Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, FL

REASONABLE FOR NYC

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff was very nice, friendly & attentive. Price was very good for NYC.
Cons: Need some counter space in bathroom. Need additional elevator. Also would have liked to have had coffee maker in room, or at least coffee in lobby.
Location: Being a native NY'er I knew this was not my favorite part of the city, but was convenient for my needs this trip.
Nice potential. Wish I had known it was in the middle of renovations. Elevator service was ridiculously slow. Room was clean & nicely decorated, but no dresser and no counter top in bathroom except for a very small glass shelf above sink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful rooms!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Great hotel, in a great location. I walked all around from here. They are renovating at the moment, but I was never bothered by the repair work. Apart from seeing some tradespeople you'd hardly know. The new renovated rooms are divine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal for the cost

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, central location.
Every interaction with hotel staff was pleasant and friendly. Room was small but clean. Bed was very comfortable. Although the room and bathroom are 'compact' its a good price for a midtown hotel. Only real negative was the street noise on my second night. Seems to be some kind of garbage operation that lasted for hours starting around 1 a.m. which kept me awake. Possibly wouldn't bother a heavy sleeper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
This property is under renovation. Construction noise in the morning and only one, very slow elevator. Good stair workout though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, au

Good, not great.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Staff were inconsistent. Some were good, some were odd. The rooms were great, comfortable. We were given an upgrade, the room was bigger but was a twin share room, for a couple. The staff were confused about us not wanting the upgrade. We wanted the king suite we originally booked. Really nice rooms, but nothing extra on offer. No coffee facilities in room, however there is a great cafe next door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Want superb service?

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Design, staff (always considerate and helpful), location
Cons: Hotel is in the process of refurbishment, so it would be unfair to comment until work is completed.
Staff were unfailingly courteous, considerate, sincerely cheerful and exceptionally helpful. The only negative in my room was the antiquated air conditioning, which was sometimes noisy. That said, the hotel is halfway through refurbishment so undoubtedly the AC unit will be soon replaced or repaired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pretty nice stay, just the room is very small. But overall it's really good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Hotel in great location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Vintage decor, location
Cons: the slow elevator
Loved the vintage decor, great location to walk everywhere, friendly staff. My only complaint is the slow elevator. They need another elevator. Other than that it was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DMV

Cute...but under construction

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel is cute. They are undergoing massive renovations. The room was clean. A tad small, but then again it is New York. The staff was nice. Valet parking is $50 for an SUV. I didn't know that - the website says $40.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debra from Fairfax, VA

Excellent stay, centrally located, fabulous staff.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location!... and I found a great deal online for two nights stay.
Cons: Shower had lukewarm water one morning. Next morning it was hot.
Location: Very close to Madison Square Park, Flatiron building, Empire State Building.
We stayed at the Gershwin Hotel for two nights. The hotel was centrally located. Staff was superb. They are currently renovating some of the floors of the hotel. We were not bothered by this at all. Our room was WONDERFUL. Comfortable, love the decor. Our first morning, water for shower was lukewarm. Second morning was hot. Not sure what the issue was, but certainly not a game changer for us. Essen is just down the street, offering quick food choices for breakfast, but they have just about anything you'd want. Snacks, sandwiches, hot food, coffee, etc. Kind of upscale cafeteria with seating. Very reasonable prices for New York! We ate breakfast and reviewed our plans for the day. We used subway for transportation, which was just a few blocks away.