Ratings based on 2,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Stay

Posted Feb 26, 2015
This hotel is very close to the 79th street subway - very convenient to midtown and downtown via subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice hotel with excellent location

Posted Feb 26, 2015
This is a New York hotel, so the rooms are smaller for the amount you pay compared to other cities. That said, everything was comfortable and well run. Great location on the Upper West Side, an easy walk to the Natural History Museum, Central Park, and multiple subway lines. Great restaurant on the hotel premises (Nice-Matin).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Weekend in NYC

Posted Feb 24, 2015
My wife and I stayed at The Lucerne for a weekend away from months of big pressure work pressures to enjoy time together without interruption and see opera, plays and museums. A rare weekend alone together. The Lucerne was just the ticket. The staff provides incredible warm and effective service for anything you need. The concierge was outstanding in her knowledge of NY, especially restaurants and museums. The location is outstanding. Its away from the "tourist" areas, an easy walk to Central Park, Lincoln Center and easy cab or bus elsewhere. The next door restaurant (NiceMatin) is extremely good and breakfast there was excellent. We will definitely stay at the The Lucerne again. High marks, great weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Decent hotel, nothing special

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Location: The location is very near a subway stop which was very convenient in bad weather.
The room was very small overlooking an alleyway. The Café Matin attached to the hotel was a very nice option for breakfast. The lobby and hallways are very tired looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Landmark hotel on the Upper West Side

Posted Feb 21, 2015
I stayed for one night during a last minute trip into the city. The building is beautiful, the service was great, and the room was very clean. I also had a great breakfast at the attached restaurant. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock NY

Best hotel on the Upper West Side

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Everything. See comments above.
Cons: Nothing ....everything is perfect.
Location: It's just a block from the subway and numerous restaurants and the Museum of Natural History and Central Park.
I love this hotel. Everything about it is wonderful, from the understated elegance of its lobby to the large, well-appointed rooms that are SO comfortable. I have nothing bad to say about this place. The beds are comfy, the room well-heated, and the bathroom even has a tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Lovely stay, great location, staff was kind and thoughtful. And, concierge was really helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Room amenities were a bit sparse. It helped when the hotel was so strategically located that everything I needed was easily available in the drugstores all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sullivan County NY

Easy to get to

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The hotel was in a great location for what I was doing in the city and there was a great parking garage across the street. the only criticism is that the room was pretty small but it was clean and the bathroom was newly redone and the shower had good pressure. There was a small French restaurant and bar downstairs (Nicematin) that was very nice but it was extremely expensive especially for breakfast. It would have been nice if breakfast was included with the room but you get a coupon for 15% off which is still very expensive for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Just a really pleasant staff

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Used to paying more for this kind of treatment and location. Honestly a five-star experience (unless you have a lot of business meeting requirements)
Cons: Nothing much, but the lobby is fairly small.
Location: Easy, easy walk to Central Park & Natl History Museum & Historical Society Museum, even for non-rugged walkers.
The staff was very friendly and in this neighborhood, that's not always the case. No complaints.