Ratings based on 4,831 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Co. Louth, Ireland

Ideally located, Lovely staff, Great hotel.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: In particular the beds were incredibly comfortable.
Cons: Possibly new taps for the bath/shower.
Location: fantastic location, less than a 5 minute walk to times square and a 30 second walk from the subway
The beds were fantastic, mattress was very soft but still offered support which was brilliant as I have a history of back pain and had no discomfort whatsoever during my stay. The staff were as you would expect very friendly and willing to help with any needs I had. The room itself was clean but the bath tub was visibly dusty when I turned on the shower head the first day that we were there. however every other day after the housekeeper had been through the room was immaculate so I would assume this was a one time oversight and if not for this oversight I would be giving a 5 for cleanliness also. Overall I had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family and if I ever come back to New York I will definitely be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

The location is the best asset of this Hotel!!!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: Staff, bathrooms.......towels were paper thin and small. One even had a "Sheraton" tag on it???
Location: We did Time Square, subway to Brooklyn bridge and walked it. We saw the Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial. We went to see "Wicked" on Broadway.
I booked this hotel even though I read some bad reviews about room and staff. The other people were dead on! The rooms are quite small and out dated. Bathroom needs improvement and windows were filthy! We knew we would not be spending much time in the room so we were fine with that! The most disappointing was the staff and concierge. They were not the least bit friendly or helpful. We always got the impression we were putting them out or bothering them. We would go down the strip and as the "BIG BUS" people standing on the corner for information and advise because they were more helpful. Plus, I don't know what the smell is that they have pumped into the lobby but it is so overpowering and nasty we didn't want to spend any time in the Lobby! I would recommend the hotel to friends just because the location was perfect and warn them about my experience but I know that next time I visit NYC I will probably look elsewhere before booking at "The Manhattan at Time Square" again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!

Posted May 25, 2015
great hotel; accesible to all significant places in NYC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
The hotel is in a great location, but the conditions are a bit rough! The staff was very polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2015 by Raluca A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Manhattan at Times Square Hotel for your accommodation in the Heart of the Big Apple. We have noted your concerns and we will be addressing the wear and tear of the rooms to prevent them form affecting our future guests' stays. Yours in Hospitality, Raluca Avacaritei Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

They still get you.

Posted May 22, 2015
It was a very nice hotel. Clean. The day you check out they surprise you with an amenities bill for each night you stayed. No way out of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near Times Square

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Location
Cons: Needs updating, incorporating inviting meeting/bar area.
Location: Good location for most attractions, either on foot or using the bus
Front desk staff not over helpful. Comfortable bed. Adequate bathroom facilities. Convenient for travelling around the city. Lacked sociable bar area. Lifts not adequate at peak times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Very good

Posted May 19, 2015
Very good, personel very nice Service.excellent Near everything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location... not so great of a room.

Posted May 18, 2015
Ok so never been to NY and very excited up on my arrival. Right there in Times Square, man what a location. Walk in and there is a gentleman complaining about the reservation being messed up and him being exceptionally clear about why this was not his fault but rather neglect from the staff to honor the accommodation (2 queens not 1 King). Thought wow not a great start. Ok sir, your next. I walk up give my confirmation and they tell me I have a King bed. Said no I booked double occupancy two adults two queens and paid more. No, sorry! By the way no hint on sincerity in tone what so ever. Anyways partially defeated I got a room and went to the elevators. Get out of the elevators and carpet in hall is trashed with stains and some crumbs scattered about. Ok not great but whatever, slide key in the door green light is a go, and bam! Moldy smell smacked you in the face right when you walked in. I mean strong mildew smell in the whole room. TV remote did not work, towels literally were closer to sandpaper than towels (maybe used 500 plus times and running thin). Anyways all this for $350 for a night. Was so happy to get out the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2015 by Raluca A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear your first New York experienced was not a pleasant one, we will be addressing the cleanliness issues you experienced and also to room type allocations as we do always guarantee our guests the room type booked. Yours in Hospitality, Raluca Avacaritei Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in perfect location!!

Posted May 18, 2015
Nice hotel, not a fancy over the top kind, but nice, clean and comfortable. Perfect location!! I will definitely stay here again. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only thing good is location.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Only thing is location.
Cons: It needs to be torn down and rebuilt.
Location: Good location.
Location is only thing going for it. It is dirty, walls are dirty in hallways, carpet is horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Raluca A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies on behalf of the entire staff for not being able to provide you with a satisfactory experience in the Heart of the Big Apple. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads and corrective actions will be taken. Yours in Hospitality, Raluca Avacaritei Front Office Manager