Ratings based on 1,493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, amenities
Location: central mid-town, across from Rockefeller Center - near theater, museums, shopping.
The hotel is very nice, clean will all the amenities. The staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

kind of small rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: location
Location: top of the rock
Room was really small. Probably because it is right in the middle of Times-square. Our room with "Kitchennete" was a twin (or maybe a queen) bed, in a small room with a microwave and mini-fridge. The location of the hotel was great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014
all items in hotel very logic.Staff,proffecional an warmig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Boutique Hotel close to all the action

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Long story made short: A very enjoyable place to stay. The location is terrific and the staff helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent Location! Very Pleasant Stay!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Loved this hotel. Friendly staff and complimentary lattes, coffee and bottled water which was greatly appreciated. We took in the Hop on Hop off bus tour and negotiated with the seller. He gave us unlimited tours for 72 hours for 52.00/person which was worth it. Also really enjoyed our Greenwich Food tour which provided 8 tastings in a 2.5 hour tour and we were FULL! A tour through Chelsea Market and a walk on the HighLine is well worth it. Also we went to a performance at the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts which was very memorable. Someone also mentioned checking out The Cherry Lane Theatre which is in Greenwich for reasonable off-broadway productions. Also The Cornelia Street bistro has evening entertainment downstairs but must be booked in advance. We also did a evening sunset Harbour Cruise which was beautiful. Chelsea Piers is within walking distance of Chelsea Market so it is convenient to do both on same day. After the cruise we dined at Buddakan which was a great restaurant and also within walking distance of Chelsea Piers. If you want to do this you should book a reservation here well in advance. We stayed from Saturday through Wednesday and were busy from 8 am till 11 pm every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol Uk

Second stay at the Jewel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: As above the free wifi, the coffee lounge, the friendly staff. The pleasant room and nice bathroom
Cons: Room safe
Location: Lovely location with the Rockfeller Centre so close by for great views day and night. Ten minutes from Broadway shows.2 mins from St Pats Cathedral
As indicated this was our second stay and we will be back again next year that's a certainty. We have been to New York on half a dozen occasions and stayed at some nice Hotels but the Jewel is our favourite. We love the location, we loved our room and bathroom, the free wifi, the coffee lounge and the friendly staff etc etc There is only one thing missing and I wrote this two years ago a safe in the bedroom but everything else is great. The Ryan's from Bristol , UK
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Handy location in mid town Manhattan

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: A more clingy fabric for duvet cover
Staff is very friendly and personal. Room is small but well appointed. Only problem is the very slippery duvet cover which ended up on the floor several times during the night and interrupted our sleep. If it had not been for that our stay would have been perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Clean Mid-priced Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Good staff. Clean rooms. Excellent location. Cool water access.
Cons: Better linens and mechanical performance of the air conditioning.
Location: This location is half a block off 5th avenue and accross the street (51st) from Rockefeller Center. A great location to do serious shopping.
The Jewel is in a great location and offers relatively small, clean rooms at a mid-priced cost. I was disappointed in the mechanical performance of the air conditioner which did not work the first day. The hotel staff promptly repaired the problem but then the unit dripped off and on the following day. Also, the common areas were quite warm due to not being adequately air conditioned. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The terrace restaurant, at the sister property down the street, was good and has a wonderful setting. The beds were comfortable but the linens felt a little on the cheep side. The water purifier and bottles were a great bonus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

small box

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: location was the only thing
Cons: see above
Location: rockfeller centre
room wasn't ready at check-in time, not enough toiletries and towels were in room, room on top floor was cramped and had to take two elevators to get to room. The lobby was literally a desk. I actually used expedia as a guide when choosing this hotel but I have no idea why it had such high ratings? Go with the Hilton instead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was so close to everything
Location: Broadway shows, Times Square, shopping, Rockefeller Center
We had a terrific time staying in this hotel. It is close to shopping and the Rockefeller Center and Times Square.