Ratings based on 1,660 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewiston, NY

Upper West Side is perfect for many reasons!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Everything....classy, clean, comfy, location, etc.
My husband's birthday celebration each year consists of a few days in the city, a Yankees game, restaurants galore, and lots of walking. This year we chose to stay in the upper west side, at The Lucerne. From the moment we drove up in the taxi, the building is beautiful, the doorman is right by your side, the entrance and inside the lobby is charming and comfortable, the front desk staff so helpful and friendly. When entering the room, it was also charming with its furnishings, antique-ish yet modern, roomy, comfortable queen bed. The bathroom was clean, with new tiling. I mentioned at the front desk that we were there to celebrate my husband's birthday. When the bellman brought our luggage up, he handed me a bottle of wine and said compliments of the hotel and wished him a great birthday. I like that! We had lots of help from the concierge, suggestions, and overall extremely friendly. I would recommend this very classy hotel, reasonably priced for the area, very close to Central Park. And I would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great stay on upper west side.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The hotel really feels like a classic NY hotel. It has a lot of character with a great staff. We're coming back to NY in December and we will definitely be retuning to the Lucerne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel close to subway

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Near subway and Central Park.
Cons: Mattress was old and uncomfortable.
We stayed at The Lucerne in late August and thought it was quite a good choice. We wanted to be near Central Park and this hotel is close. A subway stop is nearby, which was important for us as we ended up spending most of our time in Soho and Greenwich village and not near the hotel at all. The hotel was clean and the room more spacious than we expected, but the bed was not very comfortable and this significantly affected our sleep. Before staying there again I would want the hotel to purchase new mattresses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Times Square

Overpriced small rooms

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Staff is nice. Overpriced for what you get, even for Manhattan. I could have got just as nice of a room closer to times square than the Lucerne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel is only few steps away from the subway

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Only a few steps away from the subway which is very handy and you can go up and down Manhattan area.
Location: Lots of restaurants around the hotel which is a little expensive for people like me. But if you go further away from it you will find some cheaper one
Room is big and clean with coffee making facility which is a plus when coffee is the first thing you want as soon as you wake up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alcochete, Portugal

Good hotel, nice room.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The room had a fair size, could be a little bigger though. Location was good, near subway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Location: Upper West Side, close to lots of dining options.
The staff was helpful, and the hotel is beautiful! Definitely would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: It would have been nice if the rooms had refrigerators. I would have also been nice if there was an indoor pool.
Location: The hotel was conveniently located near several lovely restaurants. It was within walking distance of the Children's Museum
The hotel was conveniently located near several lovely restaurants. It was within walking distance of the Children's Museum. The hotel staff was very nice and they allowed me to check into my room early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Very pleasant family friendly.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything is nice and the atmosphere is calm.
Location: You are close to everything including the park!
Love the location! Easy to walk to great food or grab a cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Clean, comfortable, and convenient!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The bed and pillows were super comfortable. Elevator was fast, convenient to the subway. They hold your luggage for the day.
Cons: Provide choc chip cookies in the lobby. Have ice makers on the ground floor or on each floor. Don't charge $6 for the bottle of water in the room!
Location: The museum of Nat'l History and Lincoln center are nearby, as is Central Park. But the subway just down the street will take you just about anywhere!
We searched high and low for a clean, comfortable hotel in the city. This one came with all great reviews, and we can see why! One block from the subway, quiet area, small but clean and comfortable room---great deal for NYC! It's a 15-min. subway ride from Times Square, but convenient to all the sights. Easy Subway stop on the west side of Central Park. We'd likely stay there again!