Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great hotel well situated

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We had a great time in this hotel. We had a room on the 11th floor so great view. They have a good roof top bar. Hotel staff was really helpfull and service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: service, boutique, comfortable
Location: good walking distance to restaurants, shops etc... everything within quick cab ride or walk
Warm welcome and greeting... hotel was in a great area
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom G

Good location in Soho

Posted Apr 9, 2015
We stayed at the James for four nights with our three children. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However the rooms are tiny, even though we had a corner suite. It felt very claustrophobic. The swimming pool is also really just a plunge pool. Let's just say the photographer must have a seriously wide lens!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Beautiful and modern

Posted Apr 6, 2015
What a nice hotel! Friendly warm and modern. I can not complain about anything. The rooftop bar is excellent with breathtaking view of NY. The restaurante had an awesome brunch. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Nice but small

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Rooms are nice, but not really well designed to serve customers. The only place to stuff your clothes are two drawer under a bench and a small closet. The closet is full of bottles of hard drink and other various knickknacks. The safe is there too, so not much is left. In the bathroom, there are a small sickly green plant and a decorative wood bowl. It serves the aesthetic, but the tiny place available consequently disappears. There is a glass wall between the bathroom and the room (there is also some sort of blind). Overall, the room was brilliantly clear and sunny and we loved that, but there was just no place to put our stuff and this we did not appreciate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Excellent location with nice views and modern, clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Great

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Location was convenient and the restaurant was great...as was everything about the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Magical experience!!! Every single person at the hotel was friendly and helpful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Verafrom Zürich

Perfect hotel with perfect neighborhood

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel! We had one of this nice corner suites on 17th floor with beautiful view. Staff warned us that it can be noisy from the bar on 18th floor, and they offer us lower floor, but we didn't want to give up this nice view. We were not disturbed by bar at all. Heating is bit laugher, but after 1st night we didn't hear that any more. Rooms are not too big, but they are really nice an modern and staff is very helpful. Neighborhood is just perfect with lot of nice restaurants and shops around. We have decided to come back to SoHo and to The James hotel next time when we are in NYC.