Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real Gem

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Great welcome, room, view, location and price. Not one con, problem or regret!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to subway line 7

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Hotel is easy to find,easy to go out. The subway 7 station is just opposit to the road. Maybe due to the road construction the car drivers are horning even in the midnight which You can hear clearly. No dinning hall for breakfast,you need to go outside. The staff there is quite nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland,OH

Weekend in NYC.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The staff hete is excellent -- very helpful about issues concerning not just the hotel, but the neighborhood itself. The location is unbeatable, with a few blocks of public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Giulianova

Ottimo Hotel, a due passi dalla metro

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Siamo stati davvero bene, il persona dell'albergo è molto cortese e disponibile per qualsiasi esigenza. L'albergo si trova in un ottima posizione, molto ben collegato, le stanza sono senza fronzoli ma molto pulite e calde. Peccato per i lavori in corso in quel periodo in strada, ma non dipendeva da loro. Ottimo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Broken Stuff

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was super.
Cons: The little things pull the rating down.
Location: One block to Whole Foods Market.
The hotel staff was really nice. Unfortunately the facilities were challenging. Shower did not regulate properly; water pressure poor. Unable to take shower. Heater was busted too. Elevator door scraped when opening and closing. Toilet seat didn't fit correctly; had to hold it open. TV and phone were busted so they upgraded my room with the problems discussed above. Yet it was clean and the staff was really, really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Vancouver

Wonderful location, great price, free wifi.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gem for two nights after spending a night at the Marriott East Side. My first impression with the Gem was excellent, however, the hotel had some small issues that added up to be quite annoying. The toilet leaked a little (I fixed it), the remote didn't control the TV (had to get up to change volume and power on/off), the in-room phone only worked on speaker phone, and my room was shoe-box sized. With two big suitcases and two carry on we had essentially no room left on the floor and had to crawl over the (very comfortable) bed to get in/out of the room. Other than that, the room itself was very nice, has a jacuzzi tub, staff gave me excellent recommendations nearby. I really wanted to love the hotel but i think I most loved New York. The only thing I didn't was the car service I was offered. They said it was way cheaper than a yellow cab (it wasn't) and that I could pay with my visa since I was out of cash (the driver didn't take visa so I had to go to an ATM and get robbed by my bank for taking out money in the USA).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom g

Good location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We were accused of breaking the toilet that we never got to use because it was broken when we got there ,and they blamed us for breaking it he the manager called it suspicious what did that mean we did not understand that terrible attitude towards us accused us of everything very disappointed will never return there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sheldonfrom milwaukee

perfect location

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nazine was wonderful!!! loved it- for NYC it was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Good location. A little noisy.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Good location. A little overpriced compared to some others. Wifi was poor and occasionally not working.