Ratings based on 1,546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast

November stay!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, roof top terrace, location.
Cons: Maybe a residents bar.
Location: Its a great location, close to east village, greenwich village which suited my tastes.
The Marcel is a great hotel, what makes it great is its staff. They always had a smile, couldnt do anymore to help, gave my girlfriend a nice bottle of red and a birthday car which was a lovely touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrid A/C noise & dripping toilet & weird layout

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Replace severely defective A/C units and toilets
The room was small and laid out in a funny way--I had to snake around a 2' wide corridor to get to the window and ironing board. Very weird. I am sure most rooms are not laid out that way, so whatever. I could have put up with the layout had it not been for two problems: (1) The A/C noise was intolerable. It would make very loud noises every 15 or so seconds for several minutes trying to start up and then when it kicked in, was intensely loud. I had to turn it off to sleep, and room temperature rose to an uncomfortable 77 degrees. The hotel staff had placed earplugs (for free) on the nightstand, so it seems clear to me they knew about the problem. (2) The toilet had this irritating dripping sound that could not be stopped. I am sure many previous people complained about these things to the hotel and yet nothing was done. The rest of the hotel was nice--good place and nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norco, CA

Nice, clean and comfortable.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Great Staff and clean rooms.
Cons: More shelving in bathrooms. Currently there are none at all.
Location: Flatiron building is closest. Great lunch at The Rose Hill Tavern. Great breakfast at Bluebell Cafe.
The only reason I did not give this Hotel a 5 star rating is that the rooms could have been larger and offered more storage. The bathroom was small but clean and updated, however it was lacking shelving to place your toiletries on. On the up side, the staff is great - Chris in particular and our maid Kumrina. Rooftop lounge provides great views of the Empire State Building. The subway is about 3 blocks away. By the way, no coffee maker in rooms. You must go to the Rooftop lounge, 10th floor, to get your coffee and tea. Kind of an inconvenience but no deal breaker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington dc

Adequate boutique hotel near gramercy park

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Usual tiny NYC room. Clean, no desk at which to sit. Otherwise pleasant enough if you're just sleeping there. Very good desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando

Very nice

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Great location. Easy staff. Very accommodating., had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SE PA

Nice Room

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient walking distance to where I needed to go, nice restaurants and bars nearby. Room was clean
Cons: I don't think you can improve the street noise, that was just where my room was facing. Coffee/breakfast room service would have been great.
Location: Lots of good reasonable restaurants and bars, breakfast and pastry bakeries, coffee houses.
Room was nice and clean, thought it was on the normal size for NY hotels. Staff was very nice. No restaurant or fitness facility onsite, had to go to 10th floor for Keurig coffee...but there is a Starbucks a block away. Lot of street noise at night as this area has several good drinking establishments near it! I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Easy walk to many attractions

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Great location
Location: Walk to Empire State Building,shopping , grammercy park
Nice hotel with a rooftop deck and friendly staff. Served wine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Fairly nice, but VERY small.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Style was quite nice. Very comfortable Beds and seemed clean. Large, comfortable 10th Floor Lounge with free coffee was a nice escape from the room.
Cons: More clothing storage/organization, more hangers, closet and bathroom shelving, etc. would be nice improvements.
Location: Really easy to dash in and out of the Hotel to a good Bagel place (Pick a Bagel,) and also hit 23rd Street with a DrugStore and Starbucks.
If you need to stay in this general area, this is a decent bet. The price is a little better than some of the crazy $$$ Hotels like the nearby Gramercy Park. We were a family of 3: Dad, Mom, and our 3 year old little boy. So we booked a room with two Double Beds. The first room we got was BARELY any larger than the footprint of those two beds, and it was extremely unpleasant just trying to squeeze past the beds or the tiny desk. Our only Window (to a rear Shaftway) would not stay latched shut so that was a safety deal-breaker with a small child in the room. (The clueless repairman eventually just screwed the window shut, which sucked, but was at least safer.) I guess they took my complaint seriously enough about the window, and not being n a High floor as we were promised. They moved us the next day to the 9th floor into a similar room but with better floor space. (Still a New York sized room, but livable!) This way you could walk past each other in the room, which was nice. Still, just two beds, a small desk with chair, and a very small easy chair. No room for anything else, like a dresser or anything. This Hotel would be better-suited for someone traveling alone or as a couple, especially if you're young, and not bringing/wearing formal clothes during your stay. Their 10th Floor Lounge is a GREAT place for a comfortable seat with elbow room, FREE Coffee and WiFi. It has a nice view of the Empire State Building and even a small outdoor section.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Palm Beach, FL

Clean, safe, great location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Rooftop offers an amazing view of the empire state building and you can go up there for complimentary coffee or tea until 10 pm, great plus!
Cons: Water pressure in the showers could definitely be improved
Location: 3 blocks from the 23 st trains which will take you all over & Madison Square Park. Across the street from the park is the iconic Flat Iron Building.
Room was clean. I recommend upgrading to the bigger rooms for more space. I have a feeling we wouldn't have been so comfortable in the smaller room we originally booked. Walls in the rooms are thin; however, we were able to sleep soundly without a problem. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for the location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Room and the bathrrom was very small. Bathroom sink area does not have enough of space to put your toiletries. You can hear the conversations coming from the next door very clearly. Definitely, no privacy.