Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lucerne Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and neat.
Location: I liked the location of the hotel, the subway was right around the corner as well as numerous restaurants and Central Park is only a few blocks away.
I stayed at the Lucerne Hotel for 4 days/3 nights. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Comfortable, but small

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Location is close to Central Park, which we wanted to visit, also many great restaurants. Beds were comfortable, great shower. No amenities such as coffee maker, refgr or microwave. Bellmen and doorman very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York City

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and nice rooms.
Nice location. The hotel is near alot of nice dining and is also close to The Natural Science Museum. The subway is close too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The "old" world feel and the decor was nice.
Cons: The noise level! Also if house keeping could start later and be quieter
After reading other reviewers experiences I was very much looking forward to staying here but was overall diappointed in my stay. First of all, my room was very small (even by NY standards). My colleagues were also staying here and had a beautiful large room with a double bed and only ended up paying a little more than me. The walls were thin and you could hear EVERYTHING! The first night I could hear a man in the adjacent room yawning! You could hear everyone walking by your room and hear people in nearby rooms talking. From the noise and lack of sleep I was trying to make it up on my last morning there but couldn't as housekeeping started at 8 am. You could hear everything they were doing plus music from their radio on their cart. For the price I paid to stay here this is not what I was hoping to experience. For just a few dollars more you could stay at the Plaza or the Windsor-Astoria so it's not like this is an "Economy" hotel. I've been to New York once before and stayed at the Westin in Grand Central for much less and it was a MUCH better experience. So do yourself a favor and choose a different 4-star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Great location for us. Away from the madness of downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The room was great and the fridge and microwave came in handy. The room was really quiet and for being in such an urban area we barely heard a siren.
Location: Where to start? Lincoln Center is close by. Central Park is close. There are a stunning amount of incredible dining establishments within an arm's rea
What a nice hotel. It's only a short walk from Central Park. There is a subway stop on the same block. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Decent hotel, good location

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The location. Comfortable beds. Clean rooms.
Cons: The hotel is starting to feel a little bit dated. There is nothing that makes it stand out in particular.
Location: Very close to Metro line. Close to lots of shops, bars and restaurants, plus Central Park is only 10 minutes walk away.
The Lucerne Hotel is a fairly good hotel and we had a pleasant stay during our trip to New York. The rooms were clean but fairly standard. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well every night. Being on the Upper West Side it is also fairly quiet (at least it was on the 12th floor). The staff were reasonably friendly and having asked for a room on a higher level they gave us a room on the top floor. The location was great - very close to the Metro line, so extremely easy to get downtown. It is also very close to Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue, the former great for shopping and the latter full of restaurants and bars. In addition, Central Park is only a 10 minute walk away. In summary, I would recommend this hotel based on its location, cleanliness and comfort. However, if you are looking for something a bit more special then I would imagine you can probably find something else a bit more suitable for around the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN

Nice and quiet

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet sleep environment
Cons: Bigger fitness facility. But is actually not bad considering.
Location: Central park is a couple blocks away. Times square is just down the road.
Hotel is clean and quiet. Sleep quality is well above average for a big city experience. Fast elevators were a surprise. Nice location next to central park. Short walk from times square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great experience on our anniversary

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Everything. The staff was very polite and took very good care of us
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Central park, museum of natural history and Columbus circle - certainly plenty to stay busy.
Loved staying on the upper west side close to central park. We chose the Lucerne because of it's unique interior style and exceptional attention to detail. The room was perfect with high end furnishings, great amenities and a large bathroom that was clean and up to date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Nice hotel, best part was Concierge Ron. Extremely helpful. My room bathroom smaller than my home half-bath. Food good, not great. I would go again. Not handicap friendly. No ramp at entrance. Elevators to small, narrow door.