Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by birders from LOS ANGELES

GREAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL !!! GREAT STAFF

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING .LOCATION...WHOLE FOODS...
Location: I WENT ALL OVER
GREAT BEDS....THIS WAS JUST A REAL '''GEM''' I STAY IN SOHO A LOT AND I WILL BE BACK TO THE GEM.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Buffalo, NY

Too noisy

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Add curtains.
Rooms were too small. There was a lot of noise from outside and poor sound insulation. Curtains were missing and but for a shade the window allowed for a lot of light to enter. Was charged for using safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at GEM Hotel 3/3-4.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Great bed. Friendly front desk staff.
Location: East Village is nearby - TONS of things to do. Russ & Daughters on Houston is a great for bagels/smoked salmon/fish.
Hotel was great. Everything was clean and nice and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to the downtown area.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Great pleasant staff. Clean modern bathroom. A safe in room. Free wi fi.
Cons: Some of the furnishings, although serviceable, are a little worn, but that did not detract from the overall experience.
Location: Close to the East Village and the Lower East Side and the ever revolving, changing restaurant and bar scene. Very close to the New Museum.
I had a great stay at the GEM Soho. It was close to all of my downtown destinations. Whole Foods, with its prepared food selections (to cut down on restaurant costs) was close by. Bowery Spirits, for wine, also close by. Restaurants in the East Village and Lower East Side, also close by. Great staff, always ready to answer questions and respond to guest requests!! I have no real complaints. A great hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mary from michigan

Nice and comfortable hotel for the price

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Very Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful Staff! Convenient location, walkable to lovely restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The mattress
Location: 2nd Ave F-Stop is RIGHT OUT FRONT, awesome!
This turned out better than I expected. It was clean, and sure it was a small room, but it's Manhattan, you really need to think about how much you're paying for this room ($129-ish/night) compared to the other crappy rooms you could get in WAY worse locations. The F-stop is RIGHT in front of the door basically, so you have access to the city AND there is a Whole Foods half-a-block away, so you can grab water and snacks to keep your NYC visit cheap and healthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by College Mom from Florida

Convenient, Clean, Quiet

Posted Feb 3, 2014
As our flight was due in late, I was assured by the staff that our room would be waiting for us even though we were arriving near midnight. It was Super Bowl Weekend, and I was concerned we'd get bumped. No worries were needed, as the hotel was easy to find, the succinct lobby was easily accessible, the staff was prompt and efficient, and the room was already toasty warm when we arrived. Beds were comfortable, decent sized NYC bath with respectable, clean white sheets and towels. Shower was hot water ready, and the bottles of water in the room were a welcome sight after a long evening's travel. Some street noise as expected on the weekends, but our room had a great view of the neighboring park. We will definitely keep Gem on our short list.
3 out of 5
by Michelle from Qld, Australia

Basic hotel in Soho

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: The place could do with a complete make over it was like something from out late 70's
Location: Good location close to met station and some good restaurants nearby. Whole food shop across road.
Room was small, there was not enough room to open cases.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Soho hotel with minimal facilities

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Room was ok but shower didn't work and heating system was spotty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014