Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A gem of a hotel in the heart of New York

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything was to like. It felt like coming home after busy days sightseeing
Cons: We were truly happy with everything
Location: It is perfect for exploring as next to Grand Central Station. It was easy to get about. Times Square, Empire Estate Building, theatre all 10 min walks
Fantastic hotel in mid town New York. Had a suite and it was perfect. The signature of the hotel is books and this is a great theme carried on throughout; it certainly adds to the character. Excellent breakfast and cheese and wine in the afternoon all included. Bed amazingly comfortable. Staff could not have been friendlier or more accomodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Small hotel ideally located in heart of Manhattan

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, staff
Location: Within easy walking distance of tourist attractions/ museums and shops. Round the corner from Grand Central Station
Greatly enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff and good facilities within the hotel. As other Expedia travellers have noted, the bedrooms are quite small and we thus upgraded to a queen sized room. Even then, not a great deal of space but enough for tourists like us. Breakfast, tho simple, was good quality and plentiful. Early evening cheese and wine was an enjoyable way to end the day/begin the evening. Would definitely go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel, great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Loved all the themed rooms and all the books.
Location: Lovely location on Madison and just behind Grand Central Station. Near to 5th Avenue shopping and lots of tourist attractions.
The Library is a great hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My daughter and i stayed for one night, the location is great, very central but not too mad and the room was very comfortable and clean and we loved all the themes and all the books.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel centrally placed in NY

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Good sized rooms, very clean
Cons: Breakfast was called a continental But there were no meats or cheese
Location: Broadway, Times Square
Excellent rooms just off Grand Central Station and the Library
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Amazing location, great service, quiet, peaceful

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Location: Things to do nearby: New York Public Library, Madison Avenue shopping, Grand Central Terminal.
My husband and I stayed in Times Square for the first half of our trip and at the Library Hotel for our last two nights. We were impressed by the location: close to Grand Central Terminal, and the New York Public Library. The feel of the area was much different than the touristy, busyness of Times Square; a welcome reprieve. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Library. The breakfast was fresh and convenient, the garden top roof-bar was excellent, the staff and service was incredibly accommodating and friendly. We got the room we originally wanted as well. Our room was clean, cozy, quiet, and comfortable. Can't recommend this hotel enough. We would love to come and stay here again every time we visit NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central Location for NY City

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We had a fantastic 5 day stay exploring NY. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay very enjoyable. Room and facilities were very good. Nice continental breakfast and free wine and cheese in the evening. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JD from Sussex,UK

Fantastic location and great hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Included breakfast and cheese and wine in the evenings
Cons: Beds in our rooms were a little small as 2 men in our group were over 6' 2.
Location: Close to Bryant Park, Times Square with lots of restaurants and shops close by
Excellent place to stay with themed rooms and close to Times Square. Staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble especially booking restaurants for our group of 6. Really enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A and T from Atlanta

Great staff, great experience

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful experience at the library hotel. The staff are very helpful and responsive. We got everything we asked for and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom & Gill from Kent, England

Little gem

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Staff Location
Cons: Roof top bar was frequented by youngish wannabees. We had concerns about the security in the hotel due to the public access to the roof top bar.
Location: Times, square, and Grand Cenral Terminus 7 minutes walk, New York Library 3 minutes walk. A most central hotel.
We felt very welcomed on arrival. First impressions of our 4th floor room was that it was smaller than expected, but on closer inspection we realised that the best things come in small packages. The room had everything we needed, bed small but comfortable, adequat wardrobe space, bathroom facilities excellent with lovely toilletries. We found a fault with the room safe, which was dealt with quickly and effectively. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast each morning, refreshments throughout the day, if needed and the fabulous cheese, nibbles and wine each evening. We much appreciated the little touches, such as the chocolates and the weather forecaste for the next day. Location was great. Bryant Park, close by, is a little gem - events almost every evening. Can't wait to go back, and would recommend the hotel.