Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Staff that goes well beyond what is expected to make the guest feel appreciated and comfortable.. Quiet and peacefull environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The warm helpful staff
Excellent hotel, and that says it all. Great location, and easy to get to everything on the island, especially the east side below 42nd st
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We stayed at The Kitano for six nights and would highly recommend it. The Hotel is superb and the staff could not be more helpful. Having a top Jazz club in the hotel is also great, make sure you visit it if you stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh UK

Good Hotel, Good Location.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We were very pleased with the Kitano Hotel, it's well situated and was very comfortable, clean, quiet and well maintained. The Staff were excellent. There is really no negatives about this hotel and I have stayed in many in many counties to compare it with. My only comment is a small one, in that a mirror should be provided in the bedroom area, not just in the en-suite. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville

Nice, but no coffee?

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: We prefer baths to showers, and our room had a nice big tub with plenty of hot water. And our window actually opened (partially) for fresh air!
Cons: The coffee situation.
Location: Grand Central Station is just a few blocks away, and the Theatre District and Times Square are easily reached on foot.
The Kitano is quite nice and it is in a great location. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff is excellent. There is a lot to like about the Kitano. Sadly, a couple of annoyances will make us look elsewhere on our next trip. First, the only coffee available in the room is instant coffee. Worse yet, the restaurant does not have take-away service. So to get brewed coffee in the room you have to order from room service or do what I did: go across the street to another hotel for take-away. (Starbucks is also nearby.) This is a deal-killer for us. There are plenty of hotels in this segment that have coffee in the rooms or available in the lobby or restaurant. Also, the temperature in our room was never quite right. The thermostat had a dial that said "Warmer/Cooler" but it didn't seem to work properly. I prefer being able to set the dial on a specific temperature. It is not a big deal, but the power/TV/computer cords and cables were not neatly secured. Better "cord control" can sometimes be an indication that someone pays careful attention to small details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow

Met exptectations

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Jazz club in hotel
Location: Morgan Library and Empire State Building
Good hotel and service. The performance and the jazz brunch was a little disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Well placed hotel for seeing sights of New York.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Quiet, clean, central, near Penn Station Grand Central Station.
Cons: Free wifi - too expensive at ten dollars a day
Location: Ideal for walking all round and all transport
Quiet location, friendly staff and overall great experience - would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel next to grand central

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Excellent hotel i like to go back same hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice and quiet hotel in midtown Manhattan

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We (2 adults, one teen) stayed 7 nights in early April in a room with two double beds. The room was spacious compared with other hotel expriences we had in New York and - despite the midtown-location of the hotel - totally quiet. Very helpful staff, free coffee in the room, free internet in the Lobby. Peculiar but luxurious was the Japanese toilet with heated seats etc. Good place to stay and to explore the city. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

交通の便が非常に良い。日本人のコンシェルジュなので、気軽に何でも話せる。

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: 室温調節は不要だった。雪の降る寒い日もあったが、温度を上げることもなかった。日本と違いそっけない感じを受けるが、応対は丁寧で話やすい。日本人もその他の方も同様でした。
Cons: 冷蔵庫が課金システムで利用しなかった。買ってきた物を入れるスペースがほとんどない。ペットボトルも難しい。ななめにしてやっと1本程度。
Location: グランドセントラルの中に、メトロ(地下鉄)のショップがあり、地下鉄の中でポールダンスをしている(もちろん、してはダメですよという意味で)図柄のTシャツが売ってあり、面白いと思って買い求めました。ジュニアサイズもあります。なぜか我が家ではあまりウケませんでしたが。
5泊しました。慣れるため、初日は徒歩。二日目からは地下鉄を使い移動しました。33丁目駅とユニオンスクエア駅のメトロカードの自販機は日本語の選択ボタンがあり、利用しやすかった。夕方まで利用しましたが、人も多く不安は感じませんでした。グランドセントラルに徒歩5分なので便利。レビューにシャワーの水圧が弱い、操作が3か所あり使い方が分かりにくいと数名の方が記されておられましたが、私も二日目に引出の中から「おふろとシャワーの使い方」(表題は違っていると思いますが)を見つけ、その通り操作したら水圧・温度とも問題なく利用できました。確かにこれがないと分かりにくいですね。次に利用する時は、テーブルの上に置いてはいかがかとホテルの方に伝えようと思います。コンシェルジュの方に探せなかったショップを電話で確認してもらったり、ラーメン店、JFK行きのバス乗り場の場所を教えてもらうなど気軽に話せるのがとてもよかった。綿棒の補充を三日連続で忘れられたが、(たぶん)お詫びに石鹸を1個余計に置いてあったのがこのホテルらしさなのかなと思いました。