Eh...

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was small, wifi was weak and slow, elevator was loud (could be heard through the walls), air con butted up against the bed and made a terrible noise. But, it was cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Betty

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location. Great staff. Small room.

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Very small room. The hotel staff were very helpful.