Ratings based on 3,002 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2014
All was solid and good, an inexpensive hotel. The elevator was quite slow with long lines but otherwise what i expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Trenton, NJ

Needs an upgrade

Posted Nov 27, 2014
The room was as clean as it could be given the circumstances. But the hotel needs a serious remodel. It looks nice from the street and the main floor, but when you get off the elevator, it is like a completely different hotel, a worn down Motel 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Nov 27, 2014
The location was perfect. Walking distance to most everything. Older hotel but was kept clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. John's Newfoundland

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 26, 2014
The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The housekeeping done a great job with cleaning our room daily. The only fault was the wait time for the elevator but we were told in advance that they were doing work on them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Overcrowded. Beds are not comfortable. Staff is partly friendly. Towels were mostly grey rather than there original white. Not very modern room. Location is very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Renovation in progress

Posted Nov 26, 2014
It was a convenient hotel, the beds weren't too bad, shower pressure was good, shampoo and personal care products were decent quality. And that's all the good I have to share. The not so good: elevators take an eternity, lobby smells like someone spilled bad cologne, lots of renovation throughout the hotel so it can be loud and not attractive, heating/cooling units rattle and make noise, cabinet drawers were kind of gross, shower tiles look like they're going to fall off the wall, shower tub floor was puffy under the vinyl exterior, bathroom light shade actually fell out, loud neighbors and nobody in hotel patrolling for noise. I guess >$130/nt in NYC gets you a hotel room that is closer to a motel 6 feel. I don't think I would return any time soon. They would have to renovate more than the wallpaper and hallways for me to want to stay there again. I would be willing to pay a little more in the future for something of better quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Great location, rooms left something to be desired

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Staff and location were shining stars at this hotel
Cons: As I said in the experience, the rooms need a pretty significant upgrade.
Location: It's equidistant between south Central Park and Times Square. Things to do in the immediate area are plenty, but pricey. Great location for Broadway.
This hotel was perfect for what we needed- somewhere central to everything we were doing over the weekend (broadway show, wedding in south Central Park). We don't know the city well so being in the middle of Manhattan was very helpful for those who don't know the area well. Everyone who helped us was nice as well- the people at check-in, the bellman, the man who helped us catch a taxi in the rain were all very sweet. The room was decent but left something to be desired. It was pretty dark, even with all the lights on, there was not much room to move in the bathroom, our faucet leaked constantly all weekend, and there wasn't much space in general. It was acceptable, but nothing to write home about. All in all, an acceptable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Pleasant Hotel near to Times Square

Posted Nov 25, 2014
This is a pleasant clean hotel close to Times Square. We booked a Standard room which was spacious, clean & had a big comfortable kingsize bed. The only negatives are halls to rooms look a little tired & need of update & there could be a fridge in the room. Would stay again. Value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Perfect location, not so perfect quality

Posted Nov 24, 2014
I will start by saying this location cannot be beat and the hotel staff were extremely friendly (which is a rarity for NYC). However, there were stains on the sheets of both beds and the shower floor was so dark (it was a white tub) that we wore sandals to take a shower. The staff did a good job of cleaning the room while we were gone during the day, the room is just really old. The lobby looks like it has been updated though, so I would anticipate the rooms would slowly be redone soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Very close to Times Square,Central Park,Broadway.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location and room was just what we wanted.
Cons: Floor hallways could use a fresh coat of paint,new flooring and lighting.
Location: Short walking distance to Central Park ,Bloomingdales,Times Square,Radio City Music Hall,Rockerfeller Center,Empire State Building,Broadway and Macy,s
Everyone was very pleasant,from store owners,police officers,and even locals(The ones who looked aprochable).This city is very walkable and the sub way is also a great way to move around.We are not from a place with sub ways and they were easy to understand after a trip or two on them.