Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn & Jeff from Manchester, UK

40th birthday visit for our son.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The size of the room, having a balcony although too cold to use.
Cons: The furnishings seemed a bit dated but then I believe a lot of hotels in New York, depending on how much you pay, seem to have the same problem.
Location: Although over 3/4 miles to the centre of New York, traveling by the subway was a doddle. Good eating places and Central Park within vicinity.
We chose the Marmara purely because it offered a one bedroomed style apartment with cooking facilities. We were not disappointed at all, in fact it was a fantastic size and good to go back to at the end of sight seeing to relax bafore heading out again. The area was a good place to be, load of restaurants within walking distance, easy to get about for the subway for either downtown manhatten or to take a trip into Harlem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miyanou from Lima

Excellent Staff!!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The staff!
Location: The only temporary problem of this hotel is the subway construction, but this will end. So ask for a room in a higher floor.
We stayed early march in this Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The housekeeping was extraordinary and the room very comfortable. I recomend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cate from W

A Lovely Reprieve

Posted Mar 6, 2014
I spent three nights this wonderful establishment. The staff is very pleasant, and always willing to assist. My room on the 3rd floor had a nice view and was very clean. It's more of a studio with kitchen. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. It's in a great location. Just a few blocks away from the metro, shopping, and some of the best family style restaurants I've ever eaten at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy access to subway

Posted Feb 11, 2014
This is my first time to write a review for a hotel but it is worth letting people know this hotel is an excellent place to live. You live here like living at home. My suite offers a quality bedroom, a decent dining room, and everything I have in my own kitchen. Hotel staff are friendly and warmhearted. I got there early in the morning but I got checked in and room upgrade for free. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lonny from NY

nice hotel loud location

Posted Feb 5, 2014
We enjoyed our stay however we were not aware that there was construction directly outside of the hotel. The building had an antiquated heating system so it was difficult to manage climate control comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

:)

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: The small kitchen with the appliances are nice, but for my purposes, it was not really necessary.
Cons: If the front desk staff could greet us or acknowledge us when we walk in and out of the building, it would be nice. Sometimes it felt a bit awkward.
Location: Too far from the nearest subway stop and very difficult to hail a cab... especially when it's snowing heavily.
The room was nice. Probably because I checked in early, I got a lower floor room, so it was a bit louder (construction right outside the hotel).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by su51pah from New York, NY

Great facilities of an apartment.

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Spacious, clean, very comfy bed, balcony.
Cons: An updated shower - quite difficult to get the temperature just right, but it was possible and this one thing would not detract from the positives.
Location: Upper East Side is not in the tourist area, but the nearest subway is only 2 blocks away. When the new subway opens, it will be closer still.
Although this hotel is out of the typical touristy area, the subway is close by, and the fact that you can have the comfort of a kitchen, dining area and living room with large TV in a suite was amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Orange County, CA

Decent Apartment

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Kitchen needs to be upgraded. The sink has no garbage disposal and there were very limited cooking utensils and flatware.
Location: Fairly close to subway. Buy the unlimited subway pass...it will pay for itself.
This is really an apartment as opposed to a hotel located in the upper-east side of Manhattan. The apartment is located two blocks east and two blocks south of the nearest subway (located at 96th and 3rd streets). Although the accommodations were sufficient, the main gripe is the lack of kitchen essentials. The hotel staff was very friendly and tried to help as much as possible. There are several quality restaurants close by including Nicks (directly across the street), and many museums (including the Metropolitan Art Museum) and Central Park are about a mile away. We were actually able to get to the Theater District on a Friday night within 30 minutes by subway and a short walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by red from new orleans

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent for museum hopping
Cons: I found weights for exercise blocking the soda machine.
Location: Great Mexican restaurant near by and a comfortable Italian restaurant across the street.