Ratings based on 2,810 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it was close to everything we needed but in the b

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: the proximity to everything we needed
Cons: painting of the room, and in general painting of everything...the iron left in the room did not work...the halls and downstairs as well as the rooms
Location: locations was very good
told we had hot tub, swimming pool and free continental breakfast..none of these, total disappointment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Caribbean Islands

Hotel Overall Condition disappointing

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The staff was very helpful and professional. Hotel condition was disappointing though - the hotel needs new wall paper, new curtains at windows, new carpet - as it smelled, honestly that was a shocker, cracks on walls and ceiling. Tiles in bathroom seem to be from the 60's. Toilet boil ran over one time but good that the plumber came right away. So staff and service was good. But the condition of hotel was not worth what we paid for. The room was generally clean but if you look under the bed it looked like underneath had not been swept for weeks, dead lock on door not working. But thank God we only slept there. I intentionally stayed away even though tired at times and wanted to go back to room to lay down, I decided not to as I didn't feel as comfortable as I should have, well on vacation. I believe that with this type service - good staff service - the hotel can be even more popular if upgraded. But from what I gathered the hotel is always full so perhaps this is the reason the owners are not investing money into the structure. Oh, by the way, hall ways were also ran down specifically walls and carpets - eye sore!. The Lobby very nice though. Sorry but unfortunately this is all very true.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We stayed for 4 nights. Room could do with updating but was clean and comfortable. The safe wasn't working when we arrived but this was quickly fixed. Staff were helpful and polite. The hotel is in a good location, we walked to most attractions and were close to the subway for those we couldn't walk to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Excellent location but a very old hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The staff is polite and helpful, the location is excellent.
Cons: The bathtub needs replacement, the hotel rooms and hallways need renovation.
Location: The location is excellent, close to the theatre district, Times Square and subway. Very convenience to go shopping and watching musical.
The hotel is very old and definitely needs renovation. I booked a deluxe room but the bathtub is very old and with dirt and scratches, the tile is broken. The door lock is problematic and always have problem when opening with the given key card. The blanket is worn out and a hole is found at one corner. We were disturbed twice by the servicing staff who mistakenly knocked our door in two different mornings. Some elevators are under maintenance so the servicing elevator is scheduled to stop in every single floor, it costs you extra time to go down to the ground floor every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Brendan, Hotel Management
Dear Jack, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to know you did not have a favorable experience and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. Please know this is not the type of service we pride ourselves on delivering to our guest and correction measures have been taken to avoid any future guest from experiencing the same. We hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Handy for NYC main attractions

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Its position in the city and the level of comfort and cleanliness.
Cons: More facilities. A bar and coffee shop would be nice.
Location: Walk to Central Park or Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, etc. Close to subway for everything else. Loads of places to eat and drink and shop.
The hotel was fine for what we wanted. Comfortable and clean - a little impersonal and thin on any extras but we were unconcerned about this as it was just a base. A comfortable base.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Older hotel that could use some updating. Comfortable room and for one night I wasn't going to pay big bucks for a clean bed and towels. Waiting for an elevator on our floor to go to the lobby was a 15 min ordeal, but that was the only thing that I could comment on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from pueblo, Colorado

A place to sleep.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: See above comments.
Location: Good.
Room 1028: Shower curtain is mounted on a bow rod, it is not mounted properly one screw on each side is missing which causes the rod to sag and both ends of the curtain slip toward the center which causes water to go on the floor on both ends. Need good chairs to watch TV. Internet service should be free. Most people only spend a few minutes in the room plus sleeping time. Internet service is not worth 15 dollars a day if you would only use it 10 or so minutes a day. The staff were exceptional and very helpful. The location of the hotel is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

3 min to time Sq

Posted Sep 16, 2014
As usual , when you get the good rate ? You get a worst room in hotel Room on lower floor next to elevator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Location, staff and cleanliness of room are perfect. But room is too "simple" and missing some amenities commensurate with 4 start hotel. (there is no bar in the room for example). Also, there is no restaurant in the hotel and breakfast is very plain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Include breakfast and free internet in the rooms.
Location: Excellent. Evertyhing is near you.
Comfortable hotel located in a very very spot. Everything you want to do in Manhattan is close to it.