Ratings based on 1,564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
It was okay. The room was very small. The hot water didn't work at first and then it was opposite (turn to cold to get hot and vice versa). The heater never worked properly and had to have it fixed. It still didn't work right but at least we had heat (after waking to 44 degrees in the room). All in all, it was just okay. Lots of choices in NYC so I wouldn't see ever staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It all depends on the room you get

Posted Nov 20, 2014
We had a fabulous corner room with a view of 3rd Ave and 24th St. The room was beautiful and decor was lovely. The staff was very pleasant and I would definitely go back...if I could be assured of a "large" room. Saying this because when we viewed the layout of the floor we were on, some of the rooms are tiny...and I do mean tiny. Also, the heat wasn't working properly, but a maintenance person showed up within 10 minutes. He didn't fix it (11pm at night), but he did get us heat. Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at The Marcel - it was just what we needed!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not worth it

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The room was fine but very small. The toilet didn't work well and the tv didn't work at all. Location was good but honestly it isn't worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast

November stay!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, roof top terrace, location.
Cons: Maybe a residents bar.
Location: Its a great location, close to east village, greenwich village which suited my tastes.
The Marcel is a great hotel, what makes it great is its staff. They always had a smile, couldnt do anymore to help, gave my girlfriend a nice bottle of red and a birthday car which was a lovely touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel with very nice staff!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
I enjoyed everything during my stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the location was very convenient for me. I was impressed and will probably go back whenever I visit NYC again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Clean, comfortable room. Good service. Close to several good, casual restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Pleasure

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Very accommodating and hospitable hotel. The staff were friendly and caring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrid A/C noise & dripping toilet & weird layout

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Replace severely defective A/C units and toilets
The room was small and laid out in a funny way--I had to snake around a 2' wide corridor to get to the window and ironing board. Very weird. I am sure most rooms are not laid out that way, so whatever. I could have put up with the layout had it not been for two problems: (1) The A/C noise was intolerable. It would make very loud noises every 15 or so seconds for several minutes trying to start up and then when it kicked in, was intensely loud. I had to turn it off to sleep, and room temperature rose to an uncomfortable 77 degrees. The hotel staff had placed earplugs (for free) on the nightstand, so it seems clear to me they knew about the problem. (2) The toilet had this irritating dripping sound that could not be stopped. I am sure many previous people complained about these things to the hotel and yet nothing was done. The rest of the hotel was nice--good place and nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norco, CA

Nice, clean and comfortable.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Great Staff and clean rooms.
Cons: More shelving in bathrooms. Currently there are none at all.
Location: Flatiron building is closest. Great lunch at The Rose Hill Tavern. Great breakfast at Bluebell Cafe.
The only reason I did not give this Hotel a 5 star rating is that the rooms could have been larger and offered more storage. The bathroom was small but clean and updated, however it was lacking shelving to place your toiletries on. On the up side, the staff is great - Chris in particular and our maid Kumrina. Rooftop lounge provides great views of the Empire State Building. The subway is about 3 blocks away. By the way, no coffee maker in rooms. You must go to the Rooftop lounge, 10th floor, to get your coffee and tea. Kind of an inconvenience but no deal breaker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington dc

Adequate boutique hotel near gramercy park

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Usual tiny NYC room. Clean, no desk at which to sit. Otherwise pleasant enough if you're just sleeping there. Very good desk staff.