Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Convenient, sketchy location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
While the hotel looks central to a lot of things most tourists want to see while in NY, the actual area it is located at is a bit sketchy, particularly at night. When we checked in, quite late at night, we had to wait nearly 20 minutes for hotel staff to show up. This was inconvenient, but more than anything made me worry that the hotel is unattended at night. Given that there are no security features at the hotel, such as front doors that lock and are accessible by room key only after a certain time, makes me weary. The room itself was tiny but fine for a nights stay. Could use a paint job though.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

Shocking what you get in Manhattan for over $200

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff were friendly but not very knowledgable.
Cons: Just about everything. Price needs to come down if this is what you are offering.
Location: Good location - near the theater district.
This is a place for a single person who is going to be out all day and only stay here to sleep. We were completely dismayed. The room was so small, one of us had to be in the bed if the other was to move around. There was about a foot space around the entire bed. If one is out all day coming back only to crash, this might be bearable - but our trip required some down time in the room and space to move around. There was no lobby and no other facilities and so no other place to be. We heard all the foot traffic coming to check in from where our room was. The walls were dirty and the drapes stained. Even for Manhattan this is a bad deal. Don't believe this is all you can get in Manhattan for this price. Yotel is comparable in price and absolutely amazing in terms of what you get for about the same and is only blocks away from the Gem - in an even better location. We knew that being in the Gem would ruin our trip and so coughed up the same again to rebook at Yotel. We kissed a lot of money goodbye but we were so happy that we left. Not only that, we were not the only people to check out early due to dissatisfaction. Another couple did the same when we were there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Fair value...walking distance to many manhattan ve

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Staff very helpfull and agreeable. Late checkout and parking suggestions very usefull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, rooms
Location: It had places to eat nearby, subway station a block away.
We got to the city earlier than the check in time, but they let us drop our luggage. Upon our arrival we had two bottled water in our room and just when we arrived the concierge called to see if everything was good, needless to say, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was great, it had mini fridge and a small closet. Room was always clean, they are eco-friendly. It is everything you want in a hotel in NYC. It had places to eat nearby, it had great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australis

Clean, small rooms

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of rooms and the staff. It was quiet inside even bough it was close to lots of big roads.
Location: There were lots of great restaurants nearby, but just the last 100mtrs to the hotel feels a little isolated. It was a very busy area.
The hotel was close to Hells Kitchen, it felt a little unsafe at times. Even though we were reassured the area was relatively safe. The staff were helpful, the rooms clean and the air con worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barbados

Neat hotel close to where I wanted to go.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the locations that I needed in the city.
Cons: Every room should have a small refrigerator to place drinks in.
Location: It is in a great location, one that is not noisy and congested.
We enjoyed our time there but the room needed a small refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly front desk staff and housekeeping. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by sgfrom doylestown

Very satisfied

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were pleasantly surprised. The room was not as small as many New York Hotels and very comfortable. If you're a walker, which we are, the location is fine. It's clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh PA

Good value

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult to improve the general area surrounding the hotel!
Location: My favorite is the Highline. Also enjoyed the rooftop Press Lounge at the Print on 11th Ave with it's sweeping views of the NY skyline.
I usually stay at the GEM Chelsea, I prefer the surrounding location and access to lower Manhattan. The GEM Hudson Yards is in a bit grittier area, not unsafe, just lacking ambience. Accessible to Broadway, Highline and restaurants on 11th Ave, 15 - 20 minutes walking. Closest subway station at 34th near Penn Station. Minimal breakfast options close by. The hotel has an arrangement with a small cafe/coffee shop about a block away, unfortunately, it doesn't open until 11am on weekends. The compact room on the 5th floor had 2 very comfortable double beds. Everything was in good working order, very clean and quiet (except the toilet had a long, loud flush!). Free wifi could be a bit sluggish. Generally, a good basic value.