Ratings based on 1,136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Gramercy location, boutique hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Good design, pleasant room, quiet floors
Cons: Air conditioner was needed even though it was cool outside, very noisy.
This is a well-designed boutique hotel, reminds us of the "W" type, but at a slightly lower cost, and slightly less desirable location. Pleasant walk to Park Ave and Madison Square subway stations. Beds are very comfortable, sheets are slightly shorter than the bed, which took us some getting used to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susana

Beautiful finishes, great neighborhood

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Appearance; staff; location
Cons: More outlets in the rooms; internet access included in room rate
Location: Plenty of great restaurants nearby, such as Bamiyan (Afghan cuisine), Momofuku, Bluebell Cafe. Easy access to public transportation.
I stayed here while for 3 days while apartment hunting. The Marcel is very attractive, and it's in a cool neighborhood with good restaurants nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly small, but that's not an issue for me. I do wish that internet access was free--but it's not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I received an upgrade when checking in and had a problem with my key once I got to my room. I had to go back down and the girl fixed it right away which was great. I do feel like the elevator seemed to go very slow! Not a major deal but a little annoying. Other than that it was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2014
nice hotel, well located, rooms typically small but well furnished and comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great location. Parking directly across the street 25.00 for 24 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from New York, NY

Comfortable bed, good location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location. I have lived in the neighborhood and love it.
Cons: Rooms could be larger.
Location: Restaurants, bars, a movie theater, library, coffee shops, health food store, thrift shops, diner, post office, etc., all within walking distance.
Didn't spend much time here except to sleep. Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice. Even by New York standards the room was very small. But it was overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Great location, comfortable beds and pillows, clean, lovely staff
Cons: Drainage in bathroom very slow, slow and spotty internet, temperature in room hard to regulate, better description of standard room sizes
We stayed at the Marcel for 7 nights. When we checked in to the hotel we were given a very, very small room with a double bed. My parents booked a room directly through The Marcel site and were given a much more spacious room with a queen size bed. Since we both paid the same amount for the rooms (but we booked through Expedia), I asked the staff to move to another, larger room as I was sharing with my sister and we were staying for quite a while. They were very helpful and accommodating and arranged for us to move to a larger room the next day. After that, we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were given complimentary internet, however it was very slow and dropped in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abby from Chapel Hill. NC

Nice, inexpensive hotel in Gramercy

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Hotel was clean, and staff was courteous. Rooms were small (as is true of most NY hotels), but plenty comfortable and modern--they supplied an iPhone charger and complementary wifi. The Gramercy neighborhood isn't the most exciting, but its close to both the NYU area and midtown. Easy to get uptown and to head into the boroughs. The staff was really unobtrusive, but helpful when we had questions or needed advice. My only complaint about the hotel is that they gave us a really mediocre restaurant recommendation--it was very clear that the hotel has a deal with the restaurant to refer their guests in that direction! This hotel is PERFECT for couples who want to be out and about during the day, but return to a nice, clean space in a convenient location in Manhattan. The hotel is a steal for its price. It's also perfect if you are coming to NY to attend a conference at NYU; the hotel is an easy walk away, but removed enough so that you don't feel like you are in NYU-land.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Gramercy, New York

Good location, poor views, and comfortable beds!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: -Lobby -Staff friendliness -Modern feel
Cons: -The bathrooms. Felt old. - More outlets for charging electronics - perhaps something complimentary like water or chocolate
Location: - Good location from subway. - Close to Flatiron building - Good restaurants around like the Bluebell Cafe and La Follia as well as coffee
-We thought our room was a bit small however we enjoyed the comfortable beds. -We DID NOT ENJOY our fire escape view as the room had no natural light but the staff was quite nice and accommodating. -Our bathroom shower curtain was just cloth so the water would easily seep onto the floor and there was an annoying fan that ran every time you wanted to turn the light on. -Lobby was very modern, warm, and clean. -Good grab and go food around the area -Just 2 avenues from the subway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The marcel at Gramercy

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: It suited us very well but would have liked a bigger room.
Cons: tea making fascilities in the room
Location: Location is near SVA and walking distance to Tenement museum and the Highline.
The hotel was in a good area. The rooms are very small,even by New York standards We would have liked to know before arriving that the restaurant was closed. We also assumed there was a bar. We found the staff helpful and polite.