Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Gwen from Boston

BUMPED -- never got to stay...

Posted Apr 17, 2014
I had one night reserved here, but found out upon arrival that the group previously staying in our room had not returned for a timely check-out, leaving no space for us. They did secure us a room at another hotel for the same rate, however, the replacement offered was in Times Square, which is a part of town I loathe & always avoid! I would have appreciated a phone call warning me about the predicament as soon as they became aware of it, as I would not have wasted time showing up first at the Gershwin on E. 27th, when we were actually staying on W. 47th. I was also given faulty information about the valet parking offered at the replacement hotel, which was a crucial element of our stay, as we'd driven in from Boston. Luckily, the staff at the new hotel was gracious enough to accommodate our parking needs, despite the incorrect information I was told at the Gershwin. No discount or complimentary offer of any kind was made, which is too bad, because based on photos, reviews & location, I would have loved to have tried the Gershwin. Now, I never will, as I was thoroughly unimpressed with their efforts to provide a high level of customer service. It was a frustrating & stressful experience, that forced us to drive straight through Times Square at 5:30pm on a weekday, causing us to be an hour late to our Seder dinner, which was the whole/only reason for our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great hotel and Location recommend this hotel. Excellent staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For a cheap hotel, it's great.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: If you do your research, nothing could be improved while they remodel.
Location: Perfectly centered in Mid-Town in the Flat Iron District. Not too much open at night, but everything else is a cab ride away.
Totally great experience. Inexpensive, clean, and reminiscent of the roaring 20's. Bathrooms are old, but clean and functional. Rooms have hardwood floors and cleaning services were extraordinary. Very pleased with our weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sniders from Kansas City

The staff is very accomodating

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The history of an old building... thinking about how it withstood all the years in NYC.
Cons: Add some shelving to hide the pipes in the bathroom, which would also provide additional storage there.
Location: Subway is just a block away, which provides cheap transportation going uptown to Times Square/Theatre District or downtown to see the Statue, 911, etc
We recently spent several days at the Gershwin and Mohammed & staff were very pleasant and made us feel right at home. Please note - this is a VERY old hotel with small rooms, deep tubs and slow elevator, so don't expect a Hyatt Hotel experience. It's quaint and has updated decor surrounded by the original vintage architecture, wood moulding and tile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Renovations starting promptly at 7:30

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Used to be fun, colorful, funky, go to when in town. New version getting rid of that with loud powertools, bright and early, so dont go out. So sad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Renovations starting promptly at 7:30

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Used to be fun, colorful, funky, go to when in town. New version getting rid of that with loud powertools, bright and early, so dont go out. So sad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Gershwin - NYC 2014

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hands down some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered in all my travels. Hotel renovation did not bother me at all. Staff is amazing - Thank you so much!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated hotel with minimal amenities

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: great location; clean; comfortable bed Cons: narrow hallways so you can hear people in the hallway (they were loud and obnoxious when I was there; loud radiator; no carpeting; dorm-like small bathroom; old, old everything in the hotel and rooms. Even though this hotel is under renovation, it doesn't look like the purpose of its renovation is to upgrade the quality to luxury 4-star. Looks like it's merely making cosmetic changes to fix things that aren't working. Nothing structural or major will be done to elevate this place into a different class hotel. I'm glad I got $25 off for booking the first time using the expedia, otherwise $169 would have been a lot to pay for this class of hotel. Even with the discount, it's not worth it. Based on the old condition of the hotel, the price should really be $100 at most a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated hotel with minimal amenities

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: great location; clean; comfortable bed Cons: narrow hallways so you can hear people in the hallway (they were loud and obnoxious when I was there; loud radiator; no carpeting; dorm-like small bathroom; old, old everything in the hotel and rooms. Even though this hotel is under renovation, it doesn't look like the purpose of its renovation is to upgrade the quality to luxury 4-star. Looks like it's merely making cosmetic changes to fix things that aren't working. Nothing structural or major will be done to elevate this place into a different class hotel. I'm glad I got $25 off for booking the first time using the expedia, otherwise $169 would have been a lot to pay for this class of hotel. Even with the discount, it's not worth it. Based on the old condition of the hotel, the price should really be $100 at most a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by viv from Sheffield

Classic old building in great location

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The character. the staff
Cons: It is being improved
Location: walk to Madison and 5th. 5 minutes from Empire State, Flat Iron, Grand central. 30 minutes to Hiline, Lower eastside
Lovely helpful and friendly staff and the hotel is clean despite renovations. If you just want a good room in a great location, this is for you. Comfortable Queen bed, safe, TV, fridge. Our room was upgraded and we had a bath. The building has wonderful character- a taste of old New York.Classic stairways and wooden floors. I hope they keep that in the renovation. Walking distance to all the key attractions. Coffee next door, Deli across the road and good eateries all around- don't miss Eataly on Madison Garden/200 5th avenue.