Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kimberly, AL

Great location!

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The rooms have been recently renovated and they are beautiful - queen sized bed, mini fridge, radiant heated floor in the bath...and more!
Cons: The lobby had not been remodeled when we stayed but they are in the process of a makeover for the entire hotel. I'm sure it will be beautiful.
Location: Just around the corner from Madison Square Park, the Flatiron Building and all the wonderful things on 5th Avenue. Close to several subway stops.
The hotel staff was extremely nice, friendly, helpful and made our stay at The Gershwin the best experience we've had in New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is under construction-

Posted Nov 7, 2014
The hotel is under construction- no lobby- slow elevator- noisy construction noise Great locations- new rooms and bathrooms are great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Great location and nice hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Lobby
Location: Close to N/R and 4/6 train. Close to Empire State Building
I stayed at this hotel to run in the NYC Marathon. The hotel was in a great location to catch either the N/R or 4/6 trains to go to catch the Staten Island Ferry the morning of the marathon. It is also within walking distance of the Empire State Building if you want to visit there. The staff was very helpful in hailing a cab for me the morning after to catch my 6:10 a.m. train. The room was clean and updated since they are going through a remodel at the moment. The lobby could have used an upgrade but I'm guessing they are saving that remodel for last. But since I didn't spend any time in the lobby, it was not an issue for me. The price was right considering the other rates for hotels in NY during the marathon and the location was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Action

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: - nice cozy rooms with great beds
Cons: - get a vending machine - fix the elevator that is SLOW as molasses - New sheets that allow you to breathe!
Location: - Flatiron - 5th Ave shopping - Grand Central - Time Square
I am really struggling with this review because on one hand the people were exceptional and we were in a newly renovated room that was completely comfortable and clean. Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to make you feel at home. On the other hand, there are absolutely ZERO amenities.. We are talking no vending machine, no place to get water bottles and they even lack in signage. If you wanted ice, you had to call for it which also isn't ideal because you feel obligated to tip for ice! Now I know the place is under construction but to charge such a high price for a place that needs alot of love, I have to say, it's a bit disappointing. The area is amazing and you can get to almost anywhere from this location quickly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location; hotel undergoing construction

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Elevator, toilet.
Staff was friendly. Hotel undergoing major construction. I stayed in new room. Very tiny. Toilet ran all day and night, despite several requests to fix. Housekeeping knew it was bad as she always closed the bathroom door. Walked the 9 floors as the elevator was from the 1920's and was the slowest one I have ever ridden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Great location, staff and very comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Staff were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. Although the hotel is being renovated there was no noise or disruption to our stay. Our room was recently renovated to a high standard and was very comfortable. Would recommend this place to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, easy to get to attractions.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Very good hotel to stay in New York. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms and handy position to get to attractions. Some nice restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Can't fault it

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort.
Cons: The computers in the lobby weren't that easy to use.
My husband & I travelled from New Zealand to New York for 6 nights & our stay at the Gershwin was exactly what we were looking for. The location couldn't have been better. We were travelling to celebrate our 40th birthdays & the staff knew this & upgraded us to a deluxe king. The room was clean, tidy & bright. The bed was super comfy. The hotel is still under renovation but that did not affect us in any way. We look forward to seeing what it looks like when all the work has been done.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Merthyr Tydfil

Great Location.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
The hotel is perfectly situated as a great base to see the city, the renovation works are on going which did not bother us as work was only carried out during daytime and we were out enjoying the city. The room we had was newly refurbished. We had a problem with a broken flush on the toilet in our room which upon reporting was promptly fixed, however it was a flush mechanism the likes of which I'd never seen before and it didn't always work as it should. The person who made the decision to use this system upon refurbishment made a mistake when procuring fittings for the rooms. Although very nicely furnished the room we had was very cramped and we both kept hitting our legs on the bed as there was little room to walk around it.We could only fully open one of The doors to the in built closet closet as a large rug beneath our bed blocked the one door. The room size wise should really be a for a single person. A higher volume of noise in NYC is expected and is part of the experience, however the old single glazed windows allowed an excessive din from the various noisy fans/ducts and A/C units that are located at various points around the building. Overall though staff were very accommodating and friendly and the hotel was clean and comfortable. I wouldn't necessarily stay there again purely because I believe the modest extra cost of one of the chain hotels would be worth it for the better room quality and size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good location. Strange front desk.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The doorman Angel is very helpful, the hotel is lucky to have him around.
Cons: King bed room only provide with 1 bath rob, called to ask for another one, responded as: we are nice enough to upgraded you to a suite so no extra bat
Location: Wall street, Madison Park, Flatiron
Very close to Wall street, good location, convinient. Staff is very very helpful with information and luggage. Under construction, noisy.