Ratings based on 1,323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great location. Parking directly across the street 25.00 for 24 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from New York, NY

Comfortable bed, good location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location. I have lived in the neighborhood and love it.
Cons: Rooms could be larger.
Location: Restaurants, bars, a movie theater, library, coffee shops, health food store, thrift shops, diner, post office, etc., all within walking distance.
Didn't spend much time here except to sleep. Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice. Even by New York standards the room was very small. But it was overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Great location, comfortable beds and pillows, clean, lovely staff
Cons: Drainage in bathroom very slow, slow and spotty internet, temperature in room hard to regulate, better description of standard room sizes
We stayed at the Marcel for 7 nights. When we checked in to the hotel we were given a very, very small room with a double bed. My parents booked a room directly through The Marcel site and were given a much more spacious room with a queen size bed. Since we both paid the same amount for the rooms (but we booked through Expedia), I asked the staff to move to another, larger room as I was sharing with my sister and we were staying for quite a while. They were very helpful and accommodating and arranged for us to move to a larger room the next day. After that, we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were given complimentary internet, however it was very slow and dropped in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abby from Chapel Hill. NC

Nice, inexpensive hotel in Gramercy

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Hotel was clean, and staff was courteous. Rooms were small (as is true of most NY hotels), but plenty comfortable and modern--they supplied an iPhone charger and complementary wifi. The Gramercy neighborhood isn't the most exciting, but its close to both the NYU area and midtown. Easy to get uptown and to head into the boroughs. The staff was really unobtrusive, but helpful when we had questions or needed advice. My only complaint about the hotel is that they gave us a really mediocre restaurant recommendation--it was very clear that the hotel has a deal with the restaurant to refer their guests in that direction! This hotel is PERFECT for couples who want to be out and about during the day, but return to a nice, clean space in a convenient location in Manhattan. The hotel is a steal for its price. It's also perfect if you are coming to NY to attend a conference at NYU; the hotel is an easy walk away, but removed enough so that you don't feel like you are in NYU-land.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Gramercy, New York

Good location, poor views, and comfortable beds!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: -Lobby -Staff friendliness -Modern feel
Cons: -The bathrooms. Felt old. - More outlets for charging electronics - perhaps something complimentary like water or chocolate
Location: - Good location from subway. - Close to Flatiron building - Good restaurants around like the Bluebell Cafe and La Follia as well as coffee
-We thought our room was a bit small however we enjoyed the comfortable beds. -We DID NOT ENJOY our fire escape view as the room had no natural light but the staff was quite nice and accommodating. -Our bathroom shower curtain was just cloth so the water would easily seep onto the floor and there was an annoying fan that ran every time you wanted to turn the light on. -Lobby was very modern, warm, and clean. -Good grab and go food around the area -Just 2 avenues from the subway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The marcel at Gramercy

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: It suited us very well but would have liked a bigger room.
Cons: tea making fascilities in the room
Location: Location is near SVA and walking distance to Tenement museum and the Highline.
The hotel was in a good area. The rooms are very small,even by New York standards We would have liked to know before arriving that the restaurant was closed. We also assumed there was a bar. We found the staff helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeeda from sydney, Australia

Nice hotel close to many restaurants.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
My husband and I stayed there for 2 weeks as we were getting married in NY. The hotel staff were very helpful with telling us where the best shopping was, ordering cars for us and gave us a bottle of wine on our wedding day. The hotel itself was comfortable, our room was clean, modern and warm and it wasn't as noisy as we expected. We will definitely stay there again when we next visit NY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan

good location, nice staff

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: .lounge, the location and the staff
Cons: Twice we had confusion with our cab taking us to the other Marcel Hotel. Giving the intersecting streets was the best way to assure we got there.
Location: It was easy to walk to the Metro or get a cab. Drug store and Groceries were close. It was a nice walk to Madison Square Park & shopping.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The lounge on the 10th floor was a must since the room didn't really have a window with a view. The room was clean and comfortable except for the window. Everyone on the staff was pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by NYC fan from Boston, MA

Just Fine/the Price is Right

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Better room insulations, fixtures and plumbing need updating and maintenance.
You get what you paid for at the Marcel. Nothing special, small room, noisy doors closing all around, and some plumbing issues with the shower and faucets. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. I would recommend it based on the price, which is reasonable for a hotel in a great area of NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Courtney from Calgary

Great boutique hotel - fabulous staff

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Amazing staff, rooms were small however for the price great value and it is ny, small should be expected. the one issue we had was the room temp... It was too warm and it was hard to cool down, we resorted to having the windows open as ac, but even then the temp never made it below 23 celsius. we stayed for 7nights.