Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very lovely hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: The elevators were somewhat of an issue, often "parking" in the basement level, for the staff I guess.
Location: The hotel was close to shops on 5th and 6th Avenues, Times Square, Grand Central. Very central location.
The hotel and staff were very wonderful. I had an issue with the first two rooms I was assigned due to a clogged drain in the shower. The front desk was very fast to address my issues. After the second room drain was found to have the same problem, they upgraded me to a queen room at no charge. The breakfast and wine and cheese were fantastic and the staff in the "kitchen" area were always very pleasant. The location was incredible and it is safe to say that this hotel is worth many stays to come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location a little oasis

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great hotel , lovely calm atmosphere in the middle of a frenetic city. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Recommend anyone to use bus to get to and from airports. Try to avoid Penn Station if at all possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing hotel close to all amenities

Posted Mar 30, 2014
I took my husband to The Library hotel for his 30th birthday (surprise). I chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were so helpful and accommodating and there is nothing I can say that is negative about the whole experience. I would definitely stay at the library hotel again when visiting NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

New York Weekend

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: clean rooms a bit small for two next time I will book the suite
guite nice, walking distance from just about every well known location in new york
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pepper from New York city central

Awesome

Posted Mar 21, 2014
This is such a fabulous hotel; centrally located with breakfast included and the pre dinner drinks included! Such a find. Cannot fault it at all. So tastefully done. Not far from The N Y library and even the room nos were named after international recognised categories of how books are catalogued! We were in the 300 002 Political Science no! The fresh orchids on each table, little touches are brilliant. What was brilliant: after a few hours of sightseeing or shopping: we'd pop back drop our stuff; go up and have tea, coffee, pastries; fruit available all day! Get warm and go out again! Based on Madison ave and a block away from Fifth Ave, and from Grand Central Terminal; the hotel is so well placed. The rates are pitched at right price for such a location and the services it provides. Will defo go back to The Library when in New York next. Loved the offices opposite the rooms : just in real time Mad Men environment. What a find. The front desk staff are full if knowledge; they organised a table for us at Planet Hollywood within minutes, a treat we wanted before going to see Wicked. So efficient. Thank you all so much at the hotel. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Functional and well located.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Cons: Heating system a bit noisy.
Nothing to report that's out of the ordinary. Good place. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bridget, George from United Kingdom

Great hotel close to Grand Central Station.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It's location, the cosy boutique feel, it's cleanliness and the wonderful, discreet attention to detail shown by all the staff. Excellent hotel.
Cons: Nothing, it's as good as it gets!
Location: It's location to Grand Central Station, the beautiful Public Library, Chrysler Building, Times Square, all within easy walking distance.
From initial contact to leaving yesterday at the end of our stay, the service I/we received was more than excellent and every member of staff we came into contact with behaved in a very courteous, warm, friendly but professional manner. The Library Hotel is more boutique and cosy than most we looked at prior to our trip and this is what appealed to us. My daughter got married on their rooftop last Saturday and all arrangements were dealt with so discreetly and professionally down to the area being cleaned and cleared of snow! We were recommended to a wonderful restaurant for dinner after the ceremony and this was also booked for us. Other places were recommended during our stay and one member of staff even managed to get hold of a copy of Saturday's NY Times that I'd requested the day after the wedding as I thought it would be a lovely memento of the day and our first trip to New York! We're already talking about another trip to New York and will definitely stay here again. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from manchester

Small hotel nr to grand central station

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast included in the rate was good and the evening cheese and wine was excellent. The lounge staff were lovely and very helpful.
Cons: Our room was not ready when we arrived despite it being after 3pm and having travelled from the UK we were naturally exhausted.
Location: The hotel location was ideal being very close to train and subway stations. It was in a quiet area about 15 minutes walk to Times Square.
We visited this hotel for 5 nights at the end of February. The hotel lived up to our high expectations and was accurately described. The petite room was indeed very small, by American standards, but we spent so little time in it that this was not a problem. We did however struggle for storage space - I think the room was more suited to a single guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from England

Wonderful staff

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Lovely hotel, beautifully decorated and clean, great little extras with free breakfast and cheese and wine evenings but the absolute star feature is the hotel's incredible staff! Absolutely every employee we met was unfailingly helpful, polite and genuinely kind it really was outstanding. We stayed in a Petite room and it did live up to the name, small even by NYC standards but it was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed (except perhaps not enough wardrobe space). Would not hesitate to recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katy from Gloucestershire

The Library Hotel...thumbs up!

Posted Feb 14, 2014
In a busy, bustling city that stops for no-one this hotel was a peaceful little haven filled with personable, friendly staff & it was a pleasure to return to each day...in fact we kept returning throughout the day for a moment of peace before heading out to brave the cold again! We loved the Reading Room with the free tea, coffee and pastries as well as the cheese and wine reception - what a great idea! My brother stayed in a supersized hotel not far away for and it didn't come close to comparing to The Library - for the same amount of money they found there was no breakfast provided, they had to pay for extras such as bag storage and there was no cosy atmosphere that we experienced at The Library. If I return to NYC this will be my first port of call and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.