Ratings based on 2,008 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Braselton

Good Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room. The Nicematin restaurant.
Cons: The staff could be friendlier and make the customers feel more welcomed.
Location: The location was great with Central Park only a few blocks away. Museums, restaurants and the subway were all very close.
This hotel was a reasonable deal. The room was clean and comfortable though the bathroom was small and had no fan. The staff was helpful when needed but did not communicate much and did not make me feel important. Overall I did like the hotel and would stay there again. BTW there was no breakfast included but they did give you 15% off at the Nicematin restaurant right beside the hotel. This restaurant is EXCELLENT and may have been the best thing about the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Lovely stay

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Cons: There isn't anything I can think of to improve, it's an old-school nyc hotel experience!
My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights in New York, it was my third visit and my husband's first. We chose The Lucerne because we wanted a traditional NYC at Christmas experience, something more relaxed for the week we were there. The Lucerne was ideal! We stayed in a Superior King room on the 5th floor at the back which was perfect, although we didn't have much of a view, it was quiet. We had plenty of space and all the facilities we needed in our room plus it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was really useful having access to free WiFi for planning days out. We were able to use the business suite to check-in for our return flight. The hotel reception staff, door men and concierge were always on hand to help with queries, bags and hailing taxis; many reviews commented on the surly service but we didn't find it so. It's a nice neighbourhood, walking distance to Central Park and the Subway is so accessible for exploring Downtown. We would definitely book The Lucerne if we go back to NYC again. "Nice Matin" did a nice breakfast but we were looking for something a little more rustic and can recommend "Good Enough to Eat" a couple of blocks up (try the Lumberjack). Sarabeth's is a good but pricey brunch and busy at the weekends! "Blondies" over the road was easy for catching the sport with a diner style bar snack (their wings are rated!). Insomnia Cookies - yum! The rest of the time we ate Downtown as the subway made it so accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location close to the #1 train.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything....small boutique feel yet we didn't feel like we were missing any amenities of the bigger hotels.
Cons: Upgrade your business center. Computers were slow and being charged by the minute seemed a little out of touch regarding service in a nice hotel.
Location: Whatever you wanted to do was only a few steps away via the subway. Also...walking a block and half to the Museum of Natural History or Central Park
Everything was great from the check in to the stay itself. Staff was great and the concierge was very helpful. She helped in securing great tickets to many things. Rooms were quiet and the view of the river was nice. Close to Central Park and the #1 train was on the corner which took us everywhere we wanted to go. Loved this Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis Md.

Small, Cozy and Friendly on the Upper West Side

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Staff: friendly and helpful.
Cons: That check in time.
Location: on the Upper West Side ... near Lincoln Center, Central Park, many museums ... quick cab ride to the theatre district ... a great location
The Lucerne is a welcoming place, starting with the front door and front desk staff. The 4 p.m. check in time is a drawback, but the staff is accommodating and helpful. Our room was small but clean and nicely appointed ... just fine for our one night stay this time around. The restaurant breakfast discount coupon for Nice Matin next door is a welcome touch and the restaurant is a perfect complement in style to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bruxelles

Chaleureux hôtel dans l'Upper West Side

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Location: à cinq minutes à pied de Central Park et du musée d'histoire naturelle. Le quartier est plein de restaurants et de bars.
Excellent hôtel situé dans un quartier plus calme que midtown par exemple. La décoration est très classique et les chambres sont confortables et propres. Les lits queen size sont un peu justes en profondeur, peut-être penser à prendre la taille au dessus. L'entrée de métro de la ligne 1 sur la 79ème rue se trouve juste au coin. Hôtel à conseiller à tout le monde.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not one bad thing I can say about this hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel was at a gret location, away from all the noisy touristic areas but close enough so that any place can be reached easily through the subway stop which is a minute's walk from the hotel. Everything is available around he hotel from restaurants to supermarkets to pharmacies. As for hotel itself, the staff were very accommodating, rooms were large and clean and the beds were extremely comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Veenendaal

Fijn hotel gelegen op perfecte locatie

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Het hotel heeft een uitstekende ligging, vlakbij Central Park, in het minder hectische gedeelte van NY met de metro voor de deur. Ontbijt bij Nice Matin (naast het hotel) is ook prima. Ontvangst was minder hartelijk, rest van het personeel was wel erg vriendelijk. Lobby is in december ijskoud en nodigt niet uit om even te zitten. Prima hotel, echt een aanrader als je dichtbij de stad wilt zitten, maar af en toe toch even aan de drukte wilt ontsnappen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

The Lucerne - Upper West Side

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient to subway and good restaurants within walking distance.
Cons: water pressure in the shower was not stable but it was not a big deal.
Great value for money. The location is conveniently close to the subway and lots of restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kerry ireland

Uptown excellence

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Located in a lovely neighbourhood walking distance from central park 2 blocks away , subway station down the street some really great bars and local restaurants in the area aswell it's a nice quiet get away at the end of a day's visit to the madness that is New York city , great staff very friendly and efficient check in no messing about . Great rooms plenty of room for storage for the shopping , comfy beds good showers and a good breakfast inhotels Nice Martin restaurant .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, UK

Lovely Lucerne

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Location, character and helpfulness of staff.
Location: Museum of Natural History and Central Park
Lovely traditional hotel in a fairly quiet location although close enough to all of the main attractions, with the underground only two minutes walk away. A great restaurant next door to the hotel providing a good choice and quality of food in a relaxing atmosphere (15% discount on breakfast for hotel patrons). Friendly, helpful staff, clean comfortable bedrooms and absolutely NO noise from NY traffic. Small issue with clanking pipes/central heating but given all of the other positives, this could be easily overlooked. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay here again.