Ratings based on 2,398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Disappointed.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Location was great but, shower was open so the bathroom was all wet. The mechanical room and machines were next to the window so heard all the machines work all night. Didn't sleep. Better places in Newyork for thr same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The room was small but it had a patio and good view of radio city and St Patrick's Cathedral. The room came with fridge and microwave which is convenient for leftovers. There is purified water with bottles great to take with you on your trips and save money on water! There's a small gym and laundry and ice machine. I would recommend this hotel. Although the room was small, it was cozy. The location is close to central park, Rockefeller center, time square, and subway station. Location is also safe and the hotel is safe and requiring room key at all times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, MO

GREAT 1st stay in NYC

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Locations is awesome. Front desk attendants, especially Iris were great. In fact, all staff were very cordial.
Cons: Softer mattresses :)
We chose well on our 1st visit to the Big Apple. The entrance is unassuming and lobby is very small so don't expect the lap of luxury. Immediate props to Iris at the desk who was extremely helpful and cheerful in every way, a fine lady. The rooms aren't large, literally no wasted space, but fine for us since we weren't there much. The mattresses were too firm for our taste but I thought the chair bed was softer and just fine for me since my ladies got the bed (too bad for them :) The coffee lounge was well-used since it was cold in march and we needed a warm-up after getting back from a walk. The purified water with bottles was a very nice perk also. Times Square, 2 subway stations, 5th ave. shopping, a multitude of restaurants all w/in walking distance, < 1 mile. Most theatres are a bit farther but w/in 1-1.25 miles. We didn't mind walking a fair mile and temp was 30s-40s a lot. Rockefeller Center is across the street and Central Park w/in walking distance. The subway can take you basically anywhere in Manhattan and beyond. We thought Ceci (Italian), Sangria 46 (tapas), Bill's burgers (sportsbar across the street) were all very good. I'd get to the TKTS theatre discount booth ~15 min. before it opens b/c a line will be forming. I waited ~30 min. both times I went, may be longer in nice weather. I paid $90/ticket for Les Mis and Phantom, may be cheaper elsewhere. The Jewel will be high on our list next time we visit. A GREAT choice for our 1st visit--ENJOY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

The Jewel is a Gem

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything, not too big and imposing like some hotels.
Cons: No major improvements at this time.
Location: Wonderful location opposite Rockefeller Centre. All types of eating houses from snack bars to expensive dining close at hand.
If you want a great location and a small quiet place to stay, the Jewel is the one. If you just want to relax and do your own thing and don't expect grand surroundings and luxurious settings the Jewel is for you. Pleasant environment and lovely lounge area on second floor with complimentary drinks and internet facilities. Everyone on reception was helpful at all times. We enjoyed our stay at the Jewel and for the price we paid it was value for money too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seaforth, Ontario

Great location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Excellent location. We got to check out the Today Show every morning, 5th Ave, and steps from Top of the Rock!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The Jewel New York

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: They have a guest sitting area with telly, computers x2 and complementary coffee machine also bottled water and ice if you want it.
Cons: It would be nice if they had tea an hot chocolate on offer too.
Wow this hotel is a little gem in the big city close to all the attractions and amenities turn left an your on fifth ave and right 10 min from time square a 15 min walk left down fifth is central park. St Patricks cathedral is across the rd as is Rocerfella Building so many close by or a train ride away (subway) The hotel itself is clean and very comfortable we stayed for 6 nights We spent st Patrick's day there wow wow wow brill. The staff are very helpful and friendly and it's like home away from home. You can have breakfast in their sister hotel next door good choice of food and yet again very helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Claustrophobic

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: S
Couldn't finf the hotel due to construction outside. Elevator slow. Hallways and rooms so small. Would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

Fantastic

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location, Clean, Friendly and Helpful Staff, Good Water Pressure, No hidden resort fees... In short, everything.
Cons: Maybe add a concierge service but this is not overly necessary with Google and free wifi.
Location: Location is perfect. 5 minute walk to Times Square and Broadway shows, 10 minute walk to Central Park, tons of restaraunts in the area.
First time in New York City and celebrating a milestone birthday for my wife. Our stay at the Jewel was perfect. Very clean room with a great view. We kept hearin how small New York rooms are and while our room at the Jewel was not big by any stretch it was perfect for two people on a romantic getaway. Add to that an outstanding location (literally across the street from Rockefeller Centre, Saks Fifth Avenue and Radio City Music Hall) and you can understand why I titled this review "Fantastic". Free wifi was dependable and the coffee in the lounge was welcome after a cold walk to Times Square to get TKTS tickets. All in all a great place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Avallon

Situation parfaite pour une visite de Manatthan.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Hôtel sans enseigne, entrée minimaliste. Confort et accueil très agréables. Un peu dans l'esprit appartement - hôtel . Proximité de Time square, Moma, Central Park .... Wifi fi rapide et facile d'accès. Equipement récent et de qualité ( choix des matériaux et qualité d'exécution) Une adresse à conserver...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place in the right place.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Very friendly staff. I firgot my armband and the quickly pointed me towards a local Sports Authority. Very small lobby, but they saved rhe space for the rooms! Much more space then you would expect for a NYC hotel.