Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great customer experience

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Cons: Accessible to major hospital and fine restaurants!
Staying in NYC because of wife's illness and need to develop a treatment plan...several weekly visits. Stayed at the Plaza Athenae, The Surrey, and The Lowell. The Lowell was the best mostly because of their customer first attitude and competence...many good, small hotels in the city but the one that delivers the best experience wins every time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Excellent Location in Midtown

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: We had a 4th floor corner room at the front of the hotel so there was some street noise but not a bother. It is probably quieter on a higher floor.
Location: See above.
Staff were all very professional and attentive. The concierge staff, John and Keoni, did great job recommending restaurants we could walk to and got us scarce tickets to a broadway show . They were very knowledgable and could look up details quickly. We walked to most of the places we went (restaurants, MoMA, Met, Frick). Central Park is only one block west of the Lowell. When we needed a Taxi to go to the opera or downtown, the doorman had one at hand quickly. When we were in a hurry to leave for Newark airport there were no cabs on the streets but the doorman had a back up: a fellow with a new luxury car. It cost a bit more but was worth it to be on our way timely. These folks know how to please a customer. Our room had been recently renovated and was large for NY. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Incredible Hotel and overall experience

Posted Mar 31, 2014
The Lowell was perfection. The staff was so delightful and helped make our engagement extra special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KAX from S.

Class Act

Posted Mar 25, 2014
We've stayed here for over 30 years! It gets better and better! Everyone and everything at the Lowell is a CLASS ACT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lesley from American living in Manila, The Philippines

The Lowell is a very special hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Scented sheets, amazing mini-bar, free water and internet, location, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The food...but that will come with the remodel.
Location: Lower East Side...Madison, Park and 5th Avenue high end designer shopping, restaurants galore, access to Central Park just blocks away.
The Lowell really performs at being a "home away from home"--albeit a very elegant one. Many of the rooms have fireplaces and wood can be ordered at $20...sometimes you can smell that cozy wood-burning smell in the hallways. The rooms are extremely well appointed. We had a small kitchenette. The bathroom was quite small, but lovely. The concierge is amazing! The management sent a bottle of chilled champagne and a strawberry cake for our anniversary. The location is ideal for use of Central Park and eastside shopping. I love this kind of small, European style hotel. The are remodeling their restaurant, so temporary digs for breakfast, which was not exceptional, but I'm sure when they have their restaurant going, it will be...because The Lowell is a class act.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, luxurious hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pellicci

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com