Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Ok but would not run back

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: more staff required, front desk often unattended as was the concierge desk.
The James is ok. I can't think of a better way to describe it. Its clean, well designed and very well situated but its lacking any bells or whistles. The staff, although friendly, did not go out of their way by any means. So if just okay is fine by you then I'm sure you'll be pleased. Personally, I look for a little more in a hotel... a little something that tells me they are unique, something memorable. The James did not deliver in this respect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great location, decent hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Interesting room, great view. Polite and attentive staff.
Cons: It's a bit pricey...
Location: Plenty of bars and restaurants.
With the high cost of a decent hotel in Manhattan, you want a hotel like this that's located in a cool part of town and offers a unique, boutique experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in soho

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Cons: Restaurant - service was terrible for breakfast.
Good hotel in a great area. Rooms are on the small side but on par for NYC. I was disappointed by the restaurant but I don't think this is a big deal since there are so many great options in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Super hotel!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Really welcoming, friendly staff who were only too happy to help with any query. We loved the complimentary scones and coffee to start the day!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom F

Very misleading

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Hotel is advertised as one of few Manhattan hotels with roof top pool and bar. I booked hotel on this basis only. What they don't tell you is actually they run the roof top bar and pool as a seperate business and hotel guests are not allowed up there !!!! At this price bracket there are so many better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Incredible Location...

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Amy at the reception desk was great. Turned a possibly annoying delay checking in into a very positive outcome. Handled the situation with professionalism and poise. The location is fantastic. Just steps to all the best shops and restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, everything is easy, great view

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location, easy
Cons: Room too small
Location: Shopping and restaurants very close
I stayed 3 nights, easy check in, no check out, quiet and clean. Perfect location in Soho.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

No room available even though I had confirmation

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Left stranded in middle of the night - is there a worse mistake that a hotel can make??
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cindyfrom Annapolis

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable. So close to everything in Soho without being surrounded by the masses. The staff was great, the room was fantastic and the restaurant next door looked great. Sorry that we didn't get to try it. I was surprised to see so much green space in the heart of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com