Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

Hôtel Janes , situé le long de l'Hudson

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: La situation de l'hôtel , quartier sympa.
Cons: Difficile d'améliorer la taille de la chambre .
Location: j'ai aimé les ballades le long de l'Hudson Proximité de la high line. Beaucoup de restos dans le quartier.
Points Forts -Hôtel situé le long de l'Hudson -Personnel agréable. -Les douches et wc propres. -Climatisation dans la chambre. Points Faibles -Chambre minuscule (bunk bed) difficile de tenir 1 semaine !!! -Sur 1 semaine, les lits ont été fait deux fois. -Ascenseur extrêmement long (1 seul) , au deuxième jour j'ai abandonné et j'ai pris les escaliers (5 ème étage).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Great location!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Staff aren't the friendliest, but I enjoyed the experience in one of the tiny cabin rooms. The hotel is old and although they've done a lot of restoration, don't expect a classy five star feel. The rooms were cozy and had ample storage. No central air, but crank up your room's window unit and your room will cool in no time. Don't forget your toiletries as their complimentary selection is definitely bargain value. Overall, a fun experience for the price in my favorite part of the city. I'll stay again and definitely recommend it for travelers on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville RI

historical splendor!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: quaint, historical
Hotel is rich in history, great location if you're visiting the 911 memorial, though not really comfortable for families. Rooms are small but clean. Nice restaurant on site. Shared bathroom was the only real negative for me. Staff was great, very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, al

Great location!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The staff was friendly and super helpful. The rooms are small, but we were only there to sleep at night. The location is awesome! It's a few blocks from The High Line, Chelsea Market, and numerous great restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Terrible customer service, uneducated front desk staff, managerial team unsupportive with NO follow through
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Unique and good location

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Everything, atmosphere, character, friendliness.
After seeing all the reviews wasn't sure what to expect. All I can say briefly is I had no problems with any of the staff or reception during a 10 night stay, they were smiling and courteous at all times, offering any help needed at any time of the day. The issues regarding the nightclub and it's doormen....I heard the noise whilst ascending stairs but once in room on level 3 could not hear a thing. The queue to get in I just walked past and was waved through on every occasion without problem, and after a couple of days they even said evening as I entered. The rooms were adequate and clean. In my opinion if you are in the room for more than 8 hours a day you are doing NY wrong!. The shared bathrooms were always clean and I never found could not use toilets, showers, washing facilities when I tried without queues.A 10-15 minute walk to Subway was only thing that could have been a problem but as the weather was hot and sunny for whole stay it was not an issue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great stay

Posted May 10, 2015
Affordable, great location, and comfortable. Not huge rooms but great for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bielefeld

Charmant und günstig

Posted May 3, 2015
Charmantes Hotel im Stil des "Grand Budapest Hotels " Personal in Uniform, schwere Teppiche , dunkles Holz , ... Es passt alles sehr gut zusammen! Die Lage ist sehr gut . Direkt am Hudson River mit Blick auf Süd Manhattan samt One World Trade Center gelegen und in nächster Nähe zur High line und den Stadtteilen Greenwich village und Hells Kichen . Guter Ausgangspunkt zur Erkundung New Yorks ! Die Subway ist in 10-15 zu Fuß zu erreichen. Die "cabin" Zimmer sind wirklich winzig - ein etagenbett wo ich auf ein Bett als Einzelzimmer Nutzer das Gepäck unterbringen konnte waren praktisch. Ansonsten sind die 60-70 cm Platz zwischen Wand und Bett schon eine Herausforderung!!! Das mit dem Gemeinschaftsbad hat gut funktioniert - immer sauber - Bademäntel liegen bereit und erstaunlicherweise nie Stau !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, North Carolina

Best location, service, Cafe, value.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Welcoming staff. Safe, clean, historic, cozy cabin. Cafe Gitane charming, great meals. Most interesting, safe, area in town. Hi Line to midtown, riverwalk south. Near 8th Ave subway for all trains. Stay here every yearly trip to NY. Starting this year will be two trips. Better than Manhattan timeshare💚
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches Hotel am Ufer des Hudson River

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Das Hotel Team ist sehr nett, hilfsbereit und kompetent.
Location: Das Hotel ist ca. 10 Fußminuten von der Subway Station 14 entfernt. Im Viertel der Umgebung gibt es sehr viele nette Cafes und Bars.
Die Zimmer in dem Hotel sind sehr klein. Ich hatte zum Glück ein Etagenbettzimmer und war alleine. So konnte ich meinen Koffer auf das untere Bett ablegen, während ich oben schlief. Für zwei Personen würde ich das Zimmer eher nicht empfehlen, es sei denn, sie stehen auf engen Körperkontakt.