Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Location location location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Complimentary coffee and chilled water, great location, comfortable rooms.
Location: Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park and tons of restaurants.
Great area. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Small room would make for a miserable stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Thought I had booked a room at the Clubquarters nearby but was told there that Expedia had actually booked a room at their (lesser) partner Jewel two doors away. My Confirmation notifice said nothing of the kind. I checked in at the Jewel. Staff was pleasant. Room was clean. But unless you plan to nothing other than brush your teeth and sleep, you'll feel cramped in this room. I went back to the Clubquarters and insisted on a room there. The staff found me a nice, clean, notably larger though still small room. A much more pleasant stay than the Jewel would have been.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location but not much else going for it ...

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better service, working equipment.
As stated, they are right near the Rockefeller Center. In the same block as Radio City Music Hall and one block away from NBC Studios. Many great restaurants nearby. Two block away from MOMA and walking distance to Central Park and even Times Square. So, The Jewel is in a great location. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. I knew before arriving that the rooms would be small and cramped from their photos and it was as expected. However, I had expected things to work for a highly rated hotel ... we lost power to our rooms twice ... fuse blowout. Non-working refrigerator ... they worked on it twice but failed to fix it both times. Then I requested that it be replaced with a working one and they said that they would. But instead of replacing the refrigerator, they brought in a slightly smaller and louder refrigerator into the already cramped room. And the maintenance person who brought it had quite an irritated attitude about the whole thing. I don't know about him but when I come back to the hotel after a long, hot and muggy New York day, I'd like my drinks in the refrigerator to be cold! Elevators card readers were temperamental ... sometimes it would work on first try, sometimes it required 10 tries. Your room cards are required before you can press any buttons in the elevator ... from any floor ... not just the lobby floor. Many times we were sent to random floors because of this issue ... and this was a problem for everyone ... even the staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WONDERFUL STAYING EXPERIENCE

Posted Jul 25, 2014
CLEAN ROOM. REASONABLE RATE. FRIENDLY STAFF. I BELIEVE UA USE THIS HOTEL FOR THEIR PILOTS AS WE MEET ONE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ont

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This hotel is perfect for those who enjoy being in the heart of the action. Rooms are nevertheless quiet, well appointed and a decent size for the price. Wifi was perfect and the staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Very nice hotel near evrything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location and guest services.
Cons: Air conditioning is very high or very low. An intermediate position is not avaliable.
Location: All of the New York attractions are near.
Very good services at the hotel; coffee, tea, bottles of wáter, wifi, very nice and confortable business center with a big and nice living room, cleaning and drying equipment for guests. I will stay at this hotel when visiting New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Hotel and Location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything. Especially the water cooling station.
Cons: The power of the water could have been a bit stronger in the shower. Upgrade iPod docks to the latest generation with lightning cable.
Location: Great location for shopping and sightseeing, lots of things to do are within walking distance. If youre hungry and want cheap breakfast try Cafe Metro
This was my first time booking a hotel and ordering off Expedia, and needless to say the trip and experience went well. Arrived at the hotel at 10AM and was able to check in. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a hotel with a great location you would be pleased with The Jewel. The room was a perfect and cozy size for two. I would say it was a perfect size for a temporary stay. The hotel was very secure with card access only elevators. One of my favourite part of the hotel was a water station to refill water. It was VERY convenient and money saving. Anyone else giving this hotel less than 3 stars have VERY high expectations in terms of a luxury stay or must have had an unlucky experience. I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and 4 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan, canada

Excellent smaller hotel, close to Times Square .

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We stayed here July 10-14th. The hotel is small and quiet. Right across from Rockefeller centre. We were able to walk to all theatres and Times Square and to shopping and to restaurants and to grand central station. Very convenient to all tourist stops, including Central Park. The only thing we missed in our room was a safe. Otherwise we had all that we needed. Also there is only a shower without a tub, which was no problem for us, but may be a concern for some. We would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near Rockefeller ctr

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Quiet, efficient rooms with exceptional customer service! Great proximity to Lincoln Ctr, theaters and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Favorite place to stay in NYC. Close to everything

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The Jewel staff is the best. Check-in and out it so quick. Everyone is friendly and helpful.