Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Location: Being at the foot of the High Line is amazing for any photographer. You are at a prime spot. So many wonderful neighborhood restaurants in the area.
The Jane has a wonderful amount of history which plays out in front of your eyes as you approach the steps and front doors. The overall feel takes you back a century and delivers a wonderful historical feel that sets The Jane apart every hotel in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The hotel is charming, old world style, built in 1907. It's enormous victorian bar is an experience not to be missed. The restaurant Cafe Gitane is chic and delicious. The historical neighborhood provides an especially pleasant walk, quickly leading to a cluster of cafes and shops. I will definitely be returning for another stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro

Valué for Money

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Considering the price, it was better than I expected and I would be there again if alone and with no more than one piece of luggage. The only inconvenience is the distance from subway stations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in New York

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The wonderful staff.
Cons: Needs a second elevator but can't be done without ruining the building,
Location: It is at the end of the high walk!
This hotel has wonderful staff and wonderful decor from a certain period.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

More cons than pros

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: - Cleanliness - Location - HD TV in each room, with plenty of channels - Wifi that actually works Cons: - Very tiny rooms. This shouldn't come as a surprise, since it's mentioned in all the descriptions, but it's still inconvenient. - Unhelpful staff. Had to call for a cab myself, since the staff member I asked told me it's impossible to call cabs at that hour. I called myself and got one right away - Extreme heat in rooms. Sure, they have AC, but it is so incredibly loud, it's impossible to sleep with the AC on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Quirky, beautiful, historic, interesting, quiet.
Location: High line, river walk, easy access to the best of the city.
My favorite part of the city, and this room enhanced the sense of quiet and beauty that I love about this neighborhood. Close to the High Line and the Hudson River.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom u.k

great quirky hotel close to riverside park

Posted Aug 30, 2014
we had a great time at the Jane,the staff were brilliant and the location excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice spot. Great location. Very happening vibe. Super small rooms. Mine had a very noisy a/c unit making sleeping impossible but you get what you pay for. It's NYC with a great locale at cheap price.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by need_73

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Perfect location, Perfect old-world feel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Location: Perfect location, close to the subway. With a little effort you can easily get from JFK to this hotel for under $20
I realize that The Jane is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. I personally really hate boring typical hotels. Even 3-5 star hotels - you usually end up with a real basic room. No matter how fancy the lobby (and bar) is. If you want something different, if you want to stay in a hotel that feels like your in another time and place - you will enjoy The Jane.