Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
This property is under renovation. Construction noise in the morning and only one, very slow elevator. Good stair workout though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, au

Good, not great.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Staff were inconsistent. Some were good, some were odd. The rooms were great, comfortable. We were given an upgrade, the room was bigger but was a twin share room, for a couple. The staff were confused about us not wanting the upgrade. We wanted the king suite we originally booked. Really nice rooms, but nothing extra on offer. No coffee facilities in room, however there is a great cafe next door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Want superb service?

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Design, staff (always considerate and helpful), location
Cons: Hotel is in the process of refurbishment, so it would be unfair to comment until work is completed.
Staff were unfailingly courteous, considerate, sincerely cheerful and exceptionally helpful. The only negative in my room was the antiquated air conditioning, which was sometimes noisy. That said, the hotel is halfway through refurbishment so undoubtedly the AC unit will be soon replaced or repaired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pretty nice stay, just the room is very small. But overall it's really good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Hotel in great location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Vintage decor, location
Cons: the slow elevator
Loved the vintage decor, great location to walk everywhere, friendly staff. My only complaint is the slow elevator. They need another elevator. Other than that it was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DMV

Cute...but under construction

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel is cute. They are undergoing massive renovations. The room was clean. A tad small, but then again it is New York. The staff was nice. Valet parking is $50 for an SUV. I didn't know that - the website says $40.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debra from Fairfax, VA

Excellent stay, centrally located, fabulous staff.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location!... and I found a great deal online for two nights stay.
Cons: Shower had lukewarm water one morning. Next morning it was hot.
Location: Very close to Madison Square Park, Flatiron building, Empire State Building.
We stayed at the Gershwin Hotel for two nights. The hotel was centrally located. Staff was superb. They are currently renovating some of the floors of the hotel. We were not bothered by this at all. Our room was WONDERFUL. Comfortable, love the decor. Our first morning, water for shower was lukewarm. Second morning was hot. Not sure what the issue was, but certainly not a game changer for us. Essen is just down the street, offering quick food choices for breakfast, but they have just about anything you'd want. Snacks, sandwiches, hot food, coffee, etc. Kind of upscale cafeteria with seating. Very reasonable prices for New York! We ate breakfast and reviewed our plans for the day. We used subway for transportation, which was just a few blocks away.
1 out of 5
by MD from Southeast USA

Do not stay at this hotel.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Only the beds.
Cons: Everything. See the above note.
Location: Location is semi-business midtown with a nice coffee shop next door.
We stayed at this hotel because of a "sale" on an internet site. Never again. Do not go there. The staff was pleasant and worked hard, and the place was superficially clean. I only had to kill one large roach in the bathroom. The bed was relatively new and comfortable. However, the whole place is dark, depressing and dingy with chipped paint, rusty hinges, cracked and chipped floors, horrible showers and old funky barely workable barely functioning window unit air conditioners. The hotel is not ready for guests and gives a poor impression highlighted by the curtain barriers hiding mystery spaces in the dark lobby, the huge corner pile of barely hidden construction materials and the large dumpster out front. New York has better hotels even at this price. If this is the only hotel you can afford and must go to the city---you will live through the experience. Otherwise, chose another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr Jorge from Coral GablesMiami, Fl

Close to everything

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: Good location, in the middle of Manhattan
Very nice staff, It is in construction/renovation, I hope next time, it will more comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Is a great location

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The beds and the location.
Cons: The closet space or a table,
Location: Union square,
Is a great location, near Union Square and subway stations. The staff is very friendly, the beds are incredible. Now is under renovation so is noisy, and the room does not have a closet or a good space for clothes, shoes etc. But you can get a great price.