Ratings based on 1,516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Very nice

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Great location. Easy staff. Very accommodating., had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE PA

Nice Room

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient walking distance to where I needed to go, nice restaurants and bars nearby. Room was clean
Cons: I don't think you can improve the street noise, that was just where my room was facing. Coffee/breakfast room service would have been great.
Location: Lots of good reasonable restaurants and bars, breakfast and pastry bakeries, coffee houses.
Room was nice and clean, thought it was on the normal size for NY hotels. Staff was very nice. No restaurant or fitness facility onsite, had to go to 10th floor for Keurig coffee...but there is a Starbucks a block away. Lot of street noise at night as this area has several good drinking establishments near it! I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Easy walk to many attractions

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Great location
Location: Walk to Empire State Building,shopping , grammercy park
Nice hotel with a rooftop deck and friendly staff. Served wine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Fairly nice, but VERY small.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Style was quite nice. Very comfortable Beds and seemed clean. Large, comfortable 10th Floor Lounge with free coffee was a nice escape from the room.
Cons: More clothing storage/organization, more hangers, closet and bathroom shelving, etc. would be nice improvements.
Location: Really easy to dash in and out of the Hotel to a good Bagel place (Pick a Bagel,) and also hit 23rd Street with a DrugStore and Starbucks.
If you need to stay in this general area, this is a decent bet. The price is a little better than some of the crazy $$$ Hotels like the nearby Gramercy Park. We were a family of 3: Dad, Mom, and our 3 year old little boy. So we booked a room with two Double Beds. The first room we got was BARELY any larger than the footprint of those two beds, and it was extremely unpleasant just trying to squeeze past the beds or the tiny desk. Our only Window (to a rear Shaftway) would not stay latched shut so that was a safety deal-breaker with a small child in the room. (The clueless repairman eventually just screwed the window shut, which sucked, but was at least safer.) I guess they took my complaint seriously enough about the window, and not being n a High floor as we were promised. They moved us the next day to the 9th floor into a similar room but with better floor space. (Still a New York sized room, but livable!) This way you could walk past each other in the room, which was nice. Still, just two beds, a small desk with chair, and a very small easy chair. No room for anything else, like a dresser or anything. This Hotel would be better-suited for someone traveling alone or as a couple, especially if you're young, and not bringing/wearing formal clothes during your stay. Their 10th Floor Lounge is a GREAT place for a comfortable seat with elbow room, FREE Coffee and WiFi. It has a nice view of the Empire State Building and even a small outdoor section.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Clean, safe, great location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Rooftop offers an amazing view of the empire state building and you can go up there for complimentary coffee or tea until 10 pm, great plus!
Cons: Water pressure in the showers could definitely be improved
Location: 3 blocks from the 23 st trains which will take you all over & Madison Square Park. Across the street from the park is the iconic Flat Iron Building.
Room was clean. I recommend upgrading to the bigger rooms for more space. I have a feeling we wouldn't have been so comfortable in the smaller room we originally booked. Walls in the rooms are thin; however, we were able to sleep soundly without a problem. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for the location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Room and the bathrrom was very small. Bathroom sink area does not have enough of space to put your toiletries. You can hear the conversations coming from the next door very clearly. Definitely, no privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice amenities

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: very much
Cons: more friendly, less gruff staff
Location: in the heart of manhattan, very convenient
we were lent 2 umbrellas on rainy day; that was a very nice feature
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Work stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Nice hotel. Bit cramped but that's NY...great that you can use the NYSG...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Brilliantly located hotel with great facilities

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: This hotel is small, friendly and very well located. The roof top terrace with wonderful views of the Empire State Building and free wi-fi facilities
Cons: The air conditioning unit is noisy but the provision of earplugs block this out.
Location: Excellent central location of Manhattan. Nearest Metro is only a few blocks walk away. Good variety of local restaurants and diners.
Although the rooms are small they are perfectly adequate for the type of stay - ie. only really sleeping in room. Good hotel facilities, room cleaned and linen changed daily. Reception and doorman extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located in a central part of Manhattan and is only a short walk to the nearest Metro station. Good variety of restaurants and diners. Would definitely recommend and would love to return one day. Many thanks to all the staff who made us welcome in New York.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Disappointing - Go Elsewhere

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: - The lobby was well-decorated
I want to preface by saying that I'm a very low-maintenance traveler who doesn't typically complain, but I really feel like this hotel is just not worth the cost. Firstly, my room looked NOTHING like any of the photos. There was a laughingly small window that led to a creepy dark looking alley/electrical area. There was zero natural light in the room as the photos indicate, and no lamp which meant I had to rely on a poorly lit, fluorescent overhead light. The hotel also boasts a rooftop lounge with free wifi. The wifi didn't work, so I called the number that the website indicated. I got a hold of someone who was INCREDIBLY rude and condescending about the wifi not working. They basically blamed the whole thing on me and I had to actually just say bye and hang up because of how nasty they were being. Honestly, the list goes on. Hair in the bathroom, unkempt room amenities. I've stayed in plenty of other NYC hotels at similar price points. Spend the extra $30 and go somewhere else!